Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.708335
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
July 26, 2011

more

July 26, 2011

International Tibet Network (ITN) provides a crucial connection between Tibet support groups worldwide, allowing hundreds of geographically disperse groups to work strategically and effectively together. In addition to providing this connectivity, ITN plays a vital leadership role for the international Tibet support movement, providing resources, a wealth of canpaigning expertise and an overarching strategy and pathway.

Specific examples of ITN's important service to the Tibet movement include the provision of a common campaign strategy, developed through extensive consultations with it's member groups. This strategy is rolled out through a series of work plans and is regularly reviewed and tested. Importantly, ITN provides regular recommended actions and resources to its member groups, allowing even very small groups to access the resources with which to carry out effective campaigns. It also allows the movement as a whole to respond rapidly to emerging situations in Tibet or significant international campaigning opportunities.

In overseeing such a large network and body of work, ITN inevitably faces challenges from limited financial and human resoures. Further funding would enable ITN to provide more targeted support to oorganizations in particular regions. That said, ITN's present operations are testament to what a small but experienced campaign staff are able to achieve.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My work at Australia Tibet Council. In particular the ability to access ITN's campaigning expertise and resources and connect with other groups internationally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Consider appointing additional regional coordinators to aid the roll-out of campaigns.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Through my prior work in the Tibet movement

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Building capacity within the Tibet movement

What is its top priority in the long run?

The survival of Tibetan culture, religion, language and heritage

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
July 25, 2011

From a funder's perspective, the International Tibet Support Network is an extremely practical organization, which has well-succeeded in its efforts to strengthen the capacity of the Tibet movement.

ITSN's generosity in resource sharing and skill in capacity building is an effective
two-tiered model other international movements would surely benefit from the implementation of. The Network's reporting, communications and content are timely, concise, and consistently informative.

Five stars for ITSN's overall rating is not because the Network is perfect though I would be hard-pressed to identify flaw, but rather because ITSN has been effective in coordinating information, creating awareness and strategic planning across nearly 200 member organizations around the world. That success within the context of time, staffing and funding should serve as an indicator that with the appropriate means ITSN will not only meet our expectations but far exceed them in the years ahead, ultimately generating tangible benefit not only for the Tibet movement itself but for democracy and human rights activists throughout the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the deepening of my own understanding of both external and internal issues facing our movement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to secure appropriate levels of funding that would support ITSN in its growth.

July 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
July 25, 2011

One of the most critical needs for any international cause is an organization that can bring disparate, yet like-minded groups together in common purpose.

The International Tibet Network serves this need in an exemplary manner. In addition to offering larger organizations with various
information resources, it offers smaller groups needed strategies, tools and resources to help them achive their mandate.

When there's an international humanitarian crisis we all think of the Red Cross. For the Tibet movement our Red Cross is the International Tibet Movement.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their provision of reactions and releases to events as they unfold or key upcoming dates of significance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek to ensure that the organization had sufficient funds to increase its staffing in the United States.

July 24, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2011

I am member of Steering Committee of the Network since 2007 and can see a rapid growth of expertise, impact on member organization and whole movement that Network is leading. Thanks the high value of word 'strategy' create an atmosphere of constructive proccess to claim for common goals internationally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Network has helped my organization to prepeare two meaningfull events - a visit of "Leaving fear behind" Tibetan documentary as well campaign og 50 Anniversary of Tibetan 1959 Uprising, also connect with Tibet activists and NGOs regionally and globally

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it stronger and more resourcefull to empower small local organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

From my own organization.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Strategize actions to restore rights of Tibetan people, provide materials and campaigns resources for Tibet organizations

What is its top priority in the long run?

Restore human rights for Tibetan people, Free Tibet!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers