Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I am a big fan of big cats and I was looking for a charity that could help me support the cause. The Snow Leopard Trust offers educational opportunities to the people living in Snow Leopard territory - this is something important because it teaches the people to live in harmony with the Snow Leopards. I love the online gift store and that the products are made by the people living with the Snow Leopards, and the money supports both them and the Snow Leopard Trust. A great charity!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

The Snow Leopard Trust appears to be achieving outstanding results in reaching out to native peoples in the far-flung, remote areas of Central Asia, which are the last strongholds of this magnificent, reclusive cat.

Ecological and conservation NGOs are a relatively new concept to many of
these areas, yet the Snow Leopard Trust has achieved inspiring success. I actively read their newsletters and updates, and have been impressed, that despite the diversity of the peoples, the immense distances and sometimes almost inaccesible territories, the Snow Leopards Trust has built relationships, formed working alliances, built trust and confidence, and is educating people on the value of biological diversity, and subsequently, is reducing the loss of these creatures due to human activity.

Most sensible, is the program of reimbursement to local farmers and herders for the loss of livestock, and their attempt to promote other economical alternatives for local herder villages. I have gladly volunteered to pay for the loss of a sheep or goat if it means the preservation of one of these cats.

Most impressive, it appears this organization achieves their results with a relatively small, dedicated group of people, both here in the West, and on-site in Asia, without a great deal of overhead or top-heavy apparatus. I am pleased to recommend, without qualification, Snow Leopard Trust, as one of the outstanding ecological NGOs that is making a difference. Without them, these magnificant cats would be even more imperiled.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to establish a lodge, or place where intrepid individuals could come to view these creatures. I have even approached them on the feasibility, and have been positively received; time and other commitments have thus-far prevented me from following up, but somewhere out there, I'd like to make it part of an agenda.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I've supported the International Snow Leopard Trust for a number of years now. Their dedication to the Snow Leopard's has kept me coming back year after year to support them. Every little bit helps to provide local support and education, and ultimately the long-term survival of the species. Please consider them a part of your charitable gift giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they could generate more revenue to support the local people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Anything that anybody can do to help save these gorgeous creatures automatically earns a moral and ethical star in one's crown. They do an excellent job educating people about snow leopards, their habitat and the humans and other creatures who live with them in the Himalayas. They deserve all the help they can get.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a supporter for years. They provide good communication to donors about their projects and successes. They work on the ground with local communities to enhance the lives of snow leopards and the lives of the people living with them. The scientific study they do is well thought out and extremely useful - not only for snow leopards but also for the other wildlife that live in their area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

An excellent conservation non-profit that is making a strong positive contibution to both the conservation of snow leopards and the lives of the people living in their range.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I discovered the Snow Leopard Trust 1 year ago after visiting our local zoo and seeing the snow leopard there. I am very impressed by the work SLT is doing. They are working on ALL sides of the issue, taking into account the lives of the villagers who live near snow leopards as well as the cats themselves.

I became a monthly donor to SLT because I truly believe that we must put our money where our heart is - and we must work TOGETHER to save not only the snow leopards, but all of our great cats. I also really appreciate the fact that SLT does not send me a bunch of junk mail and "horror" stories - their monthly emails are upbeat, factual and interesting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish SLT and other wildlife conservation organizations could find a way to study the cats WITHOUT putting big radio collars on them. As a wild being it surely must be very uncomfortable and very confusing for the cats to suddenly have a large collar around their neck....not to mention the fact that they must be "hunted" and sedated in order to fit the collars.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I am a wildlife biologist who specializes in rare carnivores. I am very impressed by the work conducted by the Snow Leopard Trust. Their biologists work under very difficult conditions, in extremely remote areas, under harsh weather conditions, and yet they use state-of-the-art methods and exhibit not only dedication, but also perserverence to gain evidence of snow leopards to determine how many there are and where they are, so they can be protected from harm and studied.

I know from my own experience how exceptionally difficult it is to work under extreme conditions. It takes passion and conviction for the cause of saving a rare, endangered species that has made extraordinary physiological adaptations to the harsh environment. they inhabit We are blessed that there is a team of dedicated individuals who are ensuring this species will not go extinct. We should all be grateful to everyone who works to save this magnificent creature. The world would be a much better place if everyone was committed to such a worthy cause, saving our natural heritage from humans and habitat destruction.
Thank you for your hard work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide opportunities for professional wildlife biologists to assist with data collection, data entry, mapping, and any other tasks that are routine, but need to be done. If you require a background and expertise as a wildlife biologist, you would find people who pay careful attention to detail. Many are willing to donate time, pay for our flights, and pay for our food and housing, just for the chance to help with such a worthy cause. I would come for 3 months, if I could be of assistance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I am a mere school teacher. The importance to teach children and show them actual footage of an endangered species is vital.

To see people coming together for a great cause in a wonderful place with mountains and just the snow leopards is worth the visit.

What an amazing
creature my favorite of course. I feel by looking at the site that I am there.

Kathleen P. Gomez
Chicago Public School Teacher- Orozco Magnet School

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I like that I am not constantly bombarded with mail asking for making, or getting phone calls. The newsletter is factual without being alarmist. I bought the slide set years ago and made some rounds with them doing talks. Snows are my favorite big cat and I think ISLT has made a difference. They offer some nice items and also the adoptions. My cats like the mice although they destroy them in short order.
Since research is in a hostile environment, it makes sense to ask for money to help the researchers and research out. Education is key and they help with that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put some of the great photos on shirts, etc in colors other than white. Maybe bamboo? Also bigger images. I understand the native toys etc are great for trade, but I can't believe they can't make them more realistic. I'm sure there are artists there too. They are kind of a cat shaped thing with a few spots.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Someone with three hours to volunteer could help us run our store front, or an event booth in the many cities we travel to. We also host dinners and event in the City of Seattle and could always use any extra help! Volunteer