Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.722225
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I worked at the IRC as a fundraiser for five years and had the pleasure of seeing its invaluable programs up close as well as meet many of the wonderful donors who make its work around the world and across the US possible. During my time at the IRC, I quickly came to realize that it is one of the most passionate, effective, professional, intelligent, thoughtful, and efficient humanitarian aid organizations dedicated to saving and rebuilding lives devastated by conflict and natural disaster. Its staff on all levels is phenomenal and represent the best in the field, and its holistic approach ensures that families and communities have access to innovative and wide-ranging programs that are based on research, best practices, and decades of experience. Many of the IRC's donors have generously supported the organization for years--their unwavering commitment is a testament to IRC's remarkable accomplishments and the important role it continues to play in improving lives and communities around the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 3, 2012

more

March 3, 2012

n 2010 Haiti was struck by a devastating earthquake that cost more than 230 000 lives, leaving thousands homeless and injured, thus touching the lives of most people in Haiti. In the meantime, whilst strong global humanitarian efforts have helped to improve the situation, other circumstances like storms, rainfall and flooding have prohibited the recovery of infrastructure and many people are still suffering. The subsequent onset of the cholera disease has further amplified the difficulties.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

IRC has both disaster-centered and stateside programs for refugees, backed by sound financial management, and a long-term view that makes it unique among charitable agencies in international health.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping to set up refugee relief in Somalia in 1981. Today's crisis in East Africa is a repeat of the same problems, much compounded by the acquisition of weapons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them lots of money to train workers in Arab culture and refugee-camp engineering. Develop an advanced program of communications based on the Internet or cell-phones and solar power so that the camps can obtain current information and share results with the world.

March 21, 2011

more

March 21, 2011

I am a nurse, humanitarian aid worker and writer and it has been my privilege to work with the IRC in their programs, both emergency and ongoing, around the world. For me, the IRC is the "real deal" delivering time and again, the purest form of humanitarian assistance imaginable. In the darkest corners of the world, it is invariably the IRC staff who will shine a light of hope by providing a myriad of necessary programs to allow refugees and displaced to survive chaos and destruction with their dignity, health and courage intact.
The IRC challenges all of us to be better, and by meeting that challenge, the world is a little more restored, a little more recovered each day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Kakuma refugee camp, the Balkans, Iraq and Darfur

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would bang the drums loudly about IRC's many successes.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers