Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.722225
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

I have been a volunteer with IRC for about a year. IRC is very effective in integrating refugees into US culture and does an excellent job finding jobs for these folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

This organization works hard to make sure their clients are taken care of. The few staff members I have gotten to know will go out of their way to go up and beyond the call of duty. I have seen staff drive very far for just a few items to give to a client that was not in dire need of these items, but it would make their transition to America easier. Some staff members have worked OT to ensure clients will be home at a certain time for donation deliveries, to ensure the clients are receiving the basic items they need and more. This organization strives to provide refugees with the tools they need to make them self-sufficient and hearing feedback from refugees, I can attest to what a great job IRC is doing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The stories I was able to hear from the refugees and the knowledge I gained in learning other cultures has been life changing. Little things can make an impact in refugees lives and to hear the difference you make even if it seems insignificant can make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Buy them some new cargo vans and a bigger parking lot! The building is in a great place however the parking situation needs to improve. The cargo vans are old and have many problems. I hope they can get newer ones in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Clearer instruction in initial contact.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My experience with IRC has pushed me out of my comfort zone. In working with refugees the language barrier can be rough. I am not afraid now to look crazy when trying to get my point across.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

There are sometimes when I am speechless as a volunteer. There was a time when I was able to receive and drop off a donation to a little girl. She had told me she wanted this item and a few weeks later I was able to give it to her. She ran out of her house and hugged me. When she thinks about her first few months in America I think she'll remember that. That was a special moment. This position also crushed me a few times. I heard heart breaking stories and seen photos of lost loved ones or family left behind. Knowing the people you serve impacts you. It changes you forever. This position made me what to work so much harder to serve refugees because I got more than just an article or newsletter telling about what refugees have gone through; I was able to hear these stories, etc. directly from them. Overall, volunteering with IRC has been positive and what I have gained in my volunteer experience is something I will take with me forever.

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

The IRC guides refugees through their resettlement transition with tremendous care, support and empowers these people to rebuild their lives. I first volunteered as an American Friend in Phoenix, Arizona and was assigned to a Somali family just arriving to embark on their new life in the U.S. Their journey was heartbreaking, but their resiliency was inspiring. My volunteer efforts with the Farrah family ranged from coordinating appointments, communicating with school administrators, helping their children with homework and ESL studies, assisting Mr. Farrah in his job seeking efforts, teaching them to make change while shopping for groceries and learn how to use public transportation. Our visits were often spent tackling the myriad of challenges a complete language and cultural barrier presented for this family. It was an enriching experience to bare witness to their progress and to see how much the IRC focuses on ultimately providing the tools for them to thrive. The long term relationship the organization has with the refugees makes evident their true dedication to the refugee cause. I was impressed by the hard working and genuine staff I interacted with. It was easy to see the powerful impact that the IRC has on my community, which is why I chose to involve my employer with additional volunteer efforts. We held a financial literacy workshop for a group of refugees from Myanmar. We taught them how to plan household budgets and other financial basics. I can't speak highly enough about my experiences with the IRC, it's staff and the grateful people they service. My experiences were meaningful in so many ways and I believe wholeheartedly the IRC is doing work that is changing the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I volunteered once with IRC and it was a great experience. However, i am still awaiting more duties and its been two months already.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

IRC provides many opportunities to volunteer. I enjoyed working with them on a furniture drive. We gathered used furnishings from around the community and gave them to refugee housing. It was good to see the impact of my volunteer work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I've volunteered and donated to IRC in Texas. What a great experience! Everyone who works there is great and they really care about what they're doing. There has never been a time when I was in the office and someone was rude or negative. They love their job and they love people. IRC is an organization I hope I can be a part of for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

Interning with the IRC in my hometown, San Diego, as an after-school tutor/ESL assistant let me meet some incredible refugee youth (including some resettled for under a year) and the wonderful staff and fellow volunteers who helped them master academics, sports, and their own identity in their new country. The dedication and skill of the IRC staff was incredible -- it was about stepping back and letting those kids tell their own story.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

As a volunteer ESL instructor, I get immeasurable satisfaction when my students tell me that they have passed the US citizenship test. And I have had the privilege of meeting courageous and fascinating people from all over the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

In volunteering with the IRC, I had the opportunity to interact on a very personal level with refugees from all over the world. I did things like take them to get library cards, pick them up from doctors appointments, and help them get their State ID cards. The IRC makes the transition to life in the US very easy for refugees by being there for them every step of the way. I would recommend this organization to anyone who has a sincere desire to serve others and make a positive impact in someone else's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

In my capacity as an attorney, I was contacted by a Somali woman who, with her family, was resettled in Salt Lake City by the International Rescue Committee ("IRC"). With support from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (the "Mormons") and other denominations, the IRC has resettled Somalis, Cambodians and refugees from other countries here. I often read about these refugee communities in The Salt Lake Tribune, where the IRC is credited for its compassionate and determined efforts to rescue people caught in life-and-death circumstances around the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Touring church facility where donated clothing is sorted for shipment to African nations served by the IRC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. The IRC is doing excellent work, and hopefully al Shabab will allow the IRC to provide relief in Somalia.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers