Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.728265
Write A Review
February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I volunteered once with IRC and it was a great experience. However, i am still awaiting more duties and its been two months already.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

Educating girls in underdeveloped countries is really important to both my mother and me, so I gave my mom a "year of school" Rescue Gift for her birthday and she was so touched. She said it was the best gift she'd ever gotten. I love that the International Rescue Committee offers this special way to give in someone's honor. I call it two-for-one-giving because you're giving to both the IRC and the person in whose name you make the donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

IRC provides many opportunities to volunteer. I enjoyed working with them on a furniture drive. We gathered used furnishings from around the community and gave them to refugee housing. It was good to see the impact of my volunteer work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I've volunteered and donated to IRC in Texas. What a great experience! Everyone who works there is great and they really care about what they're doing. There has never been a time when I was in the office and someone was rude or negative. They love their job and they love people. IRC is an organization I hope I can be a part of for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I donated to the International Rescue Committee when I learned of the important work that they do where I live, assisting refugees in the San Diego area. Everything I've read and heard about them is positive, from their impact to their efficiency. I'm glad to contribute to my community and to the wellbeing of its newest members while also giving to an organization that assists the most vulnerable around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

Interning with the IRC in my hometown, San Diego, as an after-school tutor/ESL assistant let me meet some incredible refugee youth (including some resettled for under a year) and the wonderful staff and fellow volunteers who helped them master academics, sports, and their own identity in their new country. The dedication and skill of the IRC staff was incredible -- it was about stepping back and letting those kids tell their own story.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

As a volunteer ESL instructor, I get immeasurable satisfaction when my students tell me that they have passed the US citizenship test. And I have had the privilege of meeting courageous and fascinating people from all over the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

There is an IRC office right here in my hometown, Charlottesville, Virginia. Having such an interestingly multi-faceted, trustworthy, and effective nonprofit in my area has had an incredible impact on the community. This past Christmas I was able to direct friends and family to the IRC fundraising website as an "alternate gift" idea. Not only was my personalized fundraiser easy to set-up and track, everyone who donated can be assured that their money is going to an established, capable group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Charlottesville, VA. We are already a diverse community, but the IRC here offers this wealthy community an opportunity they may not otherwise encounter. Not least of all, the refugees who are living, finding work and support here are inspirational in my own charitable goals, as well as others around me I suspect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

assure that the diy.rescue.org website worked effectively. It is an easy tool to use for fundraising, but i spent a lot of time designing pages, looking up interesting facts about the region I wished to support, and posting it to my page only to find it had been erased later. Not such a big deal, but it would make the self-gratifying philanthropic aspect to an everyday student more appealing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I wish to distance myself from a purposeless Christmas celebration. Instead I would like to help others, by giving to non-profits such as the IRC, but also changing my community by allowing individuals to reap the rewards of giving to an effectual committee.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Christmas

What would you tell others about this organization?

it is easy to donate, to start a campaign, and that I have personally seen them positively effect my community.

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

In volunteering with the IRC, I had the opportunity to interact on a very personal level with refugees from all over the world. I did things like take them to get library cards, pick them up from doctors appointments, and help them get their State ID cards. The IRC makes the transition to life in the US very easy for refugees by being there for them every step of the way. I would recommend this organization to anyone who has a sincere desire to serve others and make a positive impact in someone else's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2012

more

February 8, 2012

We think that International Rescue Committee is doing a wonderful job in helping people. Without the help of non - profits many people around the world would not receive any help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers