Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.728265
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

I've been donating to the IRC for decades and track their performance very carefully. When disaster strikes anywhere the IRC response is almost instantaneous. They always seem to beat United Nations and United States relief efforts by a few days, and they do so without political considerations. There administration and fund raising costs are amazingly low, consistently better than most charities. I don't know how they do this, but they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

56 years ago, in 1956, we fled Hungary following the failed uprising against the Soviet rule. We made our way from Budapest to Vienna. A friend told us about the IRC (International Rescue Committee). We signed up... we were welcome. Within a few weeks, we were on our way to the United States. We spent a week in a refugee camp in New Jersey: Camp Kilmer. From there, to New York City. The IRC placed us in a hotel in Manhattan. In a short time, some of us were able to make professional connections and started working. Others were helped by the IRC to find jobs. The IRC helped us to receive clothes. In those first months, the IRC continued to support us financially. We will forever be very grateful to the IRC. In our minds, the IRC serves as a model of an international charity. Suzanna Lengyel.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

I have been donating to the IRC for several years. They not only help in hot spots around the world but also do excellent work in resettling refugees around the world. My money is put to good use.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

I am a donor plus I work for the IRC for almost 4 years now. I wont donate my money unless I know that IRC is a great organization working really hard to help refugees all over the world no matter what part of the world they are from. Great organization, great staff and great leaders.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The IRC is one of the most effective and ethical organizations I know when it comes to helping real people on the ground in the most urgent situations. Their highly committed staff are their strongest asset. I trust them enough to have become a monthly donor. Rita Leistner, Documentarian, Lecturer, The University of Toronto.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

when ap person takes the time to review diff charities they'll find irc is amongst the top or at the top for reliability and cents on the dollar used. also, the fact they do several different things instead of one area focused on makes feel good. i allow them to dictate where my money goes and is needed. plus they keep you informed on the issues.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

We check out our charity donations carefully and follow the organizations. IRC is one of the most reliable first responders in crises situations and has a proven track records. they are responsible with our contributions and do not spend excess on advertising, management, or CEO salaries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

We are so pleased to support the IRC! With an overhead of less than 10% we know all of our donations are going to help those in need. The IRC is not giving a hand out they're giving a hand up! I appreciate the updates of how my donation is helping people have the opportunity of a fresh start. Great job IRC!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

IRC is one of two charities working on international humane and survival issues that I have supported for at least 15 years. Now that I have retired I have less money for charitable contributions, but I have not cut back my monthly automatic gift to the IRC as I feel that this organization makes my money go so far. I was particularly motivated by the work of Mary Ann Schwalbe with respect to the focus on women and was happy to learn more about her involvement with the IRC in her son's book, The End Of Life Book Club. The IRC newsletter is excellent and is consistent reminder of ravages around the globe.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

LIke many other charities doing great work, The International Resuce Committee excels at bringing desperately needed help to the people in need. I chose to donate to the IRC over many other charities, because it does not constantly barrage me with expensive mailings to seek more donations, but uses the money wisely to carry out its mission. I donate monthly, and get occasional updates by e-mail. I feel my donations are put to the greatest use by IRC.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers