Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have worked with the Dr. Shirley McGreal, founder, and the excellent staff of the International Primate Protection League for over two decades. They are the most effective organization in the entire animal protection movement for dealing with the international trade in non-human primates, whether they are sold to zoos, labs, or into private ownership. From insuring the prosecution of illegal dealers, to funding sanctuaries around the world, to educating the entire world about the abuse of primates -- the International Primate Protection League has no equal. They are THE source for useful information on the international trade in primates. In addition to their other monumental tasks they also operate a sanctuary for gibbons that provides the absolute best care for several dozen of these gentle apes. I never miss an opportunity to visit the sanctuary because it reminds me of what I am fighting for in my own work for animals. In short, I cannot recommend this organization more highly. Happy 40th Anniversary IPPL!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been acquainted with IPPL now for over twenty years and respect their diligence, work, and philanthropy to other groups working for the same goal - to save the primates of the world. If we need to know who to contact, find out about a specific primate species, or about the primate scene globally, Shirley McGreal, their director, is the first person that we contact as she will have an answer. IPPL truly lives up to their name "primate protection." Besides being a champion for the primates of the world, IPPL also operates a top-notch gibbon sanctuary. Here's to IPPL - Happy 40th Anniversary and to many more to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want them to have more visibility for their wonderful work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2012

My grandmother lived with and wrote books about primates. She first introduced me to the IPPL over 20 years ago when she was a donor. I have been a donor for many years and am consistently impressed with the work IPPL does on behalf of abused primates both in the U.S. and abroad. Its magazine not only tells about work in the field, it provides explicit opportunities to effect change including detailed descriptions of what can be changed and the names and addresses of those to be contacted about the issue. Sometimes it even includes pre-addressed post cards! I have learned so much about primates around the world thanks to IPPL. One day I hope to visit the sanctuary in SC and to attend one of their conferences. Shirley McGreal and her staff personally sign holiday cards and thank you cards which is very nice touch too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

I've been a volunteer at IPPL for over ten years. During this time I've witnessed first hand the effectiveness of this organization with regards to primate protection. The founder, Dr. Shirley McGreal, has set the tone of this grassroots organization with her commitment to helping small groups working on the front line who often are neglected by larger foundations and groups. With assistance from IPPL, these volunteers and small groups make a huge difference in the plight of primates worldwide.

In addition to the amazing work on behalf of the world’s primates, IPPL runs a gibbon sanctuary in Summerville, SC that provides a wonderful home to more than 30 of these small apes. Many are retired from laboratories, while others are former pets or zoo castoffs. IPPL provides a wonderful "retirement" for these delightful apes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

-Witnessing successful international campaigns. -Visiting overseas sanctuaries and seeing the results of IPPL's support. -Spending time with the gibbons at IPPL's headquarters. All are happy and healthy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 6, 2011

more

October 6, 2011

IPPL is an immensely effective organisation. Its achievements over more than thirty years speak for themselves. With a very small team, IPPL has helped to secure primate export bans in several countries, ensured the successful prosecution of a number of illegal wildlife traffickers, and saved thousands of primate lives through its campaigning, fundraising and law enforcement efforts. These accomplishments have been recognised by many prestigious awards given to the organisation - and to its founder - Dr Shirley McGreal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers