Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I began assisting with this Organization in 2003 a year after I graduAted from high school. I herd about the amazing story and the idea behind spreading peace throught the world and thought, "I want to be a part of this!" I volunteered to assist in any way I could. The Committee accepted me with open arms and I was amazed at how much this experience would effect my life even to this day. I began by assisting in organizing and preparing for the dedication ceremony in Rome, Italy. From the fine detail of sorting and organizing press packets, putting linen on the tables, to meeting, greeting and serving our mission statement to resident bystanders and tourists. This is where I began to really understand the depth and intracacy of this mission. This also was my first time away from my family, first time out of the USA, I felt safe and this experience really gave me the sense that I was part of something bigger than I could imagine. I was delighted when the Organization contacted me the following year to assist in The 2004 Athens, Greece dedicationthe year when they held the Olympics. My role at this time expanded to photography which was amazing. In 2005 I was asked to assist in Cyprus, Nicosia dedication, by this time I was helping prepare for the gardens well in advance, working hard with the committee to organize and bring the gardens to life. The Cyprus garden affected me more then I could imagine, learning the History of Cyprus and how much this garden meant to the Whole country. I herd stories of pain, sorrow, redemption and enlightenment, I met people I will never forget. After the 2005 dedication I had a good Idea of what I wanted to do with my life and began my educational Journey to become a Registered Nurse to help and assist people at a more personal level. My last International experience was in the 2008 Kiev, Ukraine, never did I believe I would have the opportunity to make it there. Here not only did I do the tasks I previously mentioned, but I was able to speak in schools to young children and answer their questions about peace and the mission of the gardens. This again was a life altering experience. To see the hope of a brighter future, to see the lengths the school went to preserve there culture After being oppressed for years under the Soviet Union... Priceless. The gardens are more than a symbol, a preservation of hope for a brighter future. If you check on the ipgf.org you will see some pictures of the children and how happy they were . So flash forward to 2012 I am still in close contact with The International Peace Garden Foundation, although my level of involvement is not nearly as much, the experience I shared with them was more than I could ask for and helped shape who I am today. I did reach my goal to become a Registered Nurse and am currently serving in an Emergency Department near Buffalo, NY.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

We have been working with the International Peace Garden Foundation Inc for the past two years. They have been very helpful in getting us started and pushing us to the final dedication of our Garden at the Charlotte-Genesee Lighthouse, Rochester, NY. They have helped us design and save money by researching items for us. We will continue to work with them. They periodically contact us with updates and to see if we need any of their resources. They produced a wonderful War of 1812 Bicentennial Peace Garden Trail map for visitors to follow around the United States and Canada. They people there are the best in the business.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

In 1995 I joined the delegation from the International Peace Garden Foundation as a pro bono photographer at the dedication of the International Peace Garden: Straßburg -- a dedication made possible when Budapest nominated Straßburg at its own dedication, a year earlier. By the conclusion of the multi-day ceremonies, I had been afforded the opportunity to hear stories of how the act of receiving, accepting and nominating these gardens between the host cities had brought together dignitaries and opened lines of communication that would otherwise have not existed. Since that time the organization's methods of outreach has expanded but their core principle has not wavered: advance global friendship and understanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I met Paula Savage about 4 years ago. She introduced me to the Peace Garden Foundation. I had visited two of the gardens in Europe and had no idea what they where and how truly beautiful they are. She asked me to help her bing those gardens to her home town. Through the War of 1812 Bicentenial we where able to accomplish this goal. Today we are blessed with a wonderful garden here in Batavia, New York. Toshare gardens all along the southern shore of Lake Ontario. Due to her do diigence and that of her project manager Joyce Lorrainne and my committee for the Friends of the Batavia Peace Garden we have a wonderful, beautiful,peaceful garden right here to share with our whole community. It is an effort that all involved in are proud to serve as volunteers. This organization has worked the world over to bring peace for everyone. We are also proud to work with the World Harmony Run organization who has similar goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I started my position with the International Peace Garden Foundation as a student intern. I instantly grew to love the organization as well as the people involved. I was able to work with some of the most caring and selfless women that I have ever met. What has been, and what will be, accomplished is truly remarkable. I look forward to volunteering again and helping this wonderful cause in any way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I have volunteered with the International Peace Garden Foundation as a grantwriter. I am incredibly impressed with what this group and its founder have been able to accomplish over its 30 yar history with a shared vision and volunteers. All of the work that has been accomplished to date, and there is an impressive list of accomplishments has been done through volunteerism and in-kind support. It is amazing what one person can accomplish with burning passion. I am honoring my grandfather's legacy by working for this organization because he devoted his whole life to the cause of peace. He would be proud that I have associated myself with an organization that is stronglt contributing to a cause that he held so dear.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I have been a volunteer for the International Peace Garden for about 3 years and have had a big part in spreading Peace thru out the county. I have helped to organize the Bicentennial War of 1812 Peace Garden Trail which is part of this non for profit organization and we have gotten the help of the community and offical to become part of these Peace Garden. Student have volunteered and members of the comunity have come together to work in these garden and many have donated their valuable time and money. Not only are these gardens a place of peace but they are very educational and have become a place to bring friends and family for outings and special events . All the gardens have to be free adminission and each is designed differently to what each community feels they are about

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

*Volunteer to work in any of the North American Bicentennial Peace Gardens, ie. plant bulbs, weeding, triming, watering, general clean up.
*Engage your school or community in establishing a Peace Garden. *Help with grant writing & development. Volunteer