Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.853665
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2012

more

August 19, 2012

IPA is an important organization to me. I've attended 1 workshop & 1 group exercise which were both very professionally organized & conducted. In the past 4 years I have made grade strides to recovering from Paruresis. I now no longer let this physiological handicap keep me from doing the things I enjoy like fishing trips, football games, etc! Thanks IPA & thanks to Dr. Soiffer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 19, 2012

more

August 19, 2012

I met Dr. Soifer in early 2000 because we were planning a trip to Europe. I had many fears about the facilities in Europe. I did go to Europe (Germany and Switzerland) and was able to go in the floor to ceiling stalls. Since that time I have gone to several workshops and practice sessions. I have made amazing progress. I want to thank Dr. Soifer and all the other friends for their help and support. I now live in an area that does not have any practice groups. I an no longer bound by my paruresis.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

IPA has made a great difference in my life. Just knowing I am not alone with my problem was a great leap forward, but the practice techniques I learned have helped me greatly. It is a very worthwhile organization .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

IPA has been invaluable. It has allowed me to discover that I'm not alone, introduced me to a strong support group , and provided me with resources and techniques to work on my recovery. (In particular, I have found the breath technique to be incredibly helpful, allowing me to practice successfully in all kinds of situations.)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

IPA is a great organization. For 34 years, I, like many, suffered from Paruresis. I did not know what to do about it, and did not know anyone else with it. Guys don't talk about this...Interestingly, I did NOT let it interfere with my life or life style. I am a professional pilot, and have worked as an airline pilot while dealing with this. It did not stop me. I always found a way to cope. But I have since learned that many do limit their lifestyle because if it. I continued with my career in spite of this condition. I was determined not to be prisoner to it. I learned of IPA several years ago, from a book, Shy Bladder Syndrome, I think. I found the book from an internet search engine. One thing led to another...and soon, I managed to find a support near where I live. I started meeting with a local group...almost weekly, if my schedule permitted. It was wonderful! After suffering for so long, I was able to meet other guys dealing with the same thing, and was determined to over come this condition! After many months of support group meetings which were VERY helpful, I decided to attend a weekend workshop which was held locally in Los Angeles. This proved to be incredibly helpful to me, and this is where I was finally able to overcome the condition...it was a MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH for me. I am now in 'recovery' as it has been explained to me. On a rare occasion, it crops up, but I am generally able to overcome it. I can't thank the IPA enough!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 5, 2011

This charity assists people with shy bladder syndrome through information and support grouips. It also does education to support the rights of people with shy bladder syndrome. more

August 17, 2012

I had the opportunity to participate in both a week-end workshop and a local support group. Both were extremely positive experiences that made me realize I was not alone and that there was hope to deal with paruresis. They were very powerful experiences. Thank you IPA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 5, 2011

This charity assists people with shy bladder syndrome through information and support grouips. It also does education to support the rights of people with shy bladder syndrome.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their information and sujpport group,.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with a largr budget to do their work.

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

IPA has helped me enormously, by helping me know I am not alone and that there is nothing defective about me. Thank you for helping me love and accept myself as I am!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2011

more

February 18, 2011

I felt so alone and did not know how to treat my shy-bladder problem. I was so grateful when I discovered IPA. The organization has changed my life. Little by little I am conquering this social phobia and living a more fulfilling life. Without the knowledge and support I have gained from IPA I would not be where I am today. It is an extremely important organization. I hope through contributions to IPA more research can be done to find the underlying cause and a treatment for this problem. IPA gives me hope that in the future paruresis (shy-bladder) will be a thing of the past.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By attending workshops held by IPA, I have learned ways to help improve my shy-bladder syndorme.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not aware of any changes I would make to this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

The internet

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To continue to practice desensitization exposure in public restrooms and to let others know about my problem

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2011

more


1 previous review
June 28, 2010

I have been dealing with the effects of Shy Bladder Syndrome for the past 55 years. I've become a mostly stay at home person, venturing out only to places which make me feel safe and provide private b... more

February 17, 2011

Most of my life beyond age 8 or so has been spent avoiding going out unless I was sure there would be a bathroom to use that was quiet and very, very private.
As a teacher for 38 years, I was bound by the length of classes and learned to restrict my intake of liquids to prevent having to use a
restroom at a specific time, knowing the time I had was very short.
Living with shy bladder syndrome, paruresis as it is medically termed, produced much anxiety and sadness. I wanted to go places and see the world, but couldn't.
About 10 or so years ago, I discovered the International Paruresis Association and upon investigating it, found that there were many others like myself, looking for a way to cope and solve a life restricting problem.
The information was straightforward, factual and accompanied by people you could call for help. This gave me HOPE!!. Until finding them, I wasn't too keen on anything.
I used my job and its demands as a shield to cover my real thoughts; having the IPA to use let me keep in touch with new research and new ideas that could lead to not needing to worry about my problem.
This organization gave me the hope and courage to learn how to self catheterize if I needed to and for that I am very grateful.
Who can say where I would be today without their help!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

keeping up with the research and contributing ideas for a solution to a scientific phone conference diagramming the problem and its possible solution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek acceptance by the medical community that this is a serious problem that needs their attention and research. It is not something to be ignored; it will not just go away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Their priority is to eliminate the problem of shy bladder syndrome.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The economy is not strong; hence donations are down and the ability of the organization to continue and help seek a solution would be diminished.

What would you tell others about this organization?

They actively seek a solution and provide you with help if you need it. They fight ignorance at all levels when ever it's found.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 28, 2010

I have been dealing with the effects of Shy Bladder Syndrome for the past 55 years. I've become a mostly stay at home person, venturing out only to places which make me feel safe and provide private bathroom facilities. Until I found out about this organization, I had little hope of overcoming it, but hope now is strong. Through their efforts at providing literature and setting up workshops, I feel a sympathetic ear is available and I will be dealing with others who understand my plight. About 9 years ago, I came upon a list of therapists and others who had been successful treating this syndrome; I worked with two for a while and am working with one still. I am able to keep up my hope with my therapy and used it this past March to contribute to a symposium on the causes and possible solutions to the problem. I downloaded the transcript of a telephone conference between scientists and doctors, which discussed the physiological and psychological causes and possible areas for future consideration. I read it and wrote my understanding of the topic from a patient's point of view. I submitted it to the organization for inclusion to the study of paruresis or shy bladder syndrome. Without this organization, I would still be wondering how I could cope with my affliction and whether there were others like me in the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

finding out about shy bladder syndrome and those who can help cope with it and overcome it; then seeking out professionals and receiving help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek the help of medical schools throughout the world in order to better understand the syndrome and possibly find a procedure which works most often or cures it.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the knowledge there is a group working to help people like me overcome a significant life changing problem.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

cordial and professional; they were striving to create something out of nothing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

set up more workshops and enlist the aide of in depth research from Universities and medical facilities

Ways to make it better...

I could have found the time and courage to attend a workshop or participate in a scheduled experiment as a volunteer patient.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

the medical community, which doesn't yet take shy bladder seriously as a debilitating affliction; many doctors in the field of urology are very unaware of the problems caused by shy bladder syndrome and do not recognize the medical term for it-paruresis.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I believe a cure will come about, mostly due to the efforts of the Shy Bladder Institute and other groups which spring from it.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 14, 2011

more

February 14, 2011

I am 42 years old and have suffered with Paruresis since I was a child. I am not sure was caused this problem. For years I suffered thinking I was the only person in the world with this problem. I even went to a local doctor, to see if he could help me. He could not help me or advise what was causing this condition. It was not till about ten years ago that I read an article in a national news paper did I realize what the condition was caused and that there was an organazion. I immediately went online to the Paruresis Association website. I finally had a name for my condition and I discovered for the first time that I was not the only person in the world who had this condition.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization provides the information and the assistance to help everyone who is suffering from paruresis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Newspaper article

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers