Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.813955
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

IPA is a groundbreaking organization for people with shy bladder syndrome. Their workshops have been truly lifechanging for me and many others, and their education and advocacy are second to none. I struggled with paruresis for over 4 decades. The first workshop I attended was a liberating experience, and I have been to many others since then, and become a volunteer with the organization. They are led by a visionary, courageous, dedicated group of people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

In my lifetime, I have suffered from various afflictions including severe depression (numerous suicide attempts) & eating disorders (below 100 lbs for three years), but the most disabling of all these was the paruresis I have had for over 40yrs. This is a disorder kept secret by both its sufferers & ignorance in our society. I believed I was alone in this afliction until I discovered the IPA some three yrs ago. I have found the IPA to be a help for the helpless- a nonprofit which is truly dedicated to helping paruretics overcome this disorder. This is a nonprofit which definitely gets results & changes lives for the better. In my opinion, the IPA is worthy to be a top-rated nonprofit, both now & in the years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 5, 2011

Paruresis has been part of my life for more than 30 years affecting my quality of life. Only when I found IPA online did I realize that so many others experienced the same problem . By reading a book... more

October 26, 2012

Having endured many years coping with paruresis I have been really pleased to learn and share more with others. Although I still have some difficulty dealing with it, I have improved and understand it much more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2011

Paruresis has been part of my life for more than 30 years affecting my quality of life. Only when I found IPA online did I realize that so many others experienced the same problem .

By reading a book obtained through IPA I began to understand this condition. Then I attended an IPA workshop
and began to make some progress. Improvement is slow but definite and I am now optimistic that I can overcome much of the aversion that I have to public washrooms.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am now much more able to use washrooms outside my residence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

INcrase number of workshops

September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

I have suffered from Paruresis since childhood. I attempted to manage my condition through my career and personal life by avoiding fluids and running or bathing to dehydrate before travel or social events. The 14 hour flights to Asia were the worst! Many miserable and painful memories. Through IPA I learned to self cath.....learned what and where to buy catheters and supplies and had some helpful tips. I was successful the first time I tried and it was/is extremely easy and painless. Now I can travel freely anywhere and not worry about long bus rides or plane trips. Thanks to IPA....several visits to urologists were useless....they did not understand or help. Free after 50 years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 6, 2011

I'm one of millions of people who suffer from Paruresis or Shy Bladder Syndrome. Like most sufferers, I've spent most of my life keeping my problem a secret, too embarassed to tell anyone that often ... more

August 28, 2012

I'm 61 and I've suffered from Paruresis most of my life. For me, and milions of others who suffer from this social phobia, the IPA is the best source of information about the condition and how to cope with it. I've attended an IPA workshop and read some literature from the IPA store, including Dr. Soifer's book, Shy Bladder Syndrome. The workshop experience was extremely helpful. It showed me that I could make progress with my problem, and has given me confidence to face social situations where having a shy bladder could be uncomfortable and embarassing. I shared my notes from the workshop with my urologist and my psychiatrist, and they both appreciated the information. My urologist said, "You're educating me about this condition." With continued desentization exercises, I expect to make much more progress. IPA has given me the tools.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 6, 2011

I'm one of millions of people who suffer from Paruresis or Shy Bladder Syndrome. Like most sufferers, I've spent most of my life keeping my problem a secret, too embarassed to tell anyone that often have difficulty urinating in a public restroom or whenever other people are present. Thanks to International Paruresis Association, I've learned about gradual desensitization exercise which are helping me to ameliorate my symptoms. I appreciate the knowledge and emotional support of this organization. Even doctors often lack information about Shy Bladder Syndrome. In fact, my urologist has thanked me for sharing with him the information I've received from IPA publications and workshops.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I practice the desensitization techniques several times weekly and this has given me confidence to go places and be with other people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

IPA is doing a great job but is stuggling financially. Better funding would help it to reach more people and fulfill its mission.

August 26, 2012

more

August 26, 2012

I'm 34 and suffered from paruresis since I was a teenager. I came across the IPA website a few years ago. Since then, I've attended a workshop and several practice sessions. The treatments I learned have had such a positive experience in my life and paruresis is rarely a concern for me anymore. The steps to recovery begin with sharing your problem with others. I kept this a secret from everyone for many years, thinking I was alone. Since discussing the problem with others, it lifted a huge amount of stress off my shoulders. Thank you IPA you have saved my life!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2012

more

August 25, 2012

I suffered from from Paruresis for over 50 years, and I was sure that I was absolutely alone with this until I discovered the IPA during an Internet search. The workshop that I attended in Chicago in 2010 was the first step in my recovery process, and the graduated exposure techniques that have been constantly practicing have carried my recovery to a point where my condition now has very little affect on my daily life. This has been such a positively life-changing experience for me that I have since become a support group leader so that I can help others in turn.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

I have had a shy bladder for over 50 years, and it was a constant source of worry. My first workshop with IPA and Steve Soifer in Detroit in about 2000 was a revelation; I discovered I was not alone, and that there was a solution to my problem. I have been to many workshops, and many practice sessions with a Toronto group, and the improvement has been amazing - and relieving! Don W

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The biggest thing I learned about paruresis through IPA is that I am not alone. The workshop I attended was very informative and I learned to adjust my perspective on this condition. I am not cured of paruresis but live comfortably with it and it rarely stops me for doing what I want. This level of comfort would not have been possible without IPA's assistance. I have told all of my close friends of my condition and we laugh about it. They have, in turn, told me about other friends of theirs with paruresis and I have passed the IPA website information on to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

I have been dealing with Paruresis for about 40 years. Until my wife found an article in the newspaper discussing this phobia, I thought I was the only one with it. After attending a workshop in Las Vegas, I realized that help was possible. So I joined a group in Orange County CA and I have been particpating for several years. Ed and I formed a group in the Long Beach/Lakewood areas and we have kept it up mainly because we are the only group in the greater Los Angeles area--which is a shame. Although we have gotten a good number of participants through the website, we need more publicity in other media. The IPA program is great but we need to do a better job of getting the word out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers