Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.791675
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

Are you kidding me???? The end of the world is near!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

IPA helps people recover from paruresis. Paruresis (also known as "shy bladder" or "bashful bladder") is a social phobia which makes it difficult or impossible for the sufferer to urinate in the proximity of other people, such as in a public restroom.

Paruresis may extend to private
places away from the sufferer's home, such as the home of a friend. This phobia makes it almost impossible for those suffering from it to enjoy the social activities of daily living that non sufferers, most people, take for granted, such as enjoying an evening at a concert, bar or restaurant with friends and family.

Currently, I am 65 years old, educated and moderately successful by most standards. I had gradually become nearly disabled socially from paruresis, beginning in my late twenties. In 2006, I discovered IPA by happenstance. Subsequently I enrolled in my first IPA workshop which was programmed to help sufferers of paruresis to recover: that is, to help them to learn to urinate in the proximity of others, in public restrooms and in other "difficult" situations, such as in the bathroom of an airplane.

The results of the workshop were almost immediate: I was able to go in a public restroom! It was not easy, but I could go. Through continued practice and workshop participation, I have recovered from paruresis to an extent that I never believed would be possible. It is not perfect. I still cannot urinate as I imagine a non sufferer does, but i am no longer a hostage to paruresis.

Urinating in an airplane bathroom was perhaps the most "phobic" situation for me. Since working intensively with IPA, I have travelled extensively. I was able to use the bathroom on the airplane to China and Africa. I have travelled to Central and South America and Europe as well.

I cannot say too many positive things about IPA, the program, the workshops and the people. It has helped me to live a better, happier, more productive life by helping me to recover from the social phobia of paruresis.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

The IPA has had an extremely beneficial impact on my life and the lives of many others. The physical and mental anguish associated with paruresis or shy bladder can be a major quality of life problem for individuals with this condition. The IPA offers support for dealing with shy bladder through website posting board, workshops, publications, and local support groups. Thank you IPA for the great work you are providing.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Great ori4ganization to help people with shy bladder. They help me greatly and can help you too.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I have suffered from Shy Bladder for the majority of my life and discovered the IPA several years ago. This organization has been very helpful in helping me overcome this disorder and I eventually joined the organization to help others. It is life changing to meet other people who have dealt with the same issues and find out you are not alone.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

This organization changed my life 15 years ago. I cannot adequately extol its virtues and importance . After 15 years of donating to their organization, I decided to take a position on the board to help further this crucial cause. My only regret is that they didn't exist 50 years ago when I needed their help and insights even more. My life would have been incredibly improved. But.....much better late then never. My son has avoided the agony of paruresis because of the IPA. And this for me (and him) is truly a godsend!!!!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

This organization is frequently the first-line resource available to individuals suffering from avoidant paruresis. It provides a free webboard for the public to share their stories about suffering with, and recovering from, this frequently debilitating and shame-inducing symptom. The organization also operates workshops to aid recovery efforts at many cities throughout the USA--and recently in a few foreign cites as well.
As a psychotherapist who helps to treat this condition, most of my clients have come to me after seeing their condition labelled for the first time ever. Seeing that they are alone in their suffering has a normalizing effect and is an intervention in and of itself.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I found this organization about 15 years ago. It changed my life and allowed me to conquer paruresis. I am so grateful for the help this organization has given me that I am now a board member. I want to help other people get help for paruresis and have the life changing experience that I have had.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Have been a board member with IPA for 7 years, truly a great organization. The workshops are scheduled many times a year and are the main vehicle through which IPA helps its members. Also works on legislation to promote alternative drug testing for paruretics. Steve has been extremely devoted and the amount of progress we are able to achieve with the resources we have is amazing!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

This group helped me a great deal with shy bladder and advocates on behalf of people with shy bladder in the workplace
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers