Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

IMA a charitable organization (serving the poor)
Charity is rare among many but it’s amazing that IMA bears all the qualities of charity!
At Teso Safe Motherhood Project (TSMP) – where the poor run to for the basic need of life health, they get everything they need for their health to the
scope of the unit. They receive health talks, counseling and testing for HIV, antenatal care, clean and safe delivery, postnatal care, prevention of mother to child transmission of HIV family planning, Immunization, food, mosquito nets, baby towels, caps , doles for children, free referral services by ambulance, the needy in hard to reach areas are helped on outreach program weekly. IMA meets all those bills.
NB: Because of the above the needy never wish to be even referred elsewhere- some cry.
The staff at TSMP is motivated by IMA in many aspects in order to make sure its dream comes true.
1. Staff receives their gross salary free of taxation (IMA) pays the taxes to the government.
2. Staff receives their salaries promptly 25th or earlier each month.
3. Support supervision with mentorship by the IMA volunteers.
4. Staff gets supplies of all they need to deliver quality care to the patient. These are things that are lacking in our area, TSMP is unusual.
I praise the work IMA does as Angels of mercy/ shield for the poor/ mother of destitute/chance for the poor to smile and laugh/surrogate and…………………….
I work with TSMP as a comprehensive nurse

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

patients are treated with compassion services are100% free of charge staff get mentor ship by us volunteers IMA(donor) paying taxes for employees

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

International Midwife Assistance is incredibly effective. IMA focuses on the project on the ground. Most all the resources go to supporting the clinic in Uganda and how to do the job better and better. The work is very direct, support moves quickly from the donors to the very needy people who are served. Also, participation by the locals in management of the project is critical. The people express their needs and priorities rather than being told by the organization what they need. Local buy-in makes the difference, the projects are shaped by the communities they serve, so that real sustainable change happens. Many women's lives are saved, and many women gain control of their fertility, through IMA's work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen direct results from this organization in newly trained midwives in Afghanistan and a fantastic birth center in Uganda.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love the world to see the concrete, tangible changes this organization is making with needy communities, so that more people would become donors.

March 25, 2011

more

March 25, 2011

I worked for IMA during 2005 and 2006, in both Afghanistan and Uganda. In Afghanistan IMA was involved in teaching midwifery students who were recommended by their various villages in Bamiyan Province. The midwifery model of care is all about empowering the pregnant woman and her family to make healthy choices. In Afghanistan, training young women to work outside of their homes was also empowering for our midwifery students as well. The 22 midwives who graduated from the program are an outstanding example of empowerment for other women and particularly for younger women. In Uganda the IMA cllinic and birthing center also uses the midwifery model of care and empowers women to make healthier decisions concerning pregnancy, birth and child spacing. IMA is professionally managed by women and for women.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The graduation of the 22 midwife students in Afghanistan was amazing and encouraging. It was a rare example of an American NGO accomplishing their promises to the Afghan people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find a way to work in both Afghanistan and Uganda. There must be an organization somewhere who would back IMA in Afghanistan.

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

IMA's commitment to the poorest and most disenfranchised people of Northern Uganda has saved lives and brought hope to thousands of individuals and families. The Teso Safe Motherhood Project provides a model for ethical, honest delivery of care, where all staff are learning that there is a way to conduct "business" with full accountability. The staff know that they have the opportunity, because of IMA, to provide excellent health care to their fellow Ugandans in an environment of true caring for both the patients and the staff. IMA has been on the cutting edge of providing continuing education for the clinic staff, building capacity of health care providers, finance officer and community outreach providers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I recruited IMA to Uganda and was thrilled when IMA found the clinic to fit their mission. What has blossomed in the ensuing years is beyond my imagination in the scope and breadth of care delivery to the poorest Ugandans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would desire would be a source of unlimited funding for IMAs work!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers