Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

The International Folk Art Market Santa Fe is truly a "miracle, not a market". The phenomenal event that takes place each year thanks to an amazing system of volunteers and staff is but one part of that miracle. What touches me and others about IFAM Santa Fe are the countless stories of lives transformed...the lives of the artists who attend, and those of their communities that they represent. It is an organization like no other on this planet and serves a sector of the developing world that had been struggling with globalization and lack of markets. Only ten years old, IFAM Santa Fe has had an enormous impact and I can only imagine the positive contributions IFAM Santa Fe will make in the next ten years.
I have been both a volunteer and board member and am a huge fan and supporter of the work of this amazing non profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

For the last 5 years, the International Folk Art Market - Santa Fe helped our cooperative - The Cheque Oitedie - to promote the Ayoreo culture, their traditional art based on the sustainable management of Bromelia hieronymi the plant wich deliver its fine fibers to the women. They also helped us to increase the benefit for our artisans, and let us to know many people of different countries! For all these reasons we feel very happy to be a part of this family. Thank you and congratulations!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Santa Fe Folk Art Market is an amazing success and story. I have attended each year since it started and have been working with the Mentir to Market Training programs for artists for the last 4 years, bringing in executives from all over the US to help the artists. Everyone who comes, including Ambassador at Large for the State Depart,met for global Women's Issues, Melanne Veveer, have been so impressed with the quality of the handcrafts and art, the scale of activities, the impact on the artists, the impact on the community, the dedication of the volunteers and the exceptional yet small staff that puts it all together. It has to be seen to be understood....it is a market, a training week, an economic development platform, a dedication to folk artists and a really fun time. This nonprofit deserves five stars and the award.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It can't be replicated. We hope tommake it a week long focus on the handcrafts and artisans and the impact on sustainability, economic development and opportunities for women.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband and I have always loved folk art. When we visited the International Folk Art Market-Santa Fe for the first time 6 years ago, I actually got choked up seeing the long lines of people who also appreciate the wonderful folk art that is sold at the Market. We resolved to return to volunteer the next summer, and, amazingly, we did. We were impressed with how well the Market is run, how well the artists are respected, and how many dedicated volunteers it takes to make this incredible event happen. By the fourth year of volunteering, we found ourselves looking at houses in Santa Fe and moved here full time the next spring. We have had a leadership chair position for the last two years with a lot of responsibility. The Market staff is so dedicated, and as a volunteer I always feel valued and appreciated. It is a wonderful feeling to be a part of such an incredible endeavor where artists are able to sell their beautiful wares and return to their homes with the funds to improve their lives. Each artist's story is a beautiful story of devotion to their culture and family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd add a few more staff members since everyone works so very hard all year to make this incredible weekend happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

For the last six years I've volunteered at the International Folk Art Market--Santa Fe. The opportunity to assist artisans who have the backing of such a well-run organization keeps me coming back yearly. The Market cares deeply about the artisans and that shows in its high support for them emotionally, physically, and financially.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

For six years my son and I have volunteered at the Market, as waterboys giving cool refreshment to attendees. He was just 10 when we started, and it's been a great experience for him. Although we play a tiny part in the weekend, we are always treated with professionalism by the organization's staff, even as the event increased exponentially in scope. It's a wonderful event and my son and I are very proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As someone whose academic career has focused on artisan enterprise development, i give the International Folk Art Market-Santa Fe a 5* rating. They are encouraging excellence in folk art creativity and production and then offering a venue for the artists to market their goods. As the artists come together in Santa Fe, they develop community among themselves which serves as a valuable ongoing resource for their future work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I feel so blessed to be a part of this organization that is so dedicated to empowering folk artists all over the world. By creating this venue, the Market has not only given these artists an opportunity to receive the recognition they deserve and income to support their families and communities, but it has also given Market attendees, staff and volunteers the opportunity to open their eyes and hearts to the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is a wonderful organization to be a part of. The work of all of the volunteers and the staff make a significant impact on the lives of thousands around the world. I'm proud to be involved as a Board Member and as a Volunteer!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

An exciting place to be, with many treasures to be found, and friends to be made from all over the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

work as an artist assistant in a booth during the Market; sell concessions; help decorate the site; serve as a cashier or cashier assistant; and other duties on site at the Market Volunteer