Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12.43478345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 5, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

We took in my mom and at first, we amused her with her charitable giving. We were, however, concerned with the amount of mail (3-4) times a week she would get from these people. They would send cards of families she helped (but seriously, how hard is it to fake that?) and lots of impassioned letters pleading for money. It was not until my husband did her taxes and found she gave away half her savings to them that we called a halt to it and demanded she is taken off the mailing list. I am disgusted on how she was relentlessly asked for donations, taking advantage of her good heart. Upon extensive web research I am also disgusted at what the head makes. Yes, he makes over $400,000 a year, but that is in take-home. He also tucks away $600,000 a year for his retirement. What kind of person takes that much money for retirement and what kind of life does he lead that he needs that much? Ridiculous!

I think if this organization was run better and did not waste 60% of the dollar on admin, advertising, wages, etc. with maybe around 40% actually going towards helping the Jewish people, it would be worth giving to. I would recommend steering clear of this charity and doing your homework to find one worthy of your hard-earned dollars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the head, put in new management, and overhaul the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I used to contribute monthly to the International Fellowship of Christians and Jews, but then I found out that the Rabbi makes more the $400,000 per year -- and probably has an expense account to boot. I believe in paying the laborer his due, but $400K is ridiculous -- more than $1,000 per day! I would go back to regular giving if Rabbi Eckstein would cut his salary in half.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cut the salaries of the Rabbi and his family down to a reasonable level. I think that $240K per annum should be more than enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013
25 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2013
25 people found this review helpful

I donated to this fund monthly by credit card largely because I wanted to bless the Jews through some charity or outlet. The IFCF seemed to have a lot of information and advertising that captured my attention. However, over time I realized that they must be spending millions in advertising because I would receive elaborate advertising 2x a week asking for more money. I did not like that. Also, they never mentioned Christ at all but only catered to Judaism’s beliefs. What sealed my decision to stop my donation was when I read about Rabi Eckstein’s incredible salary. That salary includes my donation and could be used to help many poor jewish people. It seems the good Rabi is more interested himself than he should be. I plan to give to the Joshua Fund which is a Christian organization who helps Jews and is chaired by a Christian Jew.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put a cap on the Rabi’s salary, and have a in-depth accounting where the money goes to. That advertising budget is insane. Use the money to help the people as they are suppose to.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Those who bless Israel will be blessed. I have seen people going on about the amount of money paid to Eckstein, and I must say I don't understand. He makes 20 percent as much as the CEO of Coca Cola, about 3 percent of Microsofts leader. He could just as easily find a private company job and far out do his current salary. Instead he choses to take less money and deny the comforts of a stationary life at home were it is safe. I can assure you that as down to earth as Warren Buffet is, he aint huggin the sick and praying in war torn countries for his daily bread. These people help people. If you want to bark up someones tree go for the pink ribbon people. They take in billions and pay there reps 100 plus thousands to fly first class stay in 5 star hotels and leave pamphlets in doctors offices. Something a mail man could do. Compared to other charities this one gives back a lot of what it collects. Susan G Colman foundation for breast cancer is much better for cancer research. Do your homework kids. Compare charities and see were the money goes. Its out there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I donated one time 50 dollars,, but now I get tons of mail exceeding my initial donation now i find out they are worth more 80 million it just seem weird to now knowing most Jews give money to Israel. so no more will donate to wounded soldiers and a have a girl that is that i have in World Vision for 6 years now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 23, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I handle my 87 year-old mother's financial affairs, and saw that she was persuaded to donate to this organization through her credit card. When I told her that the president was paid nearly a half-million dollars in 2010 (the most recent year reported), she was outraged, and felt taken advantage of. I called the organization and asked to have the funds credited back to her credit card and they refused, saying that contributions were non-refundable unless the donor was legally incompetent at the time. I believe that every legitimate charity should return gifts made by people who within a reasonable amount of time reconsider after receiving pertinent information about the charity. The fact that this organization will require me to take them to small-claims court to get my mother's money back tells me a lot about just what sort of outfit they are.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 15, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Donated and in getting their literature was contemplating donating on a monthly basis as sounded like a good group. Then I saw Rabbi Eckstein's salary of over 400,000 dollars and am sure he has an expense account too. I am struggling financially as are most these days and to see a charity administrator compensated to this extent sends red flags of,if not a scam, definitely donation abuse. Money now going to the Fisher House.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

As a child of God I know that my Father is watching the actions of everything that we do. In this Iam sure He willo right all wrongs. keep fath in Him, in the name of or Lord Jesus the Christ.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 20, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 20, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Everything I read and hear about this charity is good, BUT I am choking over Rabbi Eckstein's salary! $324,000 for the year!! What the dickens is that about? In my mind, anything over $100,000 for any employee of any charity--top dog or not--is inappropriate. I have no doubt that all of Rabbi Eckstein's charity related expenses are paid, so the 324,000 dollars goes directly into his pocket. At least $225,000 of that belongs in the hands of Israel's needy. I am really struggling to continue giving money to this charity since I am a retiree living on about $45,000 per year. I don't begrudge him a good lifestyle, but from my vantage point it seems that that can be achieved on $100, 000/yr if all your work related expenses are paid.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Best place I ever donated to. The people in this chartiy are the nicest and most blessed people I know. I plan on blessing them for as long as I can not only by donateing to them but by praying for them for as long as I can. God Bless You IFCJ Terry

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers