Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12.42308345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

In terms of personal wealth, Israel and it's citiziens are more than capable of feeding their own, and for any "christian" charity to beg Americans to send Israel money when there is such overwhelming need in the United States already is laughable.

I can assure you Jesus Christ does not
know this organization.
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

If you want to donate to Israel, donate through your local Jewish Federation or Jewish, Friends of the IDF , Magen David Adom, Israel's emergency medical response agency AFMDA .
There are a lot of legitimate organizations for donating to Israel.
Thank you for supporting Israel in this
difficult time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to donate

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Spending millions on advertising with video of pathetic Jews getting food boxes from Israeli army begs the question: Who are these people and why don't the people of Israel take better care of themselves and their fellow citizens? I am quite certain they don't get invited to dinner with the fancy overpaid
Rabbi that is picking your pockets to fill his!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the Rabbi and let Israel feed their own people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2014
13 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
13 people found this review helpful

We took in my mom and at first, we amused her with her charitable giving. We were, however, concerned with the amount of mail (3-4) times a week she would get from these people. They would send cards of families she helped (but seriously, how hard is it to fake that?) and lots of impassioned letters pleading for money. It was not until my husband did her taxes and found she gave away half her savings to them that we called a halt to it and demanded she is taken off the mailing list. I am disgusted on how she was relentlessly asked for donations, taking advantage of her good heart. Upon extensive web research I am also disgusted at what the head makes. Yes, he makes over $400,000 a year, but that is in take-home. He also tucks away $600,000 a year for his retirement. What kind of person takes that much money for retirement and what kind of life does he lead that he needs that much? Ridiculous!

I think if this organization was run better and did not waste 60% of the dollar on admin, advertising, wages, etc. with maybe around 40% actually going towards helping the Jewish people, it would be worth giving to. I would recommend steering clear of this charity and doing your homework to find one worthy of your hard-earned dollars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the head, put in new management, and overhaul the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 13, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I used to contribute monthly to the International Fellowship of Christians and Jews, but then I found out that the Rabbi makes more the $400,000 per year -- and probably has an expense account to boot. I believe in paying the laborer his due, but $400K is ridiculous -- more than $1,000 per day! I would go back to regular giving if Rabbi Eckstein would cut his salary in half.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cut the salaries of the Rabbi and his family down to a reasonable level. I think that $240K per annum should be more than enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

I can not understand the rancor of some reviewers on this topic. First about the salary. People have complained that he makes $370 thousand, $400 thousand, and more than $470 thousand dollars. Did they expect him to socialize with moneyed individuals in a wrinkled suit and cap in hand? Traditionally those who donate large amounts to charity are not impressed by a homeless individual knocking on their door. In actuality I believe that he makes close to $500,000. That is a non-issue. To put it in perspective, for every $50.00 you would donate, 22 cents goes into the rabbi's pocket. When I donate to food shelves, or clothing centers for the homeless locally, it would not bother me that the administrator makes a buck every time I donate $250.

As to personal attacks...one commenter mentioned that the rabbi had been condemned by the Orthodox. To that I would have to ask which Orthodox? The only criticism of which I am aware coming from Orthodox organizations is a claim that defines Rabbi Yechiel Eckstein as a closet Christian. His organization has been a viable charity in Israel for thirty years, though the name International Fellowship of Christians and Jews wasn't used until 1991.

The more damaging assessment comes in the realm of the amount of money necessary to raise a dollar. The actual fundraising expenses reported to the IRS are in the nature of 39%. Thus it takes 39 cents to raise a dollar of which 53 cents goes to the designated charity, which leaves 8 cents for administrative expenses. If I was a retailer, I would consider that a great return on my investment. How do I determine this for a charity? To begin with, the worst charities only spend between 2.5% to 10% on the actual subject of the donation. The rest goes to...well you know. The best spend anywhere from 75% to 90% on the subject of donation. Most fall in between those ranges. The BBB standards of 65% when dividing program expenses by total expenses gets a minus mark for IFCJ which is only 54%. On the other hand the American Red Cross which passed the BBB test has been in continues hot water with federal investigators since before Hurricanes Katrina and Rita when they pocketed the money earmarked for those disasters by direct contribution.

The top performing charity merely uses its donations for education and provides no direct aid to the needy. But...the Joshua Fund mentioned in one comment, has an overall rating of 61.xx% while the IFCJ has a 54% rating, not terrible, except the main reason it is that high is with a higher score in financial accountability. Joshua has a profile of $5 million, whereas IFCJ has a $100 million profile. As I've checked around to see where my Israel money is best spent I have not found anything that large appreciably better.

I donate to a number of Israel charities, and this is one of them. Am I satisfied with the amount they spend on fundraising? No. but I will continue to donate until something better that actually feeds the needy, comes along. I will look more into the Joshua Fund, but last year they ran a deficit and that isn't a good sign for longevity.

A final note: if I was donating 10% of my income to this charity alone, then I would look elsewhere. My consideration is also weighed by the fact that many of the top rated org. are umbrella groups I don't know what is done with the money given to their various subsidiaries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to cut the fundraising budget in half.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

Rumors of million + salaries, and donations that exclude messianic Jews; those that believe in Jesus Christ, should not stop good hearted people who want to bless Israel with a donation. Those who bless Israel will be blessed. Before you donate, look around, there are numerous legitimate organizations that do charitable work there. Check them out, see how much of your donation reaches it's destination, and reaches the people you intended it for. May your hearts be in the right place, and may God bless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If rumors are true then soul searching is in order. If not try to clean image.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013
27 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2013
27 people found this review helpful

I donated to this fund monthly by credit card largely because I wanted to bless the Jews through some charity or outlet. The IFCF seemed to have a lot of information and advertising that captured my attention. However, over time I realized that they must be spending millions in advertising because I would receive elaborate advertising 2x a week asking for more money. I did not like that. Also, they never mentioned Christ at all but only catered to Judaism’s beliefs. What sealed my decision to stop my donation was when I read about Rabi Eckstein’s incredible salary. That salary includes my donation and could be used to help many poor jewish people. It seems the good Rabi is more interested himself than he should be. I plan to give to the Joshua Fund which is a Christian organization who helps Jews and is chaired by a Christian Jew.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put a cap on the Rabi’s salary, and have a in-depth accounting where the money goes to. That advertising budget is insane. Use the money to help the people as they are suppose to.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 3, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

How can this charity get such a high rating when over 40% of the funds raised go to fund raising expense? This is certainly not efficiency. I would never donate to this charity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 12, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

Why does any charity organozation's head deserve more than $400,000/year salary or compensation which is almost equal to the US President's salary andmore than double that of members of Congress?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers