Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
273 Reviews
1234.915755
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If you are a big cat, bear or other exotic animal, then IEAS is the place to be. You'll get top notch nutrition, spacious living quarters, toys to play with and qualified individuals constantly looking out for your health and well-being.

And if you are looking for a nice place to visit,
by all means stop by and take a guided tour of this tree-filled, park-like facility filled with beautiful big cats, bears and other amazing animals.

However... If you are a prospective intern or volunteer, think twice before setting foot in this place. In many cases the interns are treated harshly, and from what I heard it wasn't much better for the volunteer help. If you don't stack up precisely to their very high standards, they will treat you "accordingly". There was much favoritism- those not favored by the staff would be given the dirtier, harder jobs while those that they liked were chosen to help with or observe things that the others didn't get to do. Even asking a simple, reasonable question or getting confused when you're doing something can get you a look of contempt or getting snapped at. In a nutshell: after the "training period", *everything* should be second nature to you and there shouldn't be any questions. Don't even get me started on making mistakes (which, last time I checked, we all do as humans...).This makes for a very anxious and stress-filled 3 months for an IEAS intern. It really is an environment of fear.

I thought an internship was a learning experience, where one is supported and encouraged while they gain skills and knowledge for their desired career path. Instead, it is like bootcamp. They paint the picture that all is happy and harmonious on the surface, but underneath- what the public doesn't see- is tension and angst.

I don't write this to try to 'bring down' this organization. For the most part, they do good work. It's just sad that they can't treat people as well as they treat their animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat people better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

IEAS is a great place. I am currently an intern here. This sanctuary takes excellent care of their animals and puts their needs above everything else. I love that they cater to the animals' emotional needs. Their Emotional Enrichment program is awesome and unique, and their habitats are beautiful and spacious. The staff here are very hard workers and work very efficiently. All of the animals here seem very happy and comfortable, which they definitely deserve after the lives they had previous to their arrival here. I highly recommend that everyone visit this amazing sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

IEAS is a great place, I am currently enrolled in their intern program. Their safety protocol is the best and the care that the animal receive is above and beyond any other place that I have worked. IEAS is run efficiently and I love that the animals emotional health is considered along with their physical health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS and the staff is incredibly knowledgable. They know all the animals on a deeply personal level and are very accomodating to the needs of even the quirkiest of animals. An amazing group of people working with a truly astounding group of animals. Far exceeds any expectation I had or could've had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

The number one priority of the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary is to provide a permanent safe home for animals that have most likely been neglected or abandoned. This sanctuary was built for the animals, and the staff continue to ensure that the animals' needs come first. The respect and care that the staff shares with the animals is amazing. Come for a tour and see the sanctuary that these animals now call home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

This sanctuary is very impressive in terms of the quality of care each animal receives. This includes not only feeding but emotional care as well. Everything that is done is based solely for the well being of each individual and the safety of the animals, staff, volunteers, and guests. From the perspective of an intern, the experience gained here can only be beneficial and one can learn as much as one desires. It is a huge stepping stone for this career field and one will quickly learn their limitations and if this career is for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

I am an intern here at the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary. I am very proud to say that I have chosen a great animal facility to work at for many reasons. The staff, including the animal keepers, behaviorist, and director, are very knowledgeable about each exotic animal housed here and strives to provide a stress-free and safe environment for each animal. The staff is very serious about the safety policies for both themselves, the public, and the interns so that any mistakes, minor or major, are and will be avoided. They are very specific in their training methods and expect the interns to learn and work quickly, but efficiently. Some things that I admire the most about the sanctuary is that each habitat is large enough so that the animals do not feel constricted, there are many enrichment items to keep the animals occupied and happy, and that so much effort is put into reducing the stress and anxiety of each animals after they are brought into the facility. The emotional and behavioral enrichment methods have made animals that were once abused by previous owners and came to the facility as easily agitated beings into friendly and calm animals. I am excited to continue my journey at IEAS and learn many new things about exotic felines and the work and dedication it takes to becoming a zookeeper!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 23, 2012

IEAS is my favorite place of all time! I'm so pleased that, years ago, I discovered its proximity to my house. After touring several times, I truly wanted to have a connection with this spectacular ... more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If you love animals, this is the place to be! If you don't love animals, please take a tour and see how you feel about them afterward. The animals at IEAS are beautiful, happy, and certainly well-cared for . . . all of which they deserve after the lives they were forced to live before coming to their forever home. The sanctuary staff is fully knowledgeable, the habitats are spacious and clean, and everything possible is done to educate the public about conservation. The great enrichment program ensures that the animals have emotional, as well as physical, care. I will continue to volunteer at IEAS as long as possible because it is such a meaningful and pleasant experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

IEAS is my favorite place of all time! I'm so pleased that, years ago, I discovered its proximity to my house. After touring several times, I truly wanted to have a connection with this spectacular facility and its beautiful, well-cared-for animals . . . so I became a volunteer. If exotic animals don't have the option of being free and living in their natural habitats, IEAS is the next best place for them to live out their lives. The welfare of every creature there is top priority and the sanctuary provides such a terrific opportunity for the general public to learn more about each of the species and the importance of conservation. I am very grateful to be having this experience of getting to know these animals - they have personality and SOUL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

It is my pleasure and privilege to be a volunteer at IEAS. The occasions when I'm there visiting my adopted bobcat, chatting with staff members, photographing the animals, and taking inventory on items I provide for the gift shop - - well, those times are significant highlights in my life. The animals and their habitats are very well-cared for, and taking a tour of this superb facility is an excellent opportunity to learn why exotic/wild animals should NOT be pets. You will hear stories of how many of the residents got to IEAS . . . and they will break your heart. But the whole experience of the sanctuary is very uplifting and I can't think of a better place to spend time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2011

What a fantastic, marvelous organization! I have been to IEAS multiple times and am so impressed with the whole operation! Tours are full of information about the individual animals themselves, the history of why they came to the sanctuary, and what their care involves. All staff and employees - from the manager, to the interns, to the gift store supervisor, etc. - are knowledgeable and informed about each animal. Habitats are spacious and provide a natural setting (with pools and trees) for each particular species, allowing the inhabitants to exist in an environment as close as possible to the wild. They are offered enrichment items such as pumpkins, tires, swings, balls, slides, and see-saws to stimulate activity. The diets are programmed to the nutritional needs of each animal and there is a veterinary clinic on the site. If a wild animal has to be in captivity for some unfortunate reason, this is the place to be! My reaction to each of my visits has been "I really want to be a part of this experience in some way!"

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have always been a lover and respecter of all animals, and I consider it an honor and privilege to be able sit with my adopted bobcat and be allowed to take photos of the bear cubs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to reach a greater number of people to educate about the dangers wild animals are subjected to in today's world. And educate in a way that would arouse compassion for these animals and a willingness to support facilities like IEAS that can meet the needs of abused, neglected, and orphaned sentient beings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

From a friend who was a volunteer.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 19, 2012

With a degree in Veterinary Technology and now retired; I recently adopted a little cougar who had stolen my heart from day one. I am looking forward to sitting with little Thor and spending quality ... more

April 12, 2013

This facility is perhaps the best there is. Last year, I adopted a lonely little Cougar who has grown into a BEAUTIFUL 1 1/2 year old. Whether adopter, volunteer, worker, intern or visitor, you will leave this place a better person for having been there. The animals are so precious; many having arrived at IEAS in the nick of time or as a last resort. Living out their lives - whether babies, adults or seniors- they have arrived at a forever home that is fitting for them. It's a shame all animals found in some of their circumstances cannot come to IEAS. Education is foremost as one of their goals, but taking care of these animals, even through enrichment, is their TOP priority. I would not hesitate to recommend visiting IEAS - you won't be sorry; and you will never forget it either. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

With a degree in Veterinary Technology and now retired; I recently adopted a little cougar who had stolen my heart from day one. I am looking forward to sitting with little Thor and spending quality time with him when he gets used to me. This facility is so well maintained and staffed that I am extremely impressed with the care and attention each and every animal receives. It is definitely a "must visit" for anyone in the North Texas area. Please make it a point to do so, you won't be sorry. Truly lots of "lions, tigers and bears, oh my."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

The International Exotic Animal Sanctuary has established a reputation that far exceeds those of other facilities of its type. As an AZA accredited sanctuary, they maintain standards that focus on the optimal well being of the resident animals. Every detail of the daily routine has been carefully formulated to ensure that the safety of the animals as well as the staff are ensured. This facility does not settle for average living conditions for its animals; enclosures are continually renovated to provide an enjoyable living space for each individual. As Jane Goodall said "The least I can do is speak out for those who cannot speak for themselves". IEAS has embraced this view and it is evident in the work that they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers