Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
261 Reviews
1234.919545
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
December 18, 2012

more

December 18, 2012

The International Exotic Animal Sanctuary is the only sanctuary of it's kind, with full certification from the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). I am an intern for IEAS currently and have never seen an exotic animal facility put so much love and effort into the daily care for their animals. Most of the animals (though not all) that now call the sanctuary home have come from backgrounds of abuse, neglect, or abandonment. The sanctuary cares for not only the physical well being of each animal, but also focuses on their emotional needs. Louis Dorfman, an Animal Behaviorist, comes to the facility three times a week and has for many years, to just spend time with the animals. As a new intern, I learn new things every single day; not only about the normal upkeep of an animal sanctuary, but also about each animal's personality and their likes and dislikes. I look forward to the next two and a half months as I continue my internship here. At this point in time I can hardly imagine how much more there is still to learn, and I can't wait to see what comes next!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012

more

December 17, 2012

While it’s unfortunate that we live in a world where the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary even has to exist, it’s an absolute blessing that it does. IEAS currently gives a permanent home and refuge to 43 exotic felines, 16 bears and 2 coatimundis. Many of these animals came from places where they were abused, neglected or just not properly cared for by the people that “owned” them. As an AZA certified facility, IEAS gives these animals the proper diets, spacious habitats, medical attention and respect they deserve. Additionally, through their unique emotional enrichment program, the hard working and patient staff have helped many of these animals learn to trust humans again. The comfort and happiness of the animals is the staff’s number one priority. I highly suggest taking a tour of this facility and making a donation. Not only will you be contributing to the direct care of these animals, you will get to take a behind the scenes look at the peaceful life these beautiful animals have there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012

more

December 17, 2012

The International Exotic Animal Sanctuary surpasses the industry standards in providing its inhabitants outstanding care. The IEAS staff provides the exotic felines, bears, and coatimundi optimum physical, mental, and emotional health. The staff is able to do this by understanding each animal and building relationships built on trust, respect and compassion. The relationships the animals have with their caretakers is apparent upon meeting them. They seem comfortable and happy in their environment. And although IEAS is a beautiful sanctuary for humans to visit and tour; its true priority is providing the best life possible for the animals. I would recommend everyone to visit this sanctuary to learn more about the standards of animal care that hopefully soon be used by all animal sanctuaries and zoos.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012

more

December 17, 2012

An incredible facility that has been providing for big cats, bears and other exotic animals with the utmost care since 1997. The hard working, caring staff have developed a sanctuary that not only creates a comfortable and secure place for the animals, but offers one of the best intern programs for aspiring zookeepers such as myself. Personal tours are given by the staff everyday and I can't suggest visiting enough to see all the beautiful animals that call this sanctuary home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2012

more

December 10, 2012

This sanctuary is wonderful! The animals' happiness and comfort are top priorty here, with beautiful and spacious enclosures, enrichment opportunities for the cats/bears, and a great staff that cares SO much about these amazing animals. The animals show no signs of stress or unhappiness and it is very obvious that the care given to these animals is of the highest quality possible. This place is fantastic and all should visit if at all possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 31, 2012

IEFS is a wonderful sanctuary where the animals are always put first. As an intern, I spend every day with these animals and absolutely love them. But it's the faces of visitors and guests that really... more

November 7, 2012

The International Exotic Femile Sanctuary is wonderful place for big cats. Here, the cats and bears are placed number 1 at all times. Everything they do is to ensure the most comfortable and stress-free environment for the animals. The keepers are highly knowledgable and work hard every day to keep the Sanctuary running at it's best. They also take time to inform the public about the importance of these animals and their conservation. It is truely a amazing place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

IEFS is a wonderful sanctuary where the animals are always put first. As an intern, I spend every day with these animals and absolutely love them. But it's the faces of visitors and guests that really show what a great place this is. People are amazed to see the first hand experience they get with our cats and bears during our guided tours every day. As well as seeing the animals up close, it's also obvious to guests that the animals are happy and comfortable. This sanctuary is a wonderful place for these animals to live, for here they are loved and cared for to the best of human ability.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I heard about the Intetnational exotic feline sanctuary through an intern Kate Carson. She speaks very highly of the organization. It Is great to see such amazing and exotic felines being cared for. I hope to visit one day and see more of the great work these kind hearted people do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 12, 2011

I went on a tour of this facility early in 2009 after passing by on a motorcycle ride one weekend. I've volunteered at other animal refuges, and really enjoy the educational aspects that are presente... more

November 4, 2012

My husband and I came across the the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary in Boyd, TX several years ago while on a motorcycle ride. Shortly afterwards we returned to take a tour. I was so thouroughly impressed with what they were doing to educate the public and take great care of their "residents", that I quickly put in to be a volunteer. Getting the behind the scenes look at the operations and the people involved, I continue to be impressed and find great joy in helping this non-profit organization with my time, talents, and treasures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2011

I went on a tour of this facility early in 2009 after passing by on a motorcycle ride one weekend. I've volunteered at other animal refuges, and really enjoy the educational aspects that are presented to the general public. After the tour, I was determined to be a part of this organization thinking one day maybe I would lead a tour. Since they have interns at this facility, it is a part of their training to provide tours and educate the public, so I have instead found my niche as a volunteer working on beautifying the grounds. This helps visitors not only to know that the cats and bears are being well cared for, but that their surroundings and the entire facility are cared for and there is special attention paid to other details to enhance the look and feel of the experiences for all involved. There are lots of projects and on-going needs that I try to assist with as I can. I've been blessed to serve within this organization, and like the animals that reside at the International Exotic Feline Sanctuary, I too have sanctuary in my time spent serving at this place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

friendships with the staff, interns, and volunteers, and I have been rewarded in service by being surrounded by such elegant, powerful, and intriging creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

sell cat and/or bear calendars with the pictures and stories of some of the animal residents at the sanctuary.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

enough quality radios for the volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

new friends, a voice for improvements, a sense of accomplishment and appreciation for work completed.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

good therapy for the loss of a pet cat.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I was an intern at IEAS for six months from September 2011 to February 2012. I learned so much during my time there about animal care. I love that everything at IEAS is about the animals' well being and that the emotional care for the animals is as important as the physical care. The animals are so well cared for at IEAS. Some of the animals that call IEAS home have come from horrible places where they were not properly cared for. They receive the proper care while living at IEAS and it is amazing to see how an animal's personality changes after they have received the proper care. I am currently a zookeeper at a zoo and have put all the skills that I learned at IEAS to use. IEAS helped me get to where I am today and I will always treasure the time that I was privileged to spend there and learn how to care for such amazing creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I love Big Cats and saw an article in the paper about the great work these fine folks are doing for these beautiful majestic animals. I became a volunteer for about six months but, for me, the drive was too far for me to continue. I highly recommended this quality organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers