Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
273 Reviews
1234.915755
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

As a new intern that has only been working at this facility for 5 days, I can already say that this sanctuary is definitely one of a kind. It is run by passionate animal lovers and experts in the field that know exactly what these exotic species need. These animals seem truly happy and I'm glad I can be a part of making their lives better than they were prior to being rescued.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

Upon arriving at this facility as a new intern, I was impressed by the beautiful, spacious habitats. By far, this facility offers one of the most desirable internships I have ever seen since they give their interns a stipend, housing, and even a vehicle to use. If this wasn't enough, I know that this internship will provide me with an extensive amount of valuable experience working with large carnivores and other exotics. Upon touring this facility, I was not disappointed in anything I saw. They have put a considerable amount of work into making sure each animal they rescue and take in is in a more than suitable enclosure with plenty of natural and emotional enrichment. I am truly impressed by all that this sanctuary is able to do for the animals and every person associated with it.
August 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following the Sanctuary via internet for 2-3 years now, and today I was able to see the animals in person. It was amazing! It is devastating to hear where these animals come from, but it is wonderful to see how well they are able to live now, in a secure home where they are treated with kindness and respect. The tour was great. It was very cool to see these animals up close.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I found this facility when looking for jobs/internships on the AZA website. Wanting to work with carnivores i felt that this will be a good experience for me, but I didnt know much about this facility before applying. And today I took my first walk around the sanctuary with a walking tour, and I have to say that I am impressed with the enclosures and how the animals lives changed after being brought here. It was a bit difficult to see all the animals on tour, but that is a good thing, allowing the animals to hide or be seen on their terms. Each enclosure was tailored to each species needs.
June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As an intern, I've seen first hand just how much work goes into keeping all of the animals at IEAS happy and healthy. They strive to provide the best for the animals and everything done here is done for them. I am proud to have the opportunity to work with people who care so much about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

While I have visited and interned at a number of other sanctuaries, this one is by far the best! I've always had a strong passion for the well-being of animals, especially big cats and bears, and this sanctuary meets every high standard I set. I'm very honored to have been selected to intern here, as it is the exact kind of facility that I'm hoping to get hired on at. Everything here is 100% about the animals, and it really shows when you see how content the animals are in their habitats here. While it is a lot of hard work, it's very rewarding, and seeing their precious faces every day make it all worth it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not do anything :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As an intern, I get to see first hand how well these animals are taken care of. Everything that is done here is for the animals and I am grateful to be able to help care for them. You can tell that the animals are very happy here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

I am currently an intern here and let me tell you it is full of hard work and is very fast paced! This facility is dedicated to maintaining cleanliness and running smoothly. The animals are healthy and seem very happy in their habitats as well. There are so many amazing animals here with unique personalities that I am enjoying getting to know!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This sanctuary is the best I have ever visited and is one of the few that is certified by the Association of Zoo and Aquariums, and I take pride in the fact that I am able to intern at this facility. The animals are extremely well cared for following Association of Zoos and Aquariums Husbandry Standards, so you know they are getting their nutritional needs met along with being kept in a habitat suited for that animals needs. The safety standards here are also designed to meet AZA requirements so you know when touring or working as a volunteer/intern they are always people double checking every lock and making sure the sanctuary is as safe and secure as possible. The grounds are also well maintained and aesthetically pleasing. The animals are very content with their environment and are always relaxed even when tour groups are walking by. The internship program is amazing and the staff really cares about teaching interns everything they can and giving them an opportunity to grow their knowledge and experience level while they are here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As an intern at the Sanctuary I take pride in how content and well cared for the animals are. It is obvious by the relaxed nature of the animals and the ease that they greet visitors with that these animals are very content to call IEAS home. Anyone that has a chance should stop by for a tour it is an experience like no other. At no zoo will you get the chance to see animals that are as relaxed and comfortable as here at IEAS. Also as an intern I can also say that the intern program is an amazing feature of the Sanctuary, an experience like no other. IEAS is a sanctuary that exceeds all expectations for interns and for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers