Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
268 Reviews
1234.921645
| 1 ... 3 4 5...26 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Their intern program is top notch and their emotional enrichment program helps the animals stay healthy in all ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been supporting this charity ever since I visited there many, many years ago. I am a cat lover, from the smallest to the largest, and at the time I visited back in the early 1990''s all they had were exotic cats who had been purchased as pets and then - well - we all know what happens. Some were also injured and couldn't be in a zoo or returned to the wild for other reasons. When I took a tour of this place I knew that very special and loving people were involved in it. They were working hard to get donations to make bigger and better habitats, and provide more emotional and physical stimulation for these cats. They have continued this work and done great things since then, and now have even added bears! I now live in the mountains of New Mexico and have had many bears coming through my yard. Most of the people up here are afraid of the bears and see them and nuicances and dangers. I see them very differently and I know that the state of New Mexico routinely kills approx. 600 bears every year - and that is not all during bear hunting season. It makes me so happy to know that some of the orphan bears are being taken in and cared for by IEAS so that when they are all gone in the wild, thanks to the ignorance and selfishness of people - my great granchildrean will get to see bears in a happy and stimulating habitat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of changes I would make to the organization itself, it seems to be well-run and successful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

We have donated to this wonderful place for many years now. It has been quite a few years since we have visited, but we are kept apprised of their accomplishments, additions, and animals through newsletters and their website. I have first-hand met some of their employees and interns and they really care about the happiness and fulfillment of life of these animals. It is apparent from the natural surroundings that they provide for these animals to live in that they really care about how they spend their lives. This sanctuary/home meets the animals' specific needs not only environmentally and nutritionally, but also physically for their exercise and well-being. We have watched the animals flourish under their care. I cannot say enough great things about how they treat these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes would come through money and that would be to expand their capabilities and surroundings for the care of more animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Not only have I donated to this wonderful sanctuary for exotics, I have visited the site. I found the staff entirely committed to providing wonderful and beautiful new permanent homes for their residents, some with heartbreaking histories. Not only are the animals provided with a new home, they are provided with great enrichment programs and medical care. The residents, often for the first time, are allowed to be what they are...a big cat gets to act like a big cat, a bear gets to act like a bear. They are not there to meet some need of human society. Instead, they are given sanctuary from just that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure the sanctuary always had all the funding it needs in order to continue to care for animals in need

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

The staff and volunteers are totally dedicated and passionate about providing the highest quality care for their animals. The facilities, work ethic, and emphasis on safety and education are exceptional. They truly provide a better life for many animals that have been the unfortunate victims of selfish, thoughtless human actions. IEFS works diligently to educate the public on respecting wild animals so they are not needlessly brought into lives in captivity or forced to be put down because people want wild animals as pets. The incredible devotion of the staff shows in every aspect of the organization and they should serve as a model for not just non-profits in this area, but for all non-profits that strive to set the highest standards for work and education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

IEFS is an awesome non-profit that is full of caring and knowledgeable individuals who want the best for all of the residents. Each animal has a specific diet crafted just for them. The residents are treated with awe as well as respect. IEFS provides Lions, Tigers and Bears (OH MY!), the best nutrition and care. Enrichment is provided as well so the animals are never bored. All you need to do is visit just once and you can see what a fabulous sanctuary they have created and how well organized it is.

I have donated financially as well as with pumpkins and I know that both gifts were equallly appreciated by the cats and the humans!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Buy more land so that each animal could have more space and more animals could be accomodated

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

The number one priority of the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary is to provide a permanent safe home for animals that have most likely been neglected or abandoned. This sanctuary was built for the animals, and the staff continue to ensure that the animals' needs come first. The respect and care that the staff shares with the animals is amazing. Come for a tour and see the sanctuary that these animals now call home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

This sanctuary is very impressive in terms of the quality of care each animal receives. This includes not only feeding but emotional care as well. Everything that is done is based solely for the well being of each individual and the safety of the animals, staff, volunteers, and guests. From the perspective of an intern, the experience gained here can only be beneficial and one can learn as much as one desires. It is a huge stepping stone for this career field and one will quickly learn their limitations and if this career is for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

I am an intern here at the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary. I am very proud to say that I have chosen a great animal facility to work at for many reasons. The staff, including the animal keepers, behaviorist, and director, are very knowledgeable about each exotic animal housed here and strives to provide a stress-free and safe environment for each animal. The staff is very serious about the safety policies for both themselves, the public, and the interns so that any mistakes, minor or major, are and will be avoided. They are very specific in their training methods and expect the interns to learn and work quickly, but efficiently. Some things that I admire the most about the sanctuary is that each habitat is large enough so that the animals do not feel constricted, there are many enrichment items to keep the animals occupied and happy, and that so much effort is put into reducing the stress and anxiety of each animals after they are brought into the facility. The emotional and behavioral enrichment methods have made animals that were once abused by previous owners and came to the facility as easily agitated beings into friendly and calm animals. I am excited to continue my journey at IEAS and learn many new things about exotic felines and the work and dedication it takes to becoming a zookeeper!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 23, 2012

IEAS is my favorite place of all time! I'm so pleased that, years ago, I discovered its proximity to my house. After touring several times, I truly wanted to have a connection with this spectacular ... more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If you love animals, this is the place to be! If you don't love animals, please take a tour and see how you feel about them afterward. The animals at IEAS are beautiful, happy, and certainly well-cared for . . . all of which they deserve after the lives they were forced to live before coming to their forever home. The sanctuary staff is fully knowledgeable, the habitats are spacious and clean, and everything possible is done to educate the public about conservation. The great enrichment program ensures that the animals have emotional, as well as physical, care. I will continue to volunteer at IEAS as long as possible because it is such a meaningful and pleasant experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

IEAS is my favorite place of all time! I'm so pleased that, years ago, I discovered its proximity to my house. After touring several times, I truly wanted to have a connection with this spectacular facility and its beautiful, well-cared-for animals . . . so I became a volunteer. If exotic animals don't have the option of being free and living in their natural habitats, IEAS is the next best place for them to live out their lives. The welfare of every creature there is top priority and the sanctuary provides such a terrific opportunity for the general public to learn more about each of the species and the importance of conservation. I am very grateful to be having this experience of getting to know these animals - they have personality and SOUL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

It is my pleasure and privilege to be a volunteer at IEAS. The occasions when I'm there visiting my adopted bobcat, chatting with staff members, photographing the animals, and taking inventory on items I provide for the gift shop - - well, those times are significant highlights in my life. The animals and their habitats are very well-cared for, and taking a tour of this superb facility is an excellent opportunity to learn why exotic/wild animals should NOT be pets. You will hear stories of how many of the residents got to IEAS . . . and they will break your heart. But the whole experience of the sanctuary is very uplifting and I can't think of a better place to spend time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2011

What a fantastic, marvelous organization! I have been to IEAS multiple times and am so impressed with the whole operation! Tours are full of information about the individual animals themselves, the history of why they came to the sanctuary, and what their care involves. All staff and employees - from the manager, to the interns, to the gift store supervisor, etc. - are knowledgeable and informed about each animal. Habitats are spacious and provide a natural setting (with pools and trees) for each particular species, allowing the inhabitants to exist in an environment as close as possible to the wild. They are offered enrichment items such as pumpkins, tires, swings, balls, slides, and see-saws to stimulate activity. The diets are programmed to the nutritional needs of each animal and there is a veterinary clinic on the site. If a wild animal has to be in captivity for some unfortunate reason, this is the place to be! My reaction to each of my visits has been "I really want to be a part of this experience in some way!"

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have always been a lover and respecter of all animals, and I consider it an honor and privilege to be able sit with my adopted bobcat and be allowed to take photos of the bear cubs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to reach a greater number of people to educate about the dangers wild animals are subjected to in today's world. And educate in a way that would arouse compassion for these animals and a willingness to support facilities like IEAS that can meet the needs of abused, neglected, and orphaned sentient beings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

From a friend who was a volunteer.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers