Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
269 Reviews
1234.921935
| 1 ... 3 4 5...26 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been going to the feline sanctuary for a number of years now. The passion they have for their mission and purpose is all encompassing and infectious for all members and visitors there. Their goal to provide a comfortable life for animals that are rapidly disappearing from the wild is rare, and their pursue with all ambition and ability. Sadly, in our lives places like these will be the only places in the world to see such beautiful animals. They are protecting marvels of the wild for generations to see and experience, while providing a home to the animals that have been miscared or abused. The people there are committed and kind, and this is a truly fantastic non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Their intern program is top notch and their emotional enrichment program helps the animals stay healthy in all ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been supporting this charity ever since I visited there many, many years ago. I am a cat lover, from the smallest to the largest, and at the time I visited back in the early 1990''s all they had were exotic cats who had been purchased as pets and then - well - we all know what happens. Some were also injured and couldn't be in a zoo or returned to the wild for other reasons. When I took a tour of this place I knew that very special and loving people were involved in it. They were working hard to get donations to make bigger and better habitats, and provide more emotional and physical stimulation for these cats. They have continued this work and done great things since then, and now have even added bears! I now live in the mountains of New Mexico and have had many bears coming through my yard. Most of the people up here are afraid of the bears and see them and nuicances and dangers. I see them very differently and I know that the state of New Mexico routinely kills approx. 600 bears every year - and that is not all during bear hunting season. It makes me so happy to know that some of the orphan bears are being taken in and cared for by IEAS so that when they are all gone in the wild, thanks to the ignorance and selfishness of people - my great granchildrean will get to see bears in a happy and stimulating habitat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of changes I would make to the organization itself, it seems to be well-run and successful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

We have donated to this wonderful place for many years now. It has been quite a few years since we have visited, but we are kept apprised of their accomplishments, additions, and animals through newsletters and their website. I have first-hand met some of their employees and interns and they really care about the happiness and fulfillment of life of these animals. It is apparent from the natural surroundings that they provide for these animals to live in that they really care about how they spend their lives. This sanctuary/home meets the animals' specific needs not only environmentally and nutritionally, but also physically for their exercise and well-being. We have watched the animals flourish under their care. I cannot say enough great things about how they treat these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes would come through money and that would be to expand their capabilities and surroundings for the care of more animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Not only have I donated to this wonderful sanctuary for exotics, I have visited the site. I found the staff entirely committed to providing wonderful and beautiful new permanent homes for their residents, some with heartbreaking histories. Not only are the animals provided with a new home, they are provided with great enrichment programs and medical care. The residents, often for the first time, are allowed to be what they are...a big cat gets to act like a big cat, a bear gets to act like a bear. They are not there to meet some need of human society. Instead, they are given sanctuary from just that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure the sanctuary always had all the funding it needs in order to continue to care for animals in need

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

The staff and volunteers are totally dedicated and passionate about providing the highest quality care for their animals. The facilities, work ethic, and emphasis on safety and education are exceptional. They truly provide a better life for many animals that have been the unfortunate victims of selfish, thoughtless human actions. IEFS works diligently to educate the public on respecting wild animals so they are not needlessly brought into lives in captivity or forced to be put down because people want wild animals as pets. The incredible devotion of the staff shows in every aspect of the organization and they should serve as a model for not just non-profits in this area, but for all non-profits that strive to set the highest standards for work and education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

IEFS is an awesome non-profit that is full of caring and knowledgeable individuals who want the best for all of the residents. Each animal has a specific diet crafted just for them. The residents are treated with awe as well as respect. IEFS provides Lions, Tigers and Bears (OH MY!), the best nutrition and care. Enrichment is provided as well so the animals are never bored. All you need to do is visit just once and you can see what a fabulous sanctuary they have created and how well organized it is.

I have donated financially as well as with pumpkins and I know that both gifts were equallly appreciated by the cats and the humans!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Buy more land so that each animal could have more space and more animals could be accomodated

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

The number one priority of the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary is to provide a permanent safe home for animals that have most likely been neglected or abandoned. This sanctuary was built for the animals, and the staff continue to ensure that the animals' needs come first. The respect and care that the staff shares with the animals is amazing. Come for a tour and see the sanctuary that these animals now call home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

This sanctuary is very impressive in terms of the quality of care each animal receives. This includes not only feeding but emotional care as well. Everything that is done is based solely for the well being of each individual and the safety of the animals, staff, volunteers, and guests. From the perspective of an intern, the experience gained here can only be beneficial and one can learn as much as one desires. It is a huge stepping stone for this career field and one will quickly learn their limitations and if this career is for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

I am an intern here at the International Exotic Animal Sanctuary. I am very proud to say that I have chosen a great animal facility to work at for many reasons. The staff, including the animal keepers, behaviorist, and director, are very knowledgeable about each exotic animal housed here and strives to provide a stress-free and safe environment for each animal. The staff is very serious about the safety policies for both themselves, the public, and the interns so that any mistakes, minor or major, are and will be avoided. They are very specific in their training methods and expect the interns to learn and work quickly, but efficiently. Some things that I admire the most about the sanctuary is that each habitat is large enough so that the animals do not feel constricted, there are many enrichment items to keep the animals occupied and happy, and that so much effort is put into reducing the stress and anxiety of each animals after they are brought into the facility. The emotional and behavioral enrichment methods have made animals that were once abused by previous owners and came to the facility as easily agitated beings into friendly and calm animals. I am excited to continue my journey at IEAS and learn many new things about exotic felines and the work and dedication it takes to becoming a zookeeper!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers