Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
273 Reviews
1234.915755
Write A Review
December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS. I have only been here a couple of weeks and I already have a huge amount of respect for this place and all the people that work here. The work is long and extremely tiring, but so rewarding. This place puts the animals first for everything, unlike at a zoo. During tours, if an animal gets agitated, the tour will either not go by that animal or not stop by them. Everything is done to ensure the least amount of stress on all the animals. IEAS doesn't have a ton of people to rely on getting everything done, less than fifteen people, including interns, do it all. If you want to be an intern, expect to work hard, right away. This is a great organization, run by people who really care about the animals there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 15, 2013

more

December 15, 2013

I am currently an intern here at IEAS and over the past three months have learnt a great deal about caring for exotic felines and bears and also what it takes to keep a sanctuary like IEAS running. This is indeed truly a sanctuary for these previously abused and neglected animals and everyone works very hard to provide them with a relaxing, comfortable, and peaceful place to live. Every animal is treated as an individual and a lot thought and planning goes into making sure each of them receives the care that is right for them. The animals are fed well balanced nutritious diets and are provided with spacious naturalistic habitats with trees, pools and perches. Especially the Bear Orphanage is one of its kind with 10 acres of forested land for the bears to roam around and dig dens and live as free as they can in captivity. IEAS is not a zoo so the animals are never forced to be on display and everything is done to make sure they don't have to feel agited or stressed. Those animals who yearn for company and attention are part of the unique Emotional Enrichment Program that caters for the animals' emotional needs by offering them comfort and security. Staff, interns and volunteers participate in this program by sitting with the animals safely on the other side of the fence. This is truly an amazing place and I would highly recommend to everyone to come out on one of the educational tours and visit the amazing animals that call IEAS home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS and it has been an amazing learning experience thus far. The staff here is extremely knowledgeable about each individual animal and they strive to provide each one with the best possible care. Everything including their diet, habitat, physical well-being, and emotional well-being are taken into account during the day to day operations so that each animal is content and stress-free. With 77 animals in their care this is no easy task, but the Sanctuary is run very efficiently while still maintaining safety as their number one priority. I've learned so much during the first half of this internship and I am so grateful to the IEAS staff for running such a great internship program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If you are a big cat, bear or other exotic animal, then IEAS is the place to be. You'll get top notch nutrition, spacious living quarters, toys to play with and qualified individuals constantly looking out for your health and well-being.

And if you are looking for a nice place to visit,
by all means stop by and take a guided tour of this tree-filled, park-like facility filled with beautiful big cats, bears and other amazing animals.

However... If you are a prospective intern or volunteer, think twice before setting foot in this place. In many cases the interns are treated harshly, and from what I heard it wasn't much better for the volunteer help. If you don't stack up precisely to their very high standards, they will treat you "accordingly". There was much favoritism- those not favored by the staff would be given the dirtier, harder jobs while those that they liked were chosen to help with or observe things that the others didn't get to do. Even asking a simple, reasonable question or getting confused when you're doing something can get you a look of contempt or getting snapped at. In a nutshell: after the "training period", *everything* should be second nature to you and there shouldn't be any questions. Don't even get me started on making mistakes (which, last time I checked, we all do as humans...).This makes for a very anxious and stress-filled 3 months for an IEAS intern. It really is an environment of fear.

I thought an internship was a learning experience, where one is supported and encouraged while they gain skills and knowledge for their desired career path. Instead, it is like bootcamp. They paint the picture that all is happy and harmonious on the surface, but underneath- what the public doesn't see- is tension and angst.

I don't write this to try to 'bring down' this organization. For the most part, they do good work. It's just sad that they can't treat people as well as they treat their animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat people better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I found the sanctuary several years ago and have been a supporter ever since. It is one of the most amazing places because of the wonderful rescue and rehabilitation work and the hands on training it provides for the interns every year, who receive real world practical application of caring for and studying large animals. The visitor experience is equally rewarding as the guides take special care to instruct visitors on the needs and sensitivities of each animal. The habitats are spacious, clean and have plenty of stimulating "toys" to keep the animals healthy in mind and body.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them even more land to expand so they could help even more animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

My husband worked for National Audubon as an educator for 35 years and continues to serve as an environmental consultant. I am a retired science teacher and environmental educator. During a visit to my sister's home in Fort Worth, I had the opportunity to visit IEAS and tour the facility. What an amazing place! Thank you for caring for these species that humans have put in danger and for providing as normal a setting as possible for their living environment. My sister, Carolyn, is a great supporter of yours and after my visit, I understand her support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

IEAS is a great place. I am currently an intern here. This sanctuary takes excellent care of their animals and puts their needs above everything else. I love that they cater to the animals' emotional needs. Their Emotional Enrichment program is awesome and unique, and their habitats are beautiful and spacious. The staff here are very hard workers and work very efficiently. All of the animals here seem very happy and comfortable, which they definitely deserve after the lives they had previous to their arrival here. I highly recommend that everyone visit this amazing sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

IEAS is a great place, I am currently enrolled in their intern program. Their safety protocol is the best and the care that the animal receive is above and beyond any other place that I have worked. IEAS is run efficiently and I love that the animals emotional health is considered along with their physical health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS and the staff is incredibly knowledgable. They know all the animals on a deeply personal level and are very accomodating to the needs of even the quirkiest of animals. An amazing group of people working with a truly astounding group of animals. Far exceeds any expectation I had or could've had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Upon visiting IEFS, my husband (a veterinarian)and I were impressed with the level of care and the physical condition of all the animals there. Pens were clean, enrichment items were in lots of enclosures, and residents seemed at peace and interested in the visitors. Safety of care givers and visitors was clearly present. I currently receive the email newsletter. I love the positive community outreach-invitations to visit and get involved. And, I enjoy the personal background stories about the animals origin, and how it came to be at IEFS. I am concerned about conservation of the worlds wildlife, and the end result of our exotic pet trade. It's obvious by the growing number of residents that we have a problem with exotic pets in the US. Sanctuaries provide a life of dignity to an animal whose return to the wild is not possible. I choose to visit in honor of our anniversary or birthdays, and support the work they are doing here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe offer private tours or visit packages in conjunction with local businesses, to raise funds and awareness. Create an exciting photographic campaign and partner with the Texas Motor Speedway (close proximity&high exposure) to reach people..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers