Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
261 Reviews
1234.919545
| 1 2 3...25 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS and it has been an amazing learning experience thus far. The staff here is extremely knowledgeable about each individual animal and they strive to provide each one with the best possible care. Everything including their diet, habitat, physical well-being, and emotional well-being are taken into account during the day to day operations so that each animal is content and stress-free. With 77 animals in their care this is no easy task, but the Sanctuary is run very efficiently while still maintaining safety as their number one priority. I've learned so much during the first half of this internship and I am so grateful to the IEAS staff for running such a great internship program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If you are a big cat, bear or other exotic animal, then IEAS is the place to be. You'll get top notch nutrition, spacious living quarters, toys to play with and qualified individuals constantly looking out for your health and well-being.

And if you are looking for a nice place to visit,
by all means stop by and take a guided tour of this tree-filled, park-like facility filled with beautiful big cats, bears and other amazing animals.

However... If you are a prospective intern or volunteer, think twice before setting foot in this place. In many cases the interns are treated harshly, and from what I heard it wasn't much better for the volunteer help. If you don't stack up precisely to their very high standards, they will treat you "accordingly". There was much favoritism- those not favored by the staff would be given the dirtier, harder jobs while those that they liked were chosen to help with or observe things that the others didn't get to do. Even asking a simple, reasonable question or getting confused when you're doing something can get you a look of contempt or getting snapped at. In a nutshell: after the "training period", *everything* should be second nature to you and there shouldn't be any questions. Don't even get me started on making mistakes (which, last time I checked, we all do as humans...).This makes for a very anxious and stress-filled 3 months for an IEAS intern. It really is an environment of fear.

I thought an internship was a learning experience, where one is supported and encouraged while they gain skills and knowledge for their desired career path. Instead, it is like bootcamp. They paint the picture that all is happy and harmonious on the surface, but underneath- what the public doesn't see- is tension and angst.

I don't write this to try to 'bring down' this organization. For the most part, they do good work. It's just sad that they can't treat people as well as they treat their animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat people better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I found the sanctuary several years ago and have been a supporter ever since. It is one of the most amazing places because of the wonderful rescue and rehabilitation work and the hands on training it provides for the interns every year, who receive real world practical application of caring for and studying large animals. The visitor experience is equally rewarding as the guides take special care to instruct visitors on the needs and sensitivities of each animal. The habitats are spacious, clean and have plenty of stimulating "toys" to keep the animals healthy in mind and body.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them even more land to expand so they could help even more animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

My husband worked for National Audubon as an educator for 35 years and continues to serve as an environmental consultant. I am a retired science teacher and environmental educator. During a visit to my sister's home in Fort Worth, I had the opportunity to visit IEAS and tour the facility. What an amazing place! Thank you for caring for these species that humans have put in danger and for providing as normal a setting as possible for their living environment. My sister, Carolyn, is a great supporter of yours and after my visit, I understand her support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

IEAS is a great place. I am currently an intern here. This sanctuary takes excellent care of their animals and puts their needs above everything else. I love that they cater to the animals' emotional needs. Their Emotional Enrichment program is awesome and unique, and their habitats are beautiful and spacious. The staff here are very hard workers and work very efficiently. All of the animals here seem very happy and comfortable, which they definitely deserve after the lives they had previous to their arrival here. I highly recommend that everyone visit this amazing sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

IEAS is a great place, I am currently enrolled in their intern program. Their safety protocol is the best and the care that the animal receive is above and beyond any other place that I have worked. IEAS is run efficiently and I love that the animals emotional health is considered along with their physical health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS and the staff is incredibly knowledgable. They know all the animals on a deeply personal level and are very accomodating to the needs of even the quirkiest of animals. An amazing group of people working with a truly astounding group of animals. Far exceeds any expectation I had or could've had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Upon visiting IEFS, my husband (a veterinarian)and I were impressed with the level of care and the physical condition of all the animals there. Pens were clean, enrichment items were in lots of enclosures, and residents seemed at peace and interested in the visitors. Safety of care givers and visitors was clearly present. I currently receive the email newsletter. I love the positive community outreach-invitations to visit and get involved. And, I enjoy the personal background stories about the animals origin, and how it came to be at IEFS. I am concerned about conservation of the worlds wildlife, and the end result of our exotic pet trade. It's obvious by the growing number of residents that we have a problem with exotic pets in the US. Sanctuaries provide a life of dignity to an animal whose return to the wild is not possible. I choose to visit in honor of our anniversary or birthdays, and support the work they are doing here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe offer private tours or visit packages in conjunction with local businesses, to raise funds and awareness. Create an exciting photographic campaign and partner with the Texas Motor Speedway (close proximity&high exposure) to reach people..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

It's wonderful how this sanctuary takes care of all of their animals with the most respect toward the animal's well-being. The animals appear to enjoy their home by the expressions on their faces and through their body language. These animals got a second chance to live the life as they were meant to be. A wonderful sanctuary to take them all in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind, except a quip of planting money trees, so they never have to worry about money to keep this sanctuary running the way it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

You can never say enough about a group of people who volunteer their time to take care of beautiful creatures that mankind decided to use and abuse for their own entertainment.

The sanctuary has given these regal animals their life back, and gives them the ability to live their lives the
way the earth has intended, with respect, dignity and everything they could possibly need.

IEAS is working on erasing the negative impact that man has created, giving them back their sense of pride. What could be more important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers