Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
261 Reviews
1234.919545
Previous | 1 2 3...25 |
Write A Review
January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

I visited my sister-in-law during her time at IEAS and was so impressed by the quality of care these animals receive. Not only are they treated incredibly well and deeply cared for, the interns all make it a point to know the animals on a deeper level. Interns provide tours to the public, and their level of knowledge about these animals, their environments, their temperaments, and their stories blew me away. The animals are all blessed by the dedication and care of all the staff at IEAS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2014

more

January 19, 2014

My daughter worked as a intern at this facility last march and now is back as an assistant keeper. We had the pleasure of visiting her and the sanctuary. The animals are wonderful! They are very well taken care of and they take pleasure in seeing their caretakers. It was amazing to hear the tigers "chuff" at us as we came up to their habitats. It is an experience that you never get to have in a Zoo type setting. All of the animal caregivers were very knowledgeable on the animals and their care. Titian even gave us a little show as he rolled his ball up the hill. I have been telling everyone about the great experience I had there.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 11, 2013

As an intern at IEAS, I take great pride in the work that that the sanctuary does. I am honored to be a part of the amazing work that they do there. It is immediately apparent that their animals are v... more

January 15, 2014

The animals at the Sanctuary are very well taken care if and content. You can tell that they enjoy having IEAS as their 'forever' home. If you are ever in the neighborhood you should definitely stop by for a tour and let us show you what satisfied, happy cats and bears look like!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 11, 2013

As an intern at IEAS, I take great pride in the work that that the sanctuary does. I am honored to be a part of the amazing work that they do there. It is immediately apparent that their animals are very happy to be where they are and well taken care of. If you have a chance to come check out this great facility you should!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2014

more

January 14, 2014

I am an intern at IEAS and I'm so happy to be a part of this team! I learn something new every day and I'm looking forward to the rest of my time here. Not only am I learning a ton about animal care, but I'm also learning many other aspects of being a keeper, like maintenance and repair, enrichment, writing grants and proposals, and interacting with the public through tours. At IEAS, the animals' needs always come first and they receive the best care. I'm thankful and proud to be a part of this organization and would highly recommend this internship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014

more

January 14, 2014

As an intern currently working at IEAS and I can honestly say that I've learned more about animal care working here than anywhere else. If you are looking to pursue a career in this field, then this is the place to be. It is difficult to find an internship in animal care anywhere which will provide a stipend and housing, I consider myself lucky to work at a facility which does and is AZA certified. Whether you come to the Sanctuary as a volunteer, intern or just to take a guided tour of the place, you are sure to walk away knowing more than you did coming in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014

more

January 14, 2014

I am currently an intern here at IEAS and am happy to be here. The sanctuary is consistently meeting their mission and continuing to strive to provide the best care for the animals here and uphold education through the intern program and through tours.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I'm currently an intern here and during the last three and a half months I've learned more information about animal care, daily operations, and even basic yard care than I ever could have imagined. The people that care for these animals on a daily basis truly have the animal's welfare at the forefront of their minds. Everything we do here is 100 percent for the animals. We keep their agitation and stress to an absolute minimum and we make sure their emotional needs are being met with our Emotional Enrichment Program. We show them comfort and security in ourselves so they feel comfortable in their environment. The staff here is extremely knowledgeable and truly love their animal family. They have been so helpful helping interns reach their potential in this field.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS and I am very proud to work for an organization that takes such exceptional care of its animals. Every animal here is treated as an individual and careful thought and consideration is taken to assure that every animal receives everything they need in a stressfree way. This is a great organization that truly cares about its animals and does everything to make their lives better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I am currently an intern at IEAS. I have only been here a couple of weeks and I already have a huge amount of respect for this place and all the people that work here. The work is long and extremely tiring, but so rewarding. This place puts the animals first for everything, unlike at a zoo. During tours, if an animal gets agitated, the tour will either not go by that animal or not stop by them. Everything is done to ensure the least amount of stress on all the animals. IEAS doesn't have a ton of people to rely on getting everything done, less than fifteen people, including interns, do it all. If you want to be an intern, expect to work hard, right away. This is a great organization, run by people who really care about the animals there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 15, 2013

more

December 15, 2013

I am currently an intern here at IEAS and over the past three months have learnt a great deal about caring for exotic felines and bears and also what it takes to keep a sanctuary like IEAS running. This is indeed truly a sanctuary for these previously abused and neglected animals and everyone works very hard to provide them with a relaxing, comfortable, and peaceful place to live. Every animal is treated as an individual and a lot thought and planning goes into making sure each of them receives the care that is right for them. The animals are fed well balanced nutritious diets and are provided with spacious naturalistic habitats with trees, pools and perches. Especially the Bear Orphanage is one of its kind with 10 acres of forested land for the bears to roam around and dig dens and live as free as they can in captivity. IEAS is not a zoo so the animals are never forced to be on display and everything is done to make sure they don't have to feel agited or stressed. Those animals who yearn for company and attention are part of the unique Emotional Enrichment Program that caters for the animals' emotional needs by offering them comfort and security. Staff, interns and volunteers participate in this program by sitting with the animals safely on the other side of the fence. This is truly an amazing place and I would highly recommend to everyone to come out on one of the educational tours and visit the amazing animals that call IEAS home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...25 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers