Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
277 Reviews
1234.916975
Write A Review
March 29, 2015

more

March 29, 2015

This place is great. It looks far away on a map, but it doesn't take long to get to, and is easy to find. The young lady conducting the tour was knowledgable and a real treat. The facilities are well kept and everything looks very well taken care of. Definitely find time to visit the cats.
March 8, 2015

more

March 8, 2015

I just began interning at IEAS and I am amazed by the sanctuary. The enclosures are incredible, the animals are beautiful, and the staff is amazing! Here at IEAS the animals come first and that is very important to me. It is great being a part of an environment where people truly care for and respect the animals. Interning here is an amazing opportunity and if anyone wants a great education in animal care, this is the place to apply for an internship.
March 8, 2015

more

March 8, 2015

I've been an intern here at the sanctuary for the past week and it's already beyond any sanctuary I've ever been to. With habitats far exceeding the sizes required by AZA standards and each habitat having a nice house for the animal, a large pool (for those that want them), and plenty of toys, it definitely is a sanctuary for the animals. Many of them have come from difficult pasts and it's truly a great feeling seeing them content and relaxed in their homes here at the sanctuary.
March 2, 2015

more

March 2, 2015

I am an intern here at IEAS and I have to say that this place is truly amazing! If you are looking for an internship, you need to apply here. I wake up and go to bed everyday seeing amazing animals and being surrounded by the most kind hearted people. Yes, it is a lot of work, but at the end of the day, this is the experience of a lifetime!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

As a new intern that has only been working at this facility for 5 days, I can already say that this sanctuary is definitely one of a kind. It is run by passionate animal lovers and experts in the field that know exactly what these exotic species need. These animals seem truly happy and I'm glad I can be a part of making their lives better than they were prior to being rescued.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

Upon arriving at this facility as a new intern, I was impressed by the beautiful, spacious habitats. By far, this facility offers one of the most desirable internships I have ever seen since they give their interns a stipend, housing, and even a vehicle to use. If this wasn't enough, I know that this internship will provide me with an extensive amount of valuable experience working with large carnivores and other exotics. Upon touring this facility, I was not disappointed in anything I saw. They have put a considerable amount of work into making sure each animal they rescue and take in is in a more than suitable enclosure with plenty of natural and emotional enrichment. I am truly impressed by all that this sanctuary is able to do for the animals and every person associated with it.
August 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following the Sanctuary via internet for 2-3 years now, and today I was able to see the animals in person. It was amazing! It is devastating to hear where these animals come from, but it is wonderful to see how well they are able to live now, in a secure home where they are treated with kindness and respect. The tour was great. It was very cool to see these animals up close.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I found this facility when looking for jobs/internships on the AZA website. Wanting to work with carnivores i felt that this will be a good experience for me, but I didnt know much about this facility before applying. And today I took my first walk around the sanctuary with a walking tour, and I have to say that I am impressed with the enclosures and how the animals lives changed after being brought here. It was a bit difficult to see all the animals on tour, but that is a good thing, allowing the animals to hide or be seen on their terms. Each enclosure was tailored to each species needs.
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 12, 2012

I first visited the sanctuary when it was Exotic Feline Sanctuary and was being run by a very nice woman with wonderful intentions. That must have been about 20 years ago. I have since continued don... more

July 31, 2014

I have been visiting this sanctuary since 1990. It has always maintained a wonderful, clean and caring environment for the abused big cats that are fortunate enough to leave their life of abuse behind and now call this sanctuary home. The tours are always given by kind, knowledgeable volunteers. The staff is also caring and very knowledgeable. They originally offered sanctuary to exotic cats only, but now give sanctuary to bears. Try to go during the spring or fall, even a good day in the winter, when the weather is cooler and the animals are more active. I truly praise the work that is done here. I also enjoy donating to this organization as I truly love the big cats and know that my donations will go to improve their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find a way to have more fund raiser or something so they can do even more for the animals and take in even more exotics who need sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

I first visited the sanctuary when it was Exotic Feline Sanctuary and was being run by a very nice woman with wonderful intentions. That must have been about 20 years ago. I have since continued donating and visiting the sanctuary throughout its changes and have watched it become even better. It is so wonderful to see formerly abused exotic animals (especially the big cats, which are my favorite) finally find the peace and happiness they deserve. I am so proud to be a supporter of a place that obviously has a great love for the animals in its care. The workers there are amazing and truly have a devotion to the animals. It is so great to see the animals in natural surroundings and also being treated with the utmost respect. This is definitely a nonprofit worth supporting if you desire to help protect and care for these very special animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It has made me more aware of the plight of abused and abandoned exotic animals. They even have a snow leopard that is part of the DNA matching program for reproductive purposes of this magnificent, endangered big cat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can expand and do even more wonderful tings for these animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

About 20 years ago in a newspaper article.

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As an intern, I've seen first hand just how much work goes into keeping all of the animals at IEAS happy and healthy. They strive to provide the best for the animals and everything done here is done for them. I am proud to have the opportunity to work with people who care so much about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers