Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
273 Reviews
1234.915755
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

As a new intern that has only been working at this facility for 5 days, I can already say that this sanctuary is definitely one of a kind. It is run by passionate animal lovers and experts in the field that know exactly what these exotic species need. These animals seem truly happy and I'm glad I can be a part of making their lives better than they were prior to being rescued.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

Upon arriving at this facility as a new intern, I was impressed by the beautiful, spacious habitats. By far, this facility offers one of the most desirable internships I have ever seen since they give their interns a stipend, housing, and even a vehicle to use. If this wasn't enough, I know that this internship will provide me with an extensive amount of valuable experience working with large carnivores and other exotics. Upon touring this facility, I was not disappointed in anything I saw. They have put a considerable amount of work into making sure each animal they rescue and take in is in a more than suitable enclosure with plenty of natural and emotional enrichment. I am truly impressed by all that this sanctuary is able to do for the animals and every person associated with it.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I have been following the Sanctuary via internet for 2-3 years now, and today I was able to see the animals in person. It was amazing! It is devastating to hear where these animals come from, but it is wonderful to see how well they are able to live now, in a secure home where they are treated with kindness and respect. The tour was great. It was very cool to see these animals up close.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I found this facility when looking for jobs/internships on the AZA website. Wanting to work with carnivores i felt that this will be a good experience for me, but I didnt know much about this facility before applying. And today I took my first walk around the sanctuary with a walking tour, and I have to say that I am impressed with the enclosures and how the animals lives changed after being brought here. It was a bit difficult to see all the animals on tour, but that is a good thing, allowing the animals to hide or be seen on their terms. Each enclosure was tailored to each species needs.
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 12, 2012

I first visited the sanctuary when it was Exotic Feline Sanctuary and was being run by a very nice woman with wonderful intentions. That must have been about 20 years ago. I have since continued don... more

July 31, 2014

I have been visiting this sanctuary since 1990. It has always maintained a wonderful, clean and caring environment for the abused big cats that are fortunate enough to leave their life of abuse behind and now call this sanctuary home. The tours are always given by kind, knowledgeable volunteers. The staff is also caring and very knowledgeable. They originally offered sanctuary to exotic cats only, but now give sanctuary to bears. Try to go during the spring or fall, even a good day in the winter, when the weather is cooler and the animals are more active. I truly praise the work that is done here. I also enjoy donating to this organization as I truly love the big cats and know that my donations will go to improve their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find a way to have more fund raiser or something so they can do even more for the animals and take in even more exotics who need sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

I first visited the sanctuary when it was Exotic Feline Sanctuary and was being run by a very nice woman with wonderful intentions. That must have been about 20 years ago. I have since continued donating and visiting the sanctuary throughout its changes and have watched it become even better. It is so wonderful to see formerly abused exotic animals (especially the big cats, which are my favorite) finally find the peace and happiness they deserve. I am so proud to be a supporter of a place that obviously has a great love for the animals in its care. The workers there are amazing and truly have a devotion to the animals. It is so great to see the animals in natural surroundings and also being treated with the utmost respect. This is definitely a nonprofit worth supporting if you desire to help protect and care for these very special animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It has made me more aware of the plight of abused and abandoned exotic animals. They even have a snow leopard that is part of the DNA matching program for reproductive purposes of this magnificent, endangered big cat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can expand and do even more wonderful tings for these animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

About 20 years ago in a newspaper article.

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As an intern, I've seen first hand just how much work goes into keeping all of the animals at IEAS happy and healthy. They strive to provide the best for the animals and everything done here is done for them. I am proud to have the opportunity to work with people who care so much about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

While I have visited and interned at a number of other sanctuaries, this one is by far the best! I've always had a strong passion for the well-being of animals, especially big cats and bears, and this sanctuary meets every high standard I set. I'm very honored to have been selected to intern here, as it is the exact kind of facility that I'm hoping to get hired on at. Everything here is 100% about the animals, and it really shows when you see how content the animals are in their habitats here. While it is a lot of hard work, it's very rewarding, and seeing their precious faces every day make it all worth it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not do anything :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As an intern, I get to see first hand how well these animals are taken care of. Everything that is done here is for the animals and I am grateful to be able to help care for them. You can tell that the animals are very happy here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

I am currently an intern here and let me tell you it is full of hard work and is very fast paced! This facility is dedicated to maintaining cleanliness and running smoothly. The animals are healthy and seem very happy in their habitats as well. There are so many amazing animals here with unique personalities that I am enjoying getting to know!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

This sanctuary is the best I have ever visited and is one of the few that is certified by the Association of Zoo and Aquariums, and I take pride in the fact that I am able to intern at this facility. The animals are extremely well cared for following Association of Zoos and Aquariums Husbandry Standards, so you know they are getting their nutritional needs met along with being kept in a habitat suited for that animals needs. The safety standards here are also designed to meet AZA requirements so you know when touring or working as a volunteer/intern they are always people double checking every lock and making sure the sanctuary is as safe and secure as possible. The grounds are also well maintained and aesthetically pleasing. The animals are very content with their environment and are always relaxed even when tour groups are walking by. The internship program is amazing and the staff really cares about teaching interns everything they can and giving them an opportunity to grow their knowledge and experience level while they are here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers