Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 13, 2014

more

February 13, 2014

The International Elephant Foundation is one of the few legitimate animal welfare charities that uses it's funds to actually help animals. Donations to IEF go to programs that affect animals and make a difference between conservation and extinction. They DO NOT misuse donations on press-seeking stunts, to pay protestors, or to lobby for legislation to ban human-animal interaction. I am so happy IEF is our there doing the real work to save elephants from extinction. I am proud to donate to them and to encourage others to support them as well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

As a professional who works with elephants in human care I appreciate all that IEF does to promote good welfare, science and husbandry of these incredible animals. IEF funds research into many aspects of elephant health and physiology. They are for the good care of these animals no matter where they are. IEF promotes good husbandry and education of keepers to better care for the elephants they work with every day. Everything about elephants is big including the opinions and passion that people from all walks of life have about and for these animals. IEF promotes science and conscious care, not emotional anthropomorphic messages that don't serve the animals' long term interest in captivity. The problems facing elephants in the wild means that captive conservation will become more and more important with every passing year if we as humans want to have these incredible species with us on our planet in the future. Good job IEF for how you fund your research and the causes your organization supports. For the elephants and those that care for them you guys do a good job.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

International Elephant Foundation has been key in linking range country conservation projects to supporters in their effort to help elephants all over the world. IEF also brings stakeholders together to develop strategies for assisting elephants. Major efforts inlcude workshops for elephant disease both in North America and in Asia. IEF is currently working to better forcus support to key conservation initiatives between donors and range country conservationists. No other organization has been as effective on so many different levels to help elephants.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

IEF helps elephants through conservation and research projects in their native countries. They do outreach and educational programs in these countries to get local communities more involved in learning about these magnificent animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 1, 2011

If you love elephants, you should support the great work of the International Elephant Foundation. Asian and African elephants around the world are benefitting from the support and efforts of this no... more

November 1, 2012

The International Elephant Foundation shares a common vision with committed individuals, professional elephant care experts and other professional elephant conservation organizations — a vision that includes elephants in the world’s future forever, both in human care and in the wild. I volunteer my time to the International Elephant Foundation because this organization is benefitting elephants around the world, both in situ and ex situ, through its conservation, research and education programs, to achieve this vision.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2011

If you love elephants, you should support the great work of the International Elephant Foundation. Asian and African elephants around the world are benefitting from the support and efforts of this non-profit conservation organization. IEF and the researchers and elephant caretakers it supports care deeply about elephants and are working tirelessly to save these threatened species from extinction.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a professional in the field of elephant conservation and a personal donor to IEF, I believe in IEF. IEF's support of an anti-poaching team in northern Kenya has led directly to a higher level of protection of African elephants and a decrease in illegal poaching of these magnificent animals. Their long-term commitment to this anti-poaching effort shows that IEF is dedicated to long-term sustainable conservation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I could tell everyone about IEF and about the great conservation and research it supports. With more support, IEF could do even more for elephants around the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Most of the funds donated to IEF are used to support elephant conservation and research projects and programs.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

IEF has a tremendous record of effective use of funds with extremely low overhead costs.With one paid employee and a host of volunteers, over 90% of each dollar goes to help conserve elephnts arounfd the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

This organization has contributed to over 2.6 million dollars to elephant conservation and research programs internationally - almost 90% of all funds raised go into these programs. IEF is supporting anti-poaching rangers in Kenya, Uganda, Zambia and Sumatra. Thousands of wildlife snares (which cruelly kill and maim) have been destroyed and human communities have been provided assistance to develop alternative sources of income to poaching and habitat destruction. IEF is well respected by their partners in elephant range countries and supporters around the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

The connection people have with elephants is immeasurable, but the contribution the International Elephant Foundation has made to elephants across the globe is HUGE. Unlike other animal charities that claim to care for animals but really have political agendas with no money going to actual animal care, the IEF has over 95% of its funds going towards elephants. Their projects help elephants in their range lands and in human care, and they are the only major animal charity doing anything to find a cure for EEHV--a disease that is killing 1 in 4 elephants! I cannot say enough great things about IEF and the work they do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 1, 2011

IEF is without a doubt one of the best NGOs working inbehalf of Asian and African elephants: their support in the field, medical research, and every worthwhile effort their budget can manage. Was intr... more

October 23, 2012

For those who care about elephants, here is a non profit organization that supports both African and Asian elephant projects benefiting wild populations, medical and field research, and educational opportunities in elephant range countries. Their total effort is toward elephants: today and their future tomorrow and I can see exactly where and how my support is used. Check out their website for yourself!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2011

IEF is without a doubt one of the best NGOs working inbehalf of Asian and African elephants: their support in the field, medical research, and every worthwhile effort their budget can manage.
Was introduced to them in 2003; their board members are both some of my best mentors and collaborators
to the work my small NGO, www.asianelephantsupport.org, is involved with. For example, concrete progress is being made in Sumatra and IEF led the way there in providing medical support and proper food for the elephants as well as initially helping with the mahouts' salaries. Now mahout and vet workshops for training in elephant care as well as educational and outreach efforts/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A call from vets on the ground in Sumatra to the IEF then through supporting zoos about a young male elephant in a very poor situation and needing to be moved quickly. Made aware of this, my son and I contributed the funds to get Harris (the elephant) to a camp where he would receive proper care. This was a few years ago, and my family has seen this elephant turn into a healthy bull, now helping his wild cousins by doing forest patrols.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes International Elephant Foundation needs iss more money, more money, more money - and possibly a few more exceptional, dedicated board or committee members who can work on the level of the present board/committees, to be able to expand their work to the many more Asian and African elephant situations that need vital and substantial support, ie, herpes research is probably among the most critical, not only for captive but also, we are seeing, for wild elephant Asian populations, too.

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I feel people need to realize that elephants are one of our most intelligent animals and treat them as such. The people that I know that take care of these marvelous creatures do so with love and care and try and educate people about them. Please support this anyway you can. Spreading the word is a great way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers