Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

IDEX is a special organization because of its cause and model of philanthropy. I have been a part of the IDEX Young Professionals Group Leadership team since the beginning of this year, and working with the passionate folks at IDEX has been very fulfilling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

IDEX is not just a grantmaking organization. It is the collective belief and passion of its exemplary staff, volunteers and supporters that makes it a movement. For nearly 30 years, IDEX has been transparently, respectfully, and steadfastly partnering with communities in the Global South and the numbers--more than a million lives reached--tell a strong tale.
I chose to volunteer my time at IDEX because I believe in its mission. Its story deserves to be told to a wider audience. Nobody here considers this just a job. And the difference shines through.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....shift it closer to my home! :) Presently, it is a 2-hour commute each way, but I choose to do it happily.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I have known and volunteered with IDEX through the Young Professionals Group for about a year, and I continue to be impressed with the work that the organization does to alleviate poverty. The staff is all very passionate about the work that they do for local populations and it's been great to see the results that they've worked towards. I believe that IDEX has a strong model and effectively supports grassroots efforts that are so key in international development. IDEX has really stood out to me as one of the best organizations I've been involved with of all the nonprofits I've volunteered and worked with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

IDEX is an incredible example of how we can successfully work above the status quo to offer financial support to passionate and capable individuals, groups and communities in the Global South. Their long-term partnerships and flexible lending provide opportunities to those entities to empower themselves and inspire others, while exemplifying a superb example of social change at the grassroots level. The IDEX team and board members operate like a family; they truly exemplify the connection, respect, and honesty that they then relay out into the communities that they work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

In the past many decades, humanitarian aid has saved many lives in a greater scale during emergencies caused by man made and natural disasters. Many good organizations, governments, and many individuals have dedicated their time and resources to assist communities with chronic problems. In these decades, we also witnessed social unrest, the severity of poverty, social and justice inequalities, environmental crises, the creation of urban slumps, population growth, many unjust wars, tribal conflicts, religious intolerance, border conflicts, and the expansion of HIV/AIDS, tropical diseases, frequent droughts, and natural disasters possibly caused by global warming. All can become worst if we continue neglecting the importance of empowering locals, and partnering with them shaping up their own destinies. IDEX seems to be in the right path providing basic solutions for bigger problems.

What made IDEX’s work very effective is the organization’s approach seeking local solutions through partnerships with grassroots organizations. I attended one of IDEX’s communities building initiative event in San Francisco, and I had a pleasure meeting, and discussing with community representatives from South Africa, Mali and Brazil. That evening, I went home knowing that there are organizations like IDEX genuinely caring with unweaving convictions to bring local solutions for sustainable development, and for social and economic justice. I would hope there methodology will be become infectious throughout the world. I believe every individual has a potential to contribute to the goodness of humanity. IDEX is bringing sustainable solutions one village at a time. I am extremely motivated by IDEX’s work and I feel very proud knowing that there are genuine organizations like IDEX.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

IDEX does not just rest of its solid 25-year history and laurels but under its dynamic ED and staff seeks to constantly push the frontier on how to make a difference in the world. I am continually amazed by the IDEX team’s drive, strong relationships with its grantee partners and innovative approach to grant making. This is a gem of an organization whose theory of change is embedded in local reality and need, which is why what they do really works.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

After being almost one year part of IDEX, I am very grateful to be surrounded by inspiring, engaged and enthusiastic colleagues! I am more than convinced of IDEX's model to address inequities. I hope to be with IDEX for as many years as possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I work in philanthropy because I want to make a difference in the world. IDEX is not only making a dramatic difference in the world, they are making a difference for the better in how philanthropy itself is done.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I was introduced to IDEX over a year ago and fell in love not only with the organizations mission and collaborative approach but with its people. The level of IDEX' commitment and passion for what they do is great. I am honored to be a part of such an organziation

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

IDEX is doing such wonderful work to make the world a better place by partnering with effective organizations already in place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers