Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
December 10, 2012

more

December 10, 2012

I have known about IDEX's estimable work for many years but it is only in the last two years that I have become a donor. In addition to the organization's mission, values and track record, I was attracted by IDEX's capable staff, especially, the Executive Director, Rajasvini Bhansali. I am inspired by her commitment and drive and because of her leadership, I trust that my contributions to the organization are put to their best use. Moreover, I have been impressed with IDEX's donor stewardship. This year, soon after making a donation, I received a personal note from the Executive Director as well as a phone call from a staff member to thank me for my contribution, to discuss with me how it would be used and to ask if I had any questions. I regularly contribute to many nonprofits but I have never received this level of personal interaction with the staff. IDEX can definitely count on me for continued support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

As a volunteer with IDEX on the leadership team for the Young Professionals Group, I have experience working with IDEX staff, board, and volunteers who operate in complete accordance with the mission, vision, and values of the organization. With each interaction and each event, conference, and month that passes, the organization continues to clearly implement well on their mission and draw more people to the social justice philanthropy movement that leads with grassroots community led solutions in developing countries. I am constantly impressed and proud to be associated with the International Development Exchange!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enable them to have increased resources for capacity-building, like most nonprofits need. In order to grow sustainabily, increased resources in communications and volunteer support would always be great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

International Development Exchange is just that -- a global learning exchange that promotes democratic partnerships between organizations in the Global North and Global South. IDEX has been rated very... more

October 17, 2013

IDEX is an incredible organization. It is useful to think about this organization as a university: it raises political consciousness, self-awareness, teaches you empathy and solidarity, exposes you to new ideas, and along the way fights the good fight for social justice and poverty alleviation. It is also a truly democratic and egalitarian organization, privileging the solutions, victories and voices of people and organizations in the Global South who are on the frontlines of change and have experienced injustice. I am privileged to have crossed paths with IDEX and I also thank IDEX for welcoming me to its community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

International Development Exchange is just that -- a global learning exchange that promotes democratic partnerships between organizations in the Global North and Global South. IDEX has been rated very highly by its partners in a recently completed external evaluation, which is a testament to its incredible work in addressing inequity and injustice worldwide. Our global community needs more IDEXs!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our world is full of suffering and injustice. As someone trying to do their part to make the world a more just, sustainable place I'm often riddled with doubts: Does anything we do actually make a difference? Aren't nonprofits on some level just perpetuating the status quo? What do I really have to offer to people in the Global South?

In light of this, working for IDEX has been equal parts enlightening, empowering, and inspiring.

Enlightening because IDEX made me realize that it's okay to not have all the answers, that no one does.
That we need to humbly listen.
And therein's lies the rub: IDEX listens - to its partners, to its volunteers, to the people on the ground most in need. And so it learns and grows the best practices for alleviating poverty. Because all change-work is exchange work, because we can't teach without learning, because we're all in this strange phenomenon called life on earth together and so we have to figure out together how to preserve it and how to make life worth living for all of us.

Empowering because IDEX is in the business of empowerment: Empowering women and local communities to help themselves, to not just give self-aggrandizing gestures of charity. And IDEX extends that same philosophy to its volunteers: I learned skills that will be useful wherever my path may take me.

In my personal life, my work at IDEX has inspired me to live a life where my passions, skills and desire to be a good person meet.
I don't have to choose between helping others and helping myself. Because how do I expect to help others if it's at the expense of my own well-being? Conversely, how do I expect to accomplish something greater than myself if all my actions are self-serving?

If you want to be a part of something honest and effective, something that actually affects people's lives in positive ways then get involved with IDEX. Do it right now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money if I could.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I start joining the IDEX YPG this year and it is an organization dedicated to social change and human justice, with an emphasis in partnership with the grassroots organizations. I'm glad that I could be a part of the organization to help them with such a great cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

When I think about organizations that are dedicated to social change and human justice, IDEX is on the top of my list. Their dedication to these grassroots organizations and the support they provide for them is exceptional. They are truly changing the world and I feel honored to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have been following IDEX's work for many years as both a donor and recently part of their young professionals group. I am always impressed by the organization's dedication to communities and local knowledge/solutions. They are all about partnerships that mean something rather than pouring money into solutions that are imposed externally or are untested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I've worked in non-profits for over 10 years, many in international development, and IDEX is truly a thought leader that follows up great ideas with purposeful action. I admire IDEX's commitment to grassroots solutions to international development issues that put people in the Global South at the forefront of defining the approaches that will work for their own communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get even more people excited and involved to grow IDEX's impact!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Hi! I have been a donor and volunteer to/with IDEX for the past few years. Their commitment and dedication to International Development is spot on and the results have been amazing with the communities they support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I recently became more involved with IDEX after moving to the Bay Area earlier this year and have been continually impressed with the organization's passion, commitment to its mission of social justice, and especially its dedicated staff and volunteers. IDEX consistently provides great events and opportunities for those in the local community to become involved in international development issues while continuing to do fantastic work supporting grassroots organizations throughout the Global South. I am honored to be a volunteer for this brilliant organization and help to spread its impact both here and abroad!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers