Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Crisis Aid International welcomed me in as a volunteer with open arms. The staff is incredibly friendly and giving. Pat Bradley is an amazing man who is incredibly selfless and passionate about helping others. I am so thankful that there is an organization right here in St. Louis focused on helping women and children both in our own backyard and around the world. I have loved my experience volunteering with Crisis Aid International and hope to help them continue to help others far into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization with very good values and an amazing story.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Crisis Aid International is a wonderful organization. They do so much for so many. From helping with feeding children in other countries, that would have otherwise perished, setting up medical clinics, rescuing people from sex trafficking, to orphanages for children who have been abandoned. I have personally met the staff and the founder of the organization and they are wonderful loving people that care so much and are giving hope to those that otherwise would not have had any at all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a great organization with a heart for people. My family and I have had numerous opportunities to connect with ICA and serve with them abroad. From what I have observed the ICA is making great impact in a country that is poverty stricken. Whether, it is through feeding programs, an orphanage, medical clinics, or rescuing girls from sex trafficking the ICA is providing hope in a place of darkness. I would highly recommend the ICA to anyone looking to contribute to a non profit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am with a group that makes jewelry to benefit Crisis Aid. I heard Pat Bradley speak recently and I learned so more about how this wonderful organization got started. So much good comes from the work that is done in St. Louis and in Africa to help girls who have been sex trafficked through the tireless work of those involved with this amazing nonprofit. I feel honored to be a small part of an organization that contributes to Crisis Aid.
Kathy Kilburn

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 14, 2013

ICA and its satff are doing amazing work nationally and internationally. Beginning in Ethiopia, they have rescued countless numbers for girls from the sex trafficing industry and have brought that sa... more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been making and selling jewelry through Monarch Jewelry weekly for about 4 years now to benefit Crisis Aid. This organization is much more that a fundraising business. Pat and Sue and their staff are changing the lives of young women around the world. They are like family to the countless numbers of girls rescued from sex trafficking. I am honored to be a part of raising funds and awareness here in St. Louis and have had the opportunity to connect with rescued girls here in St. Louis through the Safe House opened here 1 1/2 yrs ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2013

ICA and its satff are doing amazing work nationally and internationally. Beginning in Ethiopia, they have rescued countless numbers for girls from the sex trafficing industry and have brought that same love and support to girls here in the United States. I have been honored to wittness the opening of the first rehabilitation home for girls that are trafficed here in St. Louis. Not only do they help rescue from immediate danger, but they lovingly provide extended care both mentally, emotionally and physically in a Christ centered environment. their leaders commit their heart and soul to this nonproffit and I am honored to know them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

I have had the pleasure to go on several trips with this amazing organization. This year 2013 will be the 5th trip to Ethiopia for my husband and myself. Each year we have seen with our own eyes the... more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and myself have donated to ICA for the past 7 years. This year we will make our 6th trip to Ethiopia with ICA. Each year we have seen with our own eyes the difference in the people. There is still much work to be done and we have the trust in ICA to see it does. Each child they feed, each girl they rescue, each orphan they care for and each person who gets medical care is part of the family that ICA cares for. " To the world I may be one person, but to one person I may be the world." Pat Bradley.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funds available

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure to go on several trips with this amazing organization. This year 2013 will be the 5th trip to Ethiopia for my husband and myself. Each year we have seen with our own eyes the difference that ICA is making. The Health Clinic's, the Feeding Programs, the Safe Homes, and the Orphanage are all making a difference in a country where there are so little resources. As a Christian, I believe it is a command from God to take care of those who are hurting. ICA answers that call in action, not just with words. I have been impressed from the beginning of supporting ICA that so little of what we give goes to administration. When I give $1.00 at least .91 goes to the actual program I am supporting. That is so rare in this day and time. Pat Bradley and his team search out ways to help others AND stay accountable. I was shocked last year when our team went into a place in Ethiopia where everyone, young and old were dying from starvation. In 4 years, we had seen places that were really heartbreaking, but nothing compared to what we saw in 2012. Pat assessed the situation and then gathered us, we were told that unless a miracle happened, most of the people we could see would be dead within 2 weeks. We prayed and then went to work. I looked up and a father who was so thin a breeze would have knocked him over was standing in front of me. On his back was one of his children who was so starved and swollen she couldn't walk. We called Pat over and he immediately got the family into a place where they could receive immediate help without being overrun. Most of us have never seen a person so swollen from starvation that their skin was splitting open. I hate knowing that all over the world children are dying from lack of something most of us take for granted, food. ICA is doing something about it. If it seems impossible, if no one else will go, ICA flourishes in those places. The family, 4 weeks later after being placed into the feeding program a picture was taken. Most people seeing her would have thought she was near death because she was still so thin. I saw what God has given her thru the work of ICA. LIFE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This October will be the 4th year that my husband and I have gone to Ethiopia with International Crisis Aid. After that first trip, our church Watermark Church in Ashford, AL has put together a team to go every year. From the very 1st time we were convinced that this is the place, this is the organization where we need to send our funds and spend our time. We had just been blessed with our 2 of our grandchildren that year and when we got off the bus in Angatcha at ICA's Medical Clinic and seeing, touching so many starving babies was shocking to say the least. It was very humbling to know that at home our babies had plenty to eat and health care while so many died from lack of food and simple care. ICA is making a difference. I know because the following year and every year since we get to see the babies and children who the year before were near death and now are smiling little miracles. One of the greatest things we get to participate in while in Ethiopia with ICA is work at their orphanage. The 17 girls and their house mothers have become a large part of our lives. We get to work a good part of each week in Ethiopia at the orphanage. We have played with and been loved by each girl. It's a blessing to see each one growing up to be strong Ethiopia women. While we are at the orphanage we have done projects like, building a fence and playground for the girls and we've painted the entire building inside. One of the best times we have is when we get to take the girls shoe shopping. Each year our church takes up money to buy each girl new shoes. Loading up 17 girls, their house moms and all of the volunteers is a job in it's self. ICA does a great job in making sure each one has a great time shopping. Just like little girls all over the world they like to shoe shop! By far the hardest and most rewarding time spent in Ethiopia has been working with the girls who are caught in sex trafficking. There is no way I can begin to tell you what the "red light" district in Addis Abba looks, feels, and smells like. These young girls most start at the age of 11 or younger are not in this place because they want to be. It is an evil that Pat Bradley the founder of ICA decided had to be stopped. He and ICA are making a difference, one young life at a time. ICA has opened Safe Homes for the girls that are being rescued. Those young women are given, health care, what ever school they need, training in several different trades and most important love. Meeting the young women and girls, hearing their stories and then seeing them grow over the last 4 years has been one of the biggest blessings of my life. They know hope. ICA has other note worthy programs that you can check out on their website. They are an example of what a GREAT NGO should look like. Their administrative cost are purposely kept low in order that most of their funds go to the programs. Over 90% go to the actual programs, like feeding, health care, safe homes, orphan care and others. I know my life and many others have been changed for good in the most positive way since I accepted the gift of Jesus.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sue & Pat Bradley are the most selfless people I have ever known. Their dedication to the community, both near and abroad continues to amaze me. God bless both of them!
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I volunteered with International Crisis Aid in the Summer of 2009. I went to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to teach English. In the morning, I taught many impoverished children in their child sponsorship program. I witnessed the huge impact that the sponsorship has on each child's life, giving them shoes, clothes, nourishment, an education and so much more. These children came from the most devastating poverty I have witnessed, with most of them being AIDS orphans. Some of my students had big dreams of becoming doctors and engineers, dreams which would have no potential if it were not for ICA's investment in these kids' lives.

In the afternoons, I taught English in the rehabilitation homes for women and girls who were formerly prostitutes. The rehabilitation program was a godsend for so many of these beautiful young women. They were given food and clothing, a place to stay, counseling, vocational training, English language classes, and the true Love that was missing from their life for so long. The work of those programs was beautiful to behold, as women came in hardened and cynical and gradually opened up and flourished in the caring and nurturing environment. Many of the women and girls go on to get married or be gainfully employed. I still think of "my" beautiful girls and the opportunities that ICA has opened up to them. After having lives filled with so much pain and misery, ICA has given them hope. I had the privilege of transcribing a few of their stories. All of the girls recounted the first time they met Pat Bradley (the founder of ICA), and how he rescued them and showed them, for the first time, that men could be good.

One of the best things about ICA is their use of the native people to do most of the ground work. I did not see another American ICA worker during my entire time of volunteering over there. All of the programs were run by wonderful and qualified Ethiopians who did their jobs excellently. I

Nothing has changed my life as significantly as my trip to Addis and my front-row seat into the work of ICA. They are changing lives around the world, and it was incredible to witness. After seeing ICA up close and personal, I could not respect the organization more... The efficiency and transparency with which ICA handle their funds and resources is phenomenal.

I have also had the privilege of meeting Pat Bradley, the founder of the organization, and have nothing but the best things to say about him. His humility, generosity and love for all people could not be more evident. He and his team are giving hope thousands of people around the world. I cannot sing the praises of ICA enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. I love ICA and thank God for the work he is doing through a few phenomenal people! Thank you, Pat, Sue and Jennifer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

My family and I have had the blessed opportunity to sponsor two children through ICA for the past four years! Just seeing the amazing pictures each year of their progress both physically and spiritually has been tremendous! Last year, I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with ICA on a mission trip to Ethiopia. I have had the opportunity to work with other mission based organizations, but ICA is top-notch! From leadership all the way down to boots on the ground, their administration of funds donated to help aid people who are starving and in need of being rescued from sex trafficking is amazing! First hand, I was able to help them in starting three new feeding clinics in completely devastating areas in Ethiopia near Kenya. I was overwhelmed at the need of the people, but amazed at what God did through the care of ICA and their volunteers for those people. ICA not only meets the physical/nutritional needs of thousands, they meet health needs and most importantly the spiritual needs of those masses. I will never forget the impact ICA had on those hundreds and ultimately thousands of people we were able to assist. I remember Pat Bradley gathering our team before we began the ground work on a new feeding clinic and telling us that the need was much greater than we could imagine and see, it was overwhelming, but he reminded us that we serve ALMIGHTY GOD and he asked us to stop and pray and truly believe that our GOD could take what little we had to give, bless it and multiply it. It was a true miracle that reminded me of the boy with the loaves and fishes. After returning home and being able to see updated pictures through ICA's website and Facebook, it was totally amazing to see the physical and emotional transformation of those people. Because of Pat Bradley and the rest of his team's total commitment to seeking GOD's guidance, wisdom and blessings first for the people they assist, GOD has blessed their ministry and has allowed them to reach and change the lives of multitudes. I will always be an advocate for ICA and what they are doing within the United States and in many nations abroad! I encourage anyone who is seeking to assist financially or personally through an organization that really DOES make a noticeable difference, they should choose ICA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Administrative Tasks, Children’s Programs in St. Louis, Donor Relations, Events, Creating Bracelets, Organization and more Volunteer