Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I volunteered with International Crisis Aid in the Summer of 2009. I went to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to teach English. In the morning, I taught many impoverished children in their child sponsorship program. I witnessed the huge impact that the sponsorship has on each child's life, giving them shoes, clothes, nourishment, an education and so much more. These children came from the most devastating poverty I have witnessed, with most of them being AIDS orphans. Some of my students had big dreams of becoming doctors and engineers, dreams which would have no potential if it were not for ICA's investment in these kids' lives.

In the afternoons, I taught English in the rehabilitation homes for women and girls who were formerly prostitutes. The rehabilitation program was a godsend for so many of these beautiful young women. They were given food and clothing, a place to stay, counseling, vocational training, English language classes, and the true Love that was missing from their life for so long. The work of those programs was beautiful to behold, as women came in hardened and cynical and gradually opened up and flourished in the caring and nurturing environment. Many of the women and girls go on to get married or be gainfully employed. I still think of "my" beautiful girls and the opportunities that ICA has opened up to them. After having lives filled with so much pain and misery, ICA has given them hope. I had the privilege of transcribing a few of their stories. All of the girls recounted the first time they met Pat Bradley (the founder of ICA), and how he rescued them and showed them, for the first time, that men could be good.

One of the best things about ICA is their use of the native people to do most of the ground work. I did not see another American ICA worker during my entire time of volunteering over there. All of the programs were run by wonderful and qualified Ethiopians who did their jobs excellently. I

Nothing has changed my life as significantly as my trip to Addis and my front-row seat into the work of ICA. They are changing lives around the world, and it was incredible to witness. After seeing ICA up close and personal, I could not respect the organization more... The efficiency and transparency with which ICA handle their funds and resources is phenomenal.

I have also had the privilege of meeting Pat Bradley, the founder of the organization, and have nothing but the best things to say about him. His humility, generosity and love for all people could not be more evident. He and his team are giving hope thousands of people around the world. I cannot sing the praises of ICA enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. I love ICA and thank God for the work he is doing through a few phenomenal people! Thank you, Pat, Sue and Jennifer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

My family and I have had the blessed opportunity to sponsor two children through ICA for the past four years! Just seeing the amazing pictures each year of their progress both physically and spiritually has been tremendous! Last year, I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with ICA on a mission trip to Ethiopia. I have had the opportunity to work with other mission based organizations, but ICA is top-notch! From leadership all the way down to boots on the ground, their administration of funds donated to help aid people who are starving and in need of being rescued from sex trafficking is amazing! First hand, I was able to help them in starting three new feeding clinics in completely devastating areas in Ethiopia near Kenya. I was overwhelmed at the need of the people, but amazed at what God did through the care of ICA and their volunteers for those people. ICA not only meets the physical/nutritional needs of thousands, they meet health needs and most importantly the spiritual needs of those masses. I will never forget the impact ICA had on those hundreds and ultimately thousands of people we were able to assist. I remember Pat Bradley gathering our team before we began the ground work on a new feeding clinic and telling us that the need was much greater than we could imagine and see, it was overwhelming, but he reminded us that we serve ALMIGHTY GOD and he asked us to stop and pray and truly believe that our GOD could take what little we had to give, bless it and multiply it. It was a true miracle that reminded me of the boy with the loaves and fishes. After returning home and being able to see updated pictures through ICA's website and Facebook, it was totally amazing to see the physical and emotional transformation of those people. Because of Pat Bradley and the rest of his team's total commitment to seeking GOD's guidance, wisdom and blessings first for the people they assist, GOD has blessed their ministry and has allowed them to reach and change the lives of multitudes. I will always be an advocate for ICA and what they are doing within the United States and in many nations abroad! I encourage anyone who is seeking to assist financially or personally through an organization that really DOES make a noticeable difference, they should choose ICA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Phenomenal. Easily one of the best non-profits on the planet. The amount of impact International Crisis Aid Inc has had on the world with their resources has not and will not be matched for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them 1 billion dollars. They use money better than any organization I have ever seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I went to Ethiopia with International Crisis Aid in 2009. I am from London, England but found out about the organization through Joyce Meyer Ministries. Put simply, that trip changed my life. There are a couple of things that struck me about ICA but one of the main things was that rather than coming to Ethiopia and 'taking over,' they connected with a local Ethiopian church and Ethiopian doctors who run the clinics and other programs on the ground. It's the idea of partnership that really struck me and ICA is truly making waves in that nation.

The work with the poor in rural areas, sponsoring children in poor families, the health clinic and the work with women who have been sex-trafficked. It is truly transforming a nation. I love the fact that the staff just get on with it, no fanfare, no fancy advertising campaigns with high administrative costs (when I went in 2009 there were only 2 paid members of staff in the US office, with 98% of all monies going directly into the programs ICA runs) just helping the people, because as they put it 'love had no boundaries.'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

ICA is such an amazing ministry. After hearing about their work almost 3 years ago, my daughter (then only 7 years old) was so impacted by their ministry, especially the girls they help, that she felt burdened to help in any way we could to further ICA's impact. Although I feel like what we are able to do with our time & finances are only a drop in the bucket, the team at ICA is so encouraging, honoring and truly grateful for everything we help with, especially for the efforts of my daughter, which has been so important for her to see the impact she can have at a young age. Every person I have worked at ICA, from the CEO down, is humble & just plain honored to be serving as God's hands & feet here in St. Louis and around the world. I have never seen so much integrity & humility in a ministry. I am truly humbled & blessed for my entire family to play even a small part in such an amazing ministry not only for the work they do but also for the way they do it. ICA is top notch in every aspect. Thank you, ICA, for having such a profound impact not only on the world, but also on my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

ICA and its satff are doing amazing work nationally and internationally. Beginning in Ethiopia, they have rescued countless numbers for girls from the sex trafficing industry and have brought that same love and support to girls here in the United States. I have been honored to wittness the opening of the first rehabilitation home for girls that are trafficed here in St. Louis. Not only do they help rescue from immediate danger, but they lovingly provide extended care both mentally, emotionally and physically in a Christ centered environment. their leaders commit their heart and soul to this nonproffit and I am honored to know them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I started getting involved with ICA about 2 plus years and have been wowed everytime I come in contact with them. They never take any credit and are the most sincere, down to earth, loving people that I have ever worked with. I joined Monarch Jewelry when I learned about this organization and what they stand for. Other volunteers at our church make this beautiful jewelry to sell and the proceeds go to help ICA support their safe home for girls saved from sex trafficking. What a mission! These girls need all of the help that everyone can do. God needs our help and so does ICA. We work closely with ICA in a lot of ways and hope that we can make a difference in a girls life. I have worked with other charities and they are so impersonal and you are just a volunteer to them. Not ICA, you become friends and not just with the other volunteers or office staff but with Pat and Sue Bradley too. They also care about your life and what they can do to help you. So, it isn't a one way street. They are just genuine and loving people to work for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe they need to toot their own horn a little more. Advertise and try to get the message out more while there seems to be exposure in the media.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I have visited Ethiopia with ICA and have supported a child for several years. Everyone in the organization is rock solid and has a deep love for the work they do and the people they serve. Integrity and openness are key values in the organization. Pat has a special gift of finding people that no one else is helping, whether in Africa, the Middle East or Haiti. When Joyce Meyer was visiting a feeding center in Ethiopia, Pat was able to find a severely malnourished child for the video team. Standing back watching the events, I was stunned when Pat shared his excitement: not with Joyce and Dave Meyer's presence at the program but with finding one more child that needed to be in the feeding program! ICA is a feet on the ground, make a difference, do the work and save a life kind of organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the staff to reach even more people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

We have a non-profit ministry called, "Monarch" which increases awareness and provides funds for the ICA Safe Home in St. Louis through the sale of jewelry & accessories. We have been supporting ICA for two and a half years and because of their integrity, radical commitment to financial accountability & wisdom and, most importantly, their heart to help others which flows from the love of the Lord, we agreed a year ago to solely give ALL our profits to ICA!

Unlike many partnerships which turn out to be a "one- way benefit" ICA works to help us succeed in our mission as well. We have partnered together for awareness events in our community as well as vendor shows to sell our jewelry. Several ladies who are part of Monarch also serve at ICA on a regular basis. We have also had the awesome privilege of serving at the Safe Home by decorating it for Christmas (& providing Christmas baskets for the girls), teaching some rescued young women in the Safe Home to make a bracelet, assisting with their Walk/Run fundraiser and providing a space for their 10th Anniversary Celebration. What they do is always done in a fashion that does not put the lime light on the organization, but rather those they are serving ... we feel like we're doing this together!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Include cards with the newsletter to make it easy to sign up for automatic withdrawal on a monthly basis. (I don't think this is currently happening?)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2012

I have worked with a lot of charity's in my life but this one is my new focus. I am a single mom and unemployed right now so I can't always do as much as I would like to abut I can advocate and that ... more

September 10, 2013

I have been doing their 5K for freedom and doing what I can as far as advocacy and volunteering for ICA for a long time now. As a single mother with limited resources it is hard to find ways to feel like you are giving back and this is one of the few nonprofits I have worked with that makes you feel like you are really helping whether you can give a thousand dollars or only a few hours of your time. The people who work here full time are some of the most amazing, genuine people I have ever met. As someone with a 5 year old daughter I can't say enough how thankful I am for their SAFE program. To think that there are little girls out there that are my daughters age being brought into child sex trafficking every 2 minutes... Thank God there are groups like ICA who are dedicated to saving these babies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know that I can really think of anything at the moment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2012

I have worked with a lot of charity's in my life but this one is my new focus. I am a single mom and unemployed right now so I can't always do as much as I would like to abut I can advocate and that is something that ICA gives you the chance to do. When you hear about children being trafficked for the pleasure of grown men... That is the most disgusting, destructive things you could ever imagine. But ICA is working to save these kids and if I can help in even a small way, that is awesome!!! Thank you ICA for allowing me and so many others the privilege of helping to save these kids, even if only by spreading awareness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Contact ICA for further information on how you can get involved.