Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have given to ICA on a personal level, out of our business for 2 years as well as our church body supports ICA monthly. We only wish we had more money to put into them. The work they do goes beyond a single need. They meet the physical, financial, spiritual, and emotional needs of those they reach. They meet need in US as well as foreign. I know firsts hand that they handle every penny with great integrity. The heart, soul and sweat of this organization is one to be modeled after.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them larger so they could reach more of those in great need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have witnessed first hand the incredible work that ICA does. They have so much compassion and love for what they do. They are dedicated and driven to make a difference. They are the definition of selfless. They stay long hours in the office or leave their families and loved ones for months just to feed another child or give another sex slave a bed. The work they do with sex trafficking victims is incredible. I went on a trip with them to aid the trafficked victims and they have such a brilliant program that really works. It's practical and gives women a clean slate in life. They go there with the
Message of love in their hearts and preach compassion and value and worth to those women. They make sure the women know they are loved and valued beyond any price tag. They work so hard to raise money for those safe homes and they make sure no woman is left behind. Every rescued girl
I met exuded joy and love. They call pat Bradley, the founder, father and consider the staff family. It's truly beautiful how ICA is changing the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 26, 2010

As part of a trip to Ethiopia to help disadvantaged people to better their lives, we spent two days trying to rescue young women out of the rampant prostitution in Addis Ababa. The effort started wit... more

September 7, 2013

There are many opportunities to donate money and time to serve the less fortunate in this world. In ICA I found an organization that puts the funds they receive to excellent use. I have witnessed first hand the impact ICA has had both in Africa and here in the US. On various medical trips I have witnessed personally the effectiveness of ICA's programs in saving children and whole families from malnutrition. I have seen how the ICA leadership has personally worked and sacrificed to better the lives of people in poverty stricken areas in Africa, people that were motivated to better their lives. The stories are endless: the girls that were rescued from sex trafficking and who i have personally seen change from destitution to successful tradespersons just because they were given an opportunity by ICA. The families that were provided the knowledge and tools ( including the seeds) to grow better crops to become more self supporting. The children that were saved from starvation.

The stories of changed lives abound, too mamy to share here. The reason that I support ICA goes beyond the story of changed lives. It is also the integrity of the leadership that provides me the assurance that my donations are put to good and effective use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish the donation level would go up. Last year we had to turn families away from nurtition aid because funding and food supplies were exhausted. The sheer volume of malnourished children was overwhelming and exhausted our team's ability to help. The fact that we had to turn starving children away haunts me to this day!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

As part of a trip to Ethiopia to help disadvantaged people to better their lives, we spent two days trying to rescue young women out of the rampant prostitution in Addis Ababa. The effort started with a trip to the city's infamous red light district. We were broken up into teams and instructed to strike up conversations with young prostitutes and try to get them interested in attending a community service ICA helped sponsor the next day. I talked to some 10 women and encouraged them to come to the meeting the next day, and tried to make them see a way out of their dead end life style. A few responded very positively and actually showed up the next day, where I talked to them in more depth about the training opportunities ICA offers and the opportunity to be placed in a safe house as away to start over in life. After returning to the States ICA representatives in Addis Ababa followed up with the women; even though there was interest ICA is funding-constrained and out of capacity in the safe houses for now. We are not giving up; it is very frustrating to see chances to rescue these women slip through your fingers. But like Churchill said "never, ever give up'. So the plan is to go back later this year and reconnect and see if we can bring some of these women out of the red light district and into the safe houses. I, and with me, the entire ICA team will keep hoping, keep pressing on, and keep working to provide a better chance in life for these women. Once you have seen what we have seen, there is no turning back. And we will persevere, even it means to rescue one at a time. One of the ladies I connected with, Genet, has captured my heart and I will not rest until she is safe.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and Angacha, Ethiopia

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to Ethiopia several times with ICA. Each time we go we see what a difference ICA has made
in many family's there. Our first trip there was a set of twins that we found in the crowd that would have died from starvation if they had not been found. I am talking in a few day's, that's
how bad they were. ICA
took these kids into the program and starting helping feed the whole family along with the twins. Upon arriving at the medical clinic the second trip these kids were there and they were healthy. As we have been 4 times now we see what a difference ICA has made to the community. My wife and I sponsor 4
children through the child sponsorship program. And to see the progress they have made is awesome.
There are so many things I would like to comment on from working at orphanage, working at feeding clinics, also working with ICA and girls caught up in sex trafficking. Every facet of this organization is extremely well ran. To see what they can do with so little is amazing. and the heart of there staff is a
blessing to all who come in contact with them. ICA does so much more than just hand out food,
they try to teach the people of Ethiopia how to help themselves. Construction ICA does is performed
by locals in the villages which is a great help to all the families there. Any and all donations no matter
how big are small are use to the fullest. As a person that has been blessed to get to go there, thank you ICA for who you are, also for going to places where others won't go. And for living out everyday your
motto: LOVE HAS NO BOUNDRIES. If you are thinking of donating to ICA you won't regret it. LOVE LOVE
LOVE this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. Funding is the only things they need to change the world for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure to serve in multiple capacities for this organization over the past few years. I am blown away each and every time that I have seen the work that they are doing to meet the needs of the people they give aid to. I know that ever minute that I spend or every dollar that I give will be maximized in the specific area of need. It is truly a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ICA is an amazing organization and I had the honor to join them in Ethiopia, I was blown away at the work they did and continue to do there. I was in awe of how the community in Ethiopia was cared for by ICA, and loved and respected the care they were receiving. I feel in love with Ethiopia, and ICA opened my eyes to trafficking and have given me a desire to care for young girls who are victims locally and internationally. I pray I can join them on a future trip. It was the greatest trip of my life! Life changing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CONTinue to do what you all do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2012

This work is done for Christian evangelicalism, not for the goodness in and of itself. In their own words, "Share the gospel use words when we have to."

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been blessed to go to Ethiopia with International Crisis Aid twice, and will return for a third trip in a couple weeks. One thing that really stands out to me about ICA is how instead of just focusing on one particular issue or problem, they have implemented a variety of programs and have produced amazing results. In the Angacha region of Ethiopia, they have provided clean drinking water, a feeding program, a medical clinic, and have begun construction on a hospital. This well-rounded approach has truly transformed an entire community and it's incredible thing to witness. Whenever someone asks me what I see and do in Ethiopia, it's hard to decide what to tell them about first. In addition to Angacha, I have also had the opportunity to see the other programs ICA has in Addis Ababa -- the outreach in the red light district, the SAFE homes, the girls' orphanage, the child sponsorship program... the list of accomplishments just goes on and on. I have such peace of mind supporting ICA because I have seen myself the quality and extent of care that ICA provides.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor of ICA, I am impressed by their constant involvement with their donors. Between their newsletters, facebook updates and other communication with ICA, their work is always visible. Everyone at ICA is truly passionate about helping hurting and needy people. I love how they go where other organizations are not going. Their commitment and integrity should be present in all non-profit work. They are doing tremendous work throughout the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the honor of working along side International Crisis Aid in Haiti in 2010 and Ethiopia in 2011. I have been beyond impressed at how ICA sees a need and finds a solution quickly without question. Their love for every person is a tangible expression of the organizations' mission: "Love knows no bounds." It is the heartbeat behind everything they do and its an honor to see that love in action.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Haiti - Earthquake relief and the rebuilding of an orphanage. Also in Ethiopia - Medical Missions, food distribution, and restoration of women victims of human trafficking.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They are flexible and culturally aware to the environments they serve. They provide respect, hope, dignity, and love as well as tangible expressions of relief.

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Administrative Tasks, Children’s Programs in St. Louis, Donor Relations, Events, Creating Bracelets, Organization and more Volunteer