Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.904765
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I first learned of International Crisis Aid through the Joyce Meyer ministry. After looking at their financial 'pie chart' & seeing about over 95% of the donations goes to the poor and needy, I called them. I asked if they help with birth prevention like birth control pill and tubal ligation. This might seem... rigid, but I would not want to see my child starve to death, that's harder than having myself starve! So it seems logical to not only feed but prevent further starvation by propagation. the staff are personal 7 they explained they offer teaching and direction to medical assistance. I tithe on a monthly basis.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2012

I have worked with a lot of charity's in my life but this one is my new focus. I am a single mom and unemployed right now so I can't always do as much as I would like to abut I can advocate and that ... more

September 10, 2013

I have been doing their 5K for freedom and doing what I can as far as advocacy and volunteering for ICA for a long time now. As a single mother with limited resources it is hard to find ways to feel like you are giving back and this is one of the few nonprofits I have worked with that makes you feel like you are really helping whether you can give a thousand dollars or only a few hours of your time. The people who work here full time are some of the most amazing, genuine people I have ever met. As someone with a 5 year old daughter I can't say enough how thankful I am for their SAFE program. To think that there are little girls out there that are my daughters age being brought into child sex trafficking every 2 minutes... Thank God there are groups like ICA who are dedicated to saving these babies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know that I can really think of anything at the moment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2012

I have worked with a lot of charity's in my life but this one is my new focus. I am a single mom and unemployed right now so I can't always do as much as I would like to abut I can advocate and that is something that ICA gives you the chance to do. When you hear about children being trafficked for the pleasure of grown men... That is the most disgusting, destructive things you could ever imagine. But ICA is working to save these kids and if I can help in even a small way, that is awesome!!! Thank you ICA for allowing me and so many others the privilege of helping to save these kids, even if only by spreading awareness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have given to ICA on a personal level, out of our business for 2 years as well as our church body supports ICA monthly. We only wish we had more money to put into them. The work they do goes beyond a single need. They meet the physical, financial, spiritual, and emotional needs of those they reach. They meet need in US as well as foreign. I know firsts hand that they handle every penny with great integrity. The heart, soul and sweat of this organization is one to be modeled after.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them larger so they could reach more of those in great need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have witnessed first hand the incredible work that ICA does. They have so much compassion and love for what they do. They are dedicated and driven to make a difference. They are the definition of selfless. They stay long hours in the office or leave their families and loved ones for months just to feed another child or give another sex slave a bed. The work they do with sex trafficking victims is incredible. I went on a trip with them to aid the trafficked victims and they have such a brilliant program that really works. It's practical and gives women a clean slate in life. They go there with the
Message of love in their hearts and preach compassion and value and worth to those women. They make sure the women know they are loved and valued beyond any price tag. They work so hard to raise money for those safe homes and they make sure no woman is left behind. Every rescued girl
I met exuded joy and love. They call pat Bradley, the founder, father and consider the staff family. It's truly beautiful how ICA is changing the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 26, 2010

As part of a trip to Ethiopia to help disadvantaged people to better their lives, we spent two days trying to rescue young women out of the rampant prostitution in Addis Ababa. The effort started wit... more

September 7, 2013

There are many opportunities to donate money and time to serve the less fortunate in this world. In ICA I found an organization that puts the funds they receive to excellent use. I have witnessed first hand the impact ICA has had both in Africa and here in the US. On various medical trips I have witnessed personally the effectiveness of ICA's programs in saving children and whole families from malnutrition. I have seen how the ICA leadership has personally worked and sacrificed to better the lives of people in poverty stricken areas in Africa, people that were motivated to better their lives. The stories are endless: the girls that were rescued from sex trafficking and who i have personally seen change from destitution to successful tradespersons just because they were given an opportunity by ICA. The families that were provided the knowledge and tools ( including the seeds) to grow better crops to become more self supporting. The children that were saved from starvation.

The stories of changed lives abound, too mamy to share here. The reason that I support ICA goes beyond the story of changed lives. It is also the integrity of the leadership that provides me the assurance that my donations are put to good and effective use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish the donation level would go up. Last year we had to turn families away from nurtition aid because funding and food supplies were exhausted. The sheer volume of malnourished children was overwhelming and exhausted our team's ability to help. The fact that we had to turn starving children away haunts me to this day!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

As part of a trip to Ethiopia to help disadvantaged people to better their lives, we spent two days trying to rescue young women out of the rampant prostitution in Addis Ababa. The effort started with a trip to the city's infamous red light district. We were broken up into teams and instructed to strike up conversations with young prostitutes and try to get them interested in attending a community service ICA helped sponsor the next day. I talked to some 10 women and encouraged them to come to the meeting the next day, and tried to make them see a way out of their dead end life style. A few responded very positively and actually showed up the next day, where I talked to them in more depth about the training opportunities ICA offers and the opportunity to be placed in a safe house as away to start over in life. After returning to the States ICA representatives in Addis Ababa followed up with the women; even though there was interest ICA is funding-constrained and out of capacity in the safe houses for now. We are not giving up; it is very frustrating to see chances to rescue these women slip through your fingers. But like Churchill said "never, ever give up'. So the plan is to go back later this year and reconnect and see if we can bring some of these women out of the red light district and into the safe houses. I, and with me, the entire ICA team will keep hoping, keep pressing on, and keep working to provide a better chance in life for these women. Once you have seen what we have seen, there is no turning back. And we will persevere, even it means to rescue one at a time. One of the ladies I connected with, Genet, has captured my heart and I will not rest until she is safe.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and Angacha, Ethiopia

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2012

This October will be the 4th year that my husband and I have gone to Ethiopia with International Crisis Aid. After that first trip, our church Watermark Church in Ashford, AL has put together a team ... more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure to go on several trips with this amazing organization. This year 2013 will be the 5th trip to Ethiopia for my husband and myself. Each year we have seen with our own eyes the difference that ICA is making. The Health Clinic's, the Feeding Programs, the Safe Homes, and the Orphanage are all making a difference in a country where there are so little resources. As a Christian, I believe it is a command from God to take care of those who are hurting. ICA answers that call in action, not just with words. I have been impressed from the beginning of supporting ICA that so little of what we give goes to administration. When I give $1.00 at least .91 goes to the actual program I am supporting. That is so rare in this day and time. Pat Bradley and his team search out ways to help others AND stay accountable. I was shocked last year when our team went into a place in Ethiopia where everyone, young and old were dying from starvation. In 4 years, we had seen places that were really heartbreaking, but nothing compared to what we saw in 2012. Pat assessed the situation and then gathered us, we were told that unless a miracle happened, most of the people we could see would be dead within 2 weeks. We prayed and then went to work. I looked up and a father who was so thin a breeze would have knocked him over was standing in front of me. On his back was one of his children who was so starved and swollen she couldn't walk. We called Pat over and he immediately got the family into a place where they could receive immediate help without being overrun. Most of us have never seen a person so swollen from starvation that their skin was splitting open. I hate knowing that all over the world children are dying from lack of something most of us take for granted, food. ICA is doing something about it. If it seems impossible, if no one else will go, ICA flourishes in those places. The family, 4 weeks later after being placed into the feeding program a picture was taken. Most people seeing her would have thought she was near death because she was still so thin. I saw what God has given her thru the work of ICA. LIFE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This October will be the 4th year that my husband and I have gone to Ethiopia with International Crisis Aid. After that first trip, our church Watermark Church in Ashford, AL has put together a team to go every year. From the very 1st time we were convinced that this is the place, this is the organization where we need to send our funds and spend our time. We had just been blessed with our 2 of our grandchildren that year and when we got off the bus in Angatcha at ICA's Medical Clinic and seeing, touching so many starving babies was shocking to say the least. It was very humbling to know that at home our babies had plenty to eat and health care while so many died from lack of food and simple care. ICA is making a difference. I know because the following year and every year since we get to see the babies and children who the year before were near death and now are smiling little miracles. One of the greatest things we get to participate in while in Ethiopia with ICA is work at their orphanage. The 17 girls and their house mothers have become a large part of our lives. We get to work a good part of each week in Ethiopia at the orphanage. We have played with and been loved by each girl. It's a blessing to see each one growing up to be strong Ethiopia women. While we are at the orphanage we have done projects like, building a fence and playground for the girls and we've painted the entire building inside. One of the best times we have is when we get to take the girls shoe shopping. Each year our church takes up money to buy each girl new shoes. Loading up 17 girls, their house moms and all of the volunteers is a job in it's self. ICA does a great job in making sure each one has a great time shopping. Just like little girls all over the world they like to shoe shop! By far the hardest and most rewarding time spent in Ethiopia has been working with the girls who are caught in sex trafficking. There is no way I can begin to tell you what the "red light" district in Addis Abba looks, feels, and smells like. These young girls most start at the age of 11 or younger are not in this place because they want to be. It is an evil that Pat Bradley the founder of ICA decided had to be stopped. He and ICA are making a difference, one young life at a time. ICA has opened Safe Homes for the girls that are being rescued. Those young women are given, health care, what ever school they need, training in several different trades and most important love. Meeting the young women and girls, hearing their stories and then seeing them grow over the last 4 years has been one of the biggest blessings of my life. They know hope. ICA has other note worthy programs that you can check out on their website. They are an example of what a GREAT NGO should look like. Their administrative cost are purposely kept low in order that most of their funds go to the programs. Over 90% go to the actual programs, like feeding, health care, safe homes, orphan care and others. I know my life and many others have been changed for good in the most positive way since I accepted the gift of Jesus.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to Ethiopia several times with ICA. Each time we go we see what a difference ICA has made
in many family's there. Our first trip there was a set of twins that we found in the crowd that would have died from starvation if they had not been found. I am talking in a few day's, that's
how bad they were. ICA
took these kids into the program and starting helping feed the whole family along with the twins. Upon arriving at the medical clinic the second trip these kids were there and they were healthy. As we have been 4 times now we see what a difference ICA has made to the community. My wife and I sponsor 4
children through the child sponsorship program. And to see the progress they have made is awesome.
There are so many things I would like to comment on from working at orphanage, working at feeding clinics, also working with ICA and girls caught up in sex trafficking. Every facet of this organization is extremely well ran. To see what they can do with so little is amazing. and the heart of there staff is a
blessing to all who come in contact with them. ICA does so much more than just hand out food,
they try to teach the people of Ethiopia how to help themselves. Construction ICA does is performed
by locals in the villages which is a great help to all the families there. Any and all donations no matter
how big are small are use to the fullest. As a person that has been blessed to get to go there, thank you ICA for who you are, also for going to places where others won't go. And for living out everyday your
motto: LOVE HAS NO BOUNDRIES. If you are thinking of donating to ICA you won't regret it. LOVE LOVE
LOVE this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. Funding is the only things they need to change the world for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure to serve in multiple capacities for this organization over the past few years. I am blown away each and every time that I have seen the work that they are doing to meet the needs of the people they give aid to. I know that ever minute that I spend or every dollar that I give will be maximized in the specific area of need. It is truly a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ICA is an amazing organization and I had the honor to join them in Ethiopia, I was blown away at the work they did and continue to do there. I was in awe of how the community in Ethiopia was cared for by ICA, and loved and respected the care they were receiving. I feel in love with Ethiopia, and ICA opened my eyes to trafficking and have given me a desire to care for young girls who are victims locally and internationally. I pray I can join them on a future trip. It was the greatest trip of my life! Life changing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CONTinue to do what you all do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2012

This work is done for Christian evangelicalism, not for the goodness in and of itself. In their own words, "Share the gospel use words when we have to."

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Contact ICA for further information on how you can get involved.