Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.904765
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Great organization. Confidence that funds are spent for purposes intended. administrative expense is kept at bare minimum, good communication on projects, Director and Board Members personally involved, and do projects where others may not go.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2012

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia during the mid-70's and was excited about the opportunity to get involved with Pat and Sue Bradley and ICA. My wife and I have been donors for for more than 5... more

September 12, 2013

We have been donors to ICA for more than 7 years and I have been on 3 missions to Ethiopia with Pat. We know and trust their work. Sue and Pat, and everyone associate with ICA are great. They are doing Christ's work here on earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2012

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia during the mid-70's and was excited about the opportunity to get involved with Pat and Sue Bradley and ICA. My wife and I have been donors for for more than 5 years and I have participated in 3 mission trips as a journalist to Ethiopia with ICA; the most recent in May 2011, with our son. ICA is an excellent organization, doing wonderful work in Ethiopia. I only wish that we could do more to support their mission.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through volunteer work in Ethiopia and my experience as a Peace Corps volunteer in Ethiopia and my work as a journalist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Their work in Ethiopia.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I believe in ICA's values and my love for Ethiopia.

What would you tell others about this organization?

You couldn't make a better contribution to alleviate world hunger, problems than to give to ICA.

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I started getting involved with ICA about 2 plus years and have been wowed everytime I come in contact with them. They never take any credit and are the most sincere, down to earth, loving people that I have ever worked with. I joined Monarch Jewelry when I learned about this organization and what they stand for. Other volunteers at our church make this beautiful jewelry to sell and the proceeds go to help ICA support their safe home for girls saved from sex trafficking. What a mission! These girls need all of the help that everyone can do. God needs our help and so does ICA. We work closely with ICA in a lot of ways and hope that we can make a difference in a girls life. I have worked with other charities and they are so impersonal and you are just a volunteer to them. Not ICA, you become friends and not just with the other volunteers or office staff but with Pat and Sue Bradley too. They also care about your life and what they can do to help you. So, it isn't a one way street. They are just genuine and loving people to work for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe they need to toot their own horn a little more. Advertise and try to get the message out more while there seems to be exposure in the media.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I have visited Ethiopia with ICA and have supported a child for several years. Everyone in the organization is rock solid and has a deep love for the work they do and the people they serve. Integrity and openness are key values in the organization. Pat has a special gift of finding people that no one else is helping, whether in Africa, the Middle East or Haiti. When Joyce Meyer was visiting a feeding center in Ethiopia, Pat was able to find a severely malnourished child for the video team. Standing back watching the events, I was stunned when Pat shared his excitement: not with Joyce and Dave Meyer's presence at the program but with finding one more child that needed to be in the feeding program! ICA is a feet on the ground, make a difference, do the work and save a life kind of organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the staff to reach even more people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

My friend Sherie and her son visited Ethiopia several years ago. From her experience, meeting Pat Bradley, she and her son each adopted a child from Ethiopia. Sherie shared the details of her trip, from having a party with the girls at the orphanage, to visiting where the people International Crisis Aid supports, and even the sex trafficking area. I really felt for the people there and the children. Sherie really sold me. She start showing me pictures of girls (I'm partial to girls, I have 3 daughters) I could sponsor. I prayed about it, and then decided to do it. I love the letters I get from International Crisis Aid and from Kalkidane. I know if I had to live like they do, I couldn't do it. It's the least I can do, to support a child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't really know what I'd change. I do know my credit card has changed at least 3 times since I've been a sponsor. There is always someone in the office ready to make the changes so my donations continue without interruption. I feel the team is very efficient. I'm so thankful you all do what you do, the hard job, so I can donate, the easy job. I love the letters and the pictures too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

My wife and I added International Crisis Aid as one of our supported charities a couple of years ago. This organization may not have the visability of many major relief charities but, from what we can see, is doing far more with the resources available to them than most similar organizations. I am so thankful that Pat and Sue Bradley are giving their lives to such a great cause and thank God for allowing my wife and I to help with our donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

In 2012, I joined ICA on a mission trip to Ethiopia. It was beyond description! There is much that could be written, but it is sufficient to say their impact is huge. The work that ICA does is literally saving people from death and transforming lives.

The main focus of the trip was to
help girls who are being sexually trafficked and to encourage those currently living at ICA’s Safe Homes. The need is immense as there are thousands of girls forced to work in the Red Light District in Addis Ababa. It was amazing to see the vast difference a few months can make in the life of a young woman. The girls who have been rescued are now being restored. They have joy unshakable and are generous beyond expectations.

ICA also runs an orphanage for girls whose parents have died of AIDS. This beautiful home keeps girls at risk out of the Red Light District.

Sex trafficking is a horrid reality not only in Africa, but also in many countries around the world, including the United States. In December, 2012 ICA opened their first U.S. Safe Home in the city where I live. My first experience with ICA compelled me to continue serving with them. It is a privilege to invest my time, skills and financial resources to help save, heal and deliver people into a life that it is truly life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the diversity of their messaging. The newsletters and other communication often contain similar phrases and stories, so it doesn't keep my interest.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

ICA cares about those children in need. Many people at our church purchase Monarch jewelry to support their Safe House for victims of sex trafficking. When I volunteered at my church in the past, some of the members of this organization spoke about the hardships they have seen and the help that children and their families received. Great Organization!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

We have a non-profit ministry called, "Monarch" which increases awareness and provides funds for the ICA Safe Home in St. Louis through the sale of jewelry & accessories. We have been supporting ICA for two and a half years and because of their integrity, radical commitment to financial accountability & wisdom and, most importantly, their heart to help others which flows from the love of the Lord, we agreed a year ago to solely give ALL our profits to ICA!

Unlike many partnerships which turn out to be a "one- way benefit" ICA works to help us succeed in our mission as well. We have partnered together for awareness events in our community as well as vendor shows to sell our jewelry. Several ladies who are part of Monarch also serve at ICA on a regular basis. We have also had the awesome privilege of serving at the Safe Home by decorating it for Christmas (& providing Christmas baskets for the girls), teaching some rescued young women in the Safe Home to make a bracelet, assisting with their Walk/Run fundraiser and providing a space for their 10th Anniversary Celebration. What they do is always done in a fashion that does not put the lime light on the organization, but rather those they are serving ... we feel like we're doing this together!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Include cards with the newsletter to make it easy to sign up for automatic withdrawal on a monthly basis. (I don't think this is currently happening?)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I first learned about ICA in our city newspaper. I was very impressed with what I learned about them and further research confirmed that they were reputable. I have always been leary about nonprofits and careful with where I send my money. After more than 8 years of supporting only ICA, I continue to be amazed and blessed with the work they do. I wish I could so much more to support them as I am confident that they use the money I entrust to them with great care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their reach

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Contact ICA for further information on how you can get involved.