Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Pat and Sue have done an amazing job of making ICS donations go a very long way. I know this because i get regular updates from them on the progress that is being made in the lives of so many people across the World. This non-profit is not for the faint of heart: 1) one of the first responders to the most remote regions that have fallen victim to natural disasters with the most basic needs attended to, 2) brings food and water to families in famine or drought struck regions, 3) brings medical care to untreated illness and 4) provides safe passage, builds safe houses and rehabilitation for victims of sex trafficking.
It takes great faith and a special calling to enter some of these regions and be a true force for change as well as a light of hope among such difficult circumstances. I am proud to donate to a Christian-based mission that transparently shows the true impact of donations - and brings life and light into the lives of so many. God bless them both and the staff that supports their efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I volunteered with International Crisis Aid in the Summer of 2009. I went to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to teach English. In the morning, I taught many impoverished children in their child sponsorship program. I witnessed the huge impact that the sponsorship has on each child's life, giving them shoes, clothes, nourishment, an education and so much more. These children came from the most devastating poverty I have witnessed, with most of them being AIDS orphans. Some of my students had big dreams of becoming doctors and engineers, dreams which would have no potential if it were not for ICA's investment in these kids' lives.

In the afternoons, I taught English in the rehabilitation homes for women and girls who were formerly prostitutes. The rehabilitation program was a godsend for so many of these beautiful young women. They were given food and clothing, a place to stay, counseling, vocational training, English language classes, and the true Love that was missing from their life for so long. The work of those programs was beautiful to behold, as women came in hardened and cynical and gradually opened up and flourished in the caring and nurturing environment. Many of the women and girls go on to get married or be gainfully employed. I still think of "my" beautiful girls and the opportunities that ICA has opened up to them. After having lives filled with so much pain and misery, ICA has given them hope. I had the privilege of transcribing a few of their stories. All of the girls recounted the first time they met Pat Bradley (the founder of ICA), and how he rescued them and showed them, for the first time, that men could be good.

One of the best things about ICA is their use of the native people to do most of the ground work. I did not see another American ICA worker during my entire time of volunteering over there. All of the programs were run by wonderful and qualified Ethiopians who did their jobs excellently. I

Nothing has changed my life as significantly as my trip to Addis and my front-row seat into the work of ICA. They are changing lives around the world, and it was incredible to witness. After seeing ICA up close and personal, I could not respect the organization more... The efficiency and transparency with which ICA handle their funds and resources is phenomenal.

I have also had the privilege of meeting Pat Bradley, the founder of the organization, and have nothing but the best things to say about him. His humility, generosity and love for all people could not be more evident. He and his team are giving hope thousands of people around the world. I cannot sing the praises of ICA enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. I love ICA and thank God for the work he is doing through a few phenomenal people! Thank you, Pat, Sue and Jennifer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

My family and I have had the blessed opportunity to sponsor two children through ICA for the past four years! Just seeing the amazing pictures each year of their progress both physically and spiritually has been tremendous! Last year, I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with ICA on a mission trip to Ethiopia. I have had the opportunity to work with other mission based organizations, but ICA is top-notch! From leadership all the way down to boots on the ground, their administration of funds donated to help aid people who are starving and in need of being rescued from sex trafficking is amazing! First hand, I was able to help them in starting three new feeding clinics in completely devastating areas in Ethiopia near Kenya. I was overwhelmed at the need of the people, but amazed at what God did through the care of ICA and their volunteers for those people. ICA not only meets the physical/nutritional needs of thousands, they meet health needs and most importantly the spiritual needs of those masses. I will never forget the impact ICA had on those hundreds and ultimately thousands of people we were able to assist. I remember Pat Bradley gathering our team before we began the ground work on a new feeding clinic and telling us that the need was much greater than we could imagine and see, it was overwhelming, but he reminded us that we serve ALMIGHTY GOD and he asked us to stop and pray and truly believe that our GOD could take what little we had to give, bless it and multiply it. It was a true miracle that reminded me of the boy with the loaves and fishes. After returning home and being able to see updated pictures through ICA's website and Facebook, it was totally amazing to see the physical and emotional transformation of those people. Because of Pat Bradley and the rest of his team's total commitment to seeking GOD's guidance, wisdom and blessings first for the people they assist, GOD has blessed their ministry and has allowed them to reach and change the lives of multitudes. I will always be an advocate for ICA and what they are doing within the United States and in many nations abroad! I encourage anyone who is seeking to assist financially or personally through an organization that really DOES make a noticeable difference, they should choose ICA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Phenomenal. Easily one of the best non-profits on the planet. The amount of impact International Crisis Aid Inc has had on the world with their resources has not and will not be matched for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them 1 billion dollars. They use money better than any organization I have ever seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Transparency, effectiveness, efficiency. As a donor to many different ministries and foundations, ICA consistently has exceeded my expectations. I have confidence in Pat and Susan and Dane that when funds are needed and utilized that good stewardship prevails. Whether gently assuming responsibility of a St Louis inner city ministry or attending the weddings of young Ethiopian ladies rescued from slavery, this ministry does it right!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I went to Ethiopia with International Crisis Aid in 2009. I am from London, England but found out about the organization through Joyce Meyer Ministries. Put simply, that trip changed my life. There are a couple of things that struck me about ICA but one of the main things was that rather than coming to Ethiopia and 'taking over,' they connected with a local Ethiopian church and Ethiopian doctors who run the clinics and other programs on the ground. It's the idea of partnership that really struck me and ICA is truly making waves in that nation.

The work with the poor in rural areas, sponsoring children in poor families, the health clinic and the work with women who have been sex-trafficked. It is truly transforming a nation. I love the fact that the staff just get on with it, no fanfare, no fancy advertising campaigns with high administrative costs (when I went in 2009 there were only 2 paid members of staff in the US office, with 98% of all monies going directly into the programs ICA runs) just helping the people, because as they put it 'love had no boundaries.'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

ICA is such an amazing ministry. After hearing about their work almost 3 years ago, my daughter (then only 7 years old) was so impacted by their ministry, especially the girls they help, that she felt burdened to help in any way we could to further ICA's impact. Although I feel like what we are able to do with our time & finances are only a drop in the bucket, the team at ICA is so encouraging, honoring and truly grateful for everything we help with, especially for the efforts of my daughter, which has been so important for her to see the impact she can have at a young age. Every person I have worked at ICA, from the CEO down, is humble & just plain honored to be serving as God's hands & feet here in St. Louis and around the world. I have never seen so much integrity & humility in a ministry. I am truly humbled & blessed for my entire family to play even a small part in such an amazing ministry not only for the work they do but also for the way they do it. ICA is top notch in every aspect. Thank you, ICA, for having such a profound impact not only on the world, but also on my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

We have never felt more confident in giving our finanicial support to an organization. We are so Thankful to be able to be apart of some of the amazing God things that ICA is doing around the world. ICA doesn't just see needs or problems to fix they see people and they start there. ICA loves God's children well!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep working to make ICA known around the world so that more people can team up with you and continue to do what your already doing but in even larger quantities! Ya'll are AWESOME! Praise the Lord for your kingdom work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Great organization. Confidence that funds are spent for purposes intended. administrative expense is kept at bare minimum, good communication on projects, Director and Board Members personally involved, and do projects where others may not go.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2012

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia during the mid-70's and was excited about the opportunity to get involved with Pat and Sue Bradley and ICA. My wife and I have been donors for for more than 5... more

September 12, 2013

We have been donors to ICA for more than 7 years and I have been on 3 missions to Ethiopia with Pat. We know and trust their work. Sue and Pat, and everyone associate with ICA are great. They are doing Christ's work here on earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2012

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia during the mid-70's and was excited about the opportunity to get involved with Pat and Sue Bradley and ICA. My wife and I have been donors for for more than 5 years and I have participated in 3 mission trips as a journalist to Ethiopia with ICA; the most recent in May 2011, with our son. ICA is an excellent organization, doing wonderful work in Ethiopia. I only wish that we could do more to support their mission.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through volunteer work in Ethiopia and my experience as a Peace Corps volunteer in Ethiopia and my work as a journalist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Their work in Ethiopia.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I believe in ICA's values and my love for Ethiopia.

What would you tell others about this organization?

You couldn't make a better contribution to alleviate world hunger, problems than to give to ICA.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Administrative Tasks, Children’s Programs in St. Louis, Donor Relations, Events, Creating Bracelets, Organization and more Volunteer