Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

For 30 years I have observed International Child Care operation. I have been impressed as a volunteer and board member with the health care provided to children and their families. International Child Care provides holistic health care to families and communities in the Lowe Delmas area of Port-au-Prince Haiti. I have been able to directly observe where my dollars and yours providing hope and health care to those in the greatest need. Follow the continue service on www.internatinalchildcare.org Ellen L. Palmer, PhD RN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to increase their revenue to expand the services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have been deeply committed to the work of International Child Care for over thirteen years. I spent twelve years on staff and have continued my involvement as a member of the Board of Directors. I fully support ICC's philosophy of empowerment and self-sustaining ministry, and have witnessed firsthand the impact International Child Care's programs have on children, families and entire communities in Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

International Child Care USA is an excellent organization that focuses on the health and wellness of children and families in Haiti and the Dominican Republic. I've been involved for a couple of years now and have seen their good works in action. They do amazing things!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

ICC is a wonderful organization! It's amazing the number of children they help every year, and the impact this organization has in Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I first became engaged with ICC some 15 years ago when I went to Grace Children's Hospital to visit the children on a trip to Port-au-Prince. I was so impressed with the quality of care they were providing at Grace that for many years, on each visit to Haiti, I would take any team I led to Grace to see their work. Two years ago I was invited to be a member of the Board and have had to opportunity to learn more about the amazing work of ICC in both Haiti and the Dominican Republic. I would encourage anyone interested to view the organizations website and to become more informed of all the good work this organization has done and will continue to do in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase funding to ICC so they can continue to grow in their service to the people of Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have a relatively short history with International Child Care, but have been blown away by the work they do. The work they do in Haiti and the DR is simply incredible. I'm proud to serve on the board of such a great organization serving great people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work towards rebuilding of Grace Children's Hospital, which was destroyed in the massive earthquake of 2010.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My first trip to Haiti was in 1998, when I was 1st exposed to "ICC". This experience was my epiphany. Soon thereafter I gratefully accepted the opportunity to join the board of directors, and I have been involved with ICC ever since. Dealing the non-profit sector is difficult at times. However, my experience with ICC, and it's mission, has been most rewarding, especially the people that I have had the pleasure to work with and for. In spite of the obstacles present in Haiti (especially) and the Dominican Republic, ICC continues to make a difference in the lives of children, their families, and those delivering the mission. Even with its many challenges, ICC is making a BIG difference, and I'm proud to be associated with it! I will strive to work with ICC to provide "Health and Hope..." to the the "least of these", as ICC has made a HUGE impact on my life too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more board members and staff be more responsible as it applies to consistent communication and consistency in what they do. Please keep in mind that there are many committed people with ICC. However, obtaining consistent information and committment from some people has been difficult, thereby making it frustratingly difficult to deliver important programs to those in critical need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As a past board member I spent 25 years working for and with the people of Haiti as a volunteer. I visited many other NGO's while in Haiti from 1977-2002. I chose ICC to spend my time and money with for a variety of reasons, but mainly because their charter was to hire Haitians whenever possible and try to conduct the health care projects as "Haitian" projects, not force-fed ex-pat projects. Also, many NGO's have no plans for sustainability and no long term goals/plans, which often left the Haitian people worse off than if that NGO had never been there. Hope is always a goal and leaving people in the middle of a project takes away that hope. ICC is interdenominational and many religious and non-religious groups have evaluated them and found them worthy of support, from many different countries. ICC has been able to adapt- from a start of being a care-giver for children with TB, to inoculating for TB and other communicable diseases, to starting an 80 bed TB hospital, to instituting health clinics, out patient clinics, training for mid wives and health related topics, to converting over to a "neighborhood" hospital that serves the people in the slums surrounding it. Other clinics and projects have been conducted as money, resources and people have been available, such as the eye clinic. ICC has been used as a model by outside organizations, particularly their inoculation program and their work against TB, which, when started, was one of the major causes of death among children in Haiti. ICC has hosted outside medical clinics, shared their work with others, given aid and help to other NGOs in Haiti when possible. I served as Treasurer of the board for many years and also as President of the US board for 4 years- I was privileged to work with great people, dedicated people, hard-working people, at all levels, from the board to the staff, from the doctors and nurses to the people who cooked the food, cleaned the laundry and kept the compound clean. I know the earthquake was a major blow to the program, but they have survived and are working on plans for rebuilding where the old compound stood, continuing their programs across the street where land was obtained some years ago for expansion- a fortuitous decision, but not unplanned or surprising when you know the time and effort that goes into running the ICC organization. I now teach a class on the history and culture of Haiti and have had the opportunity to mix with others who have had a "Haitian" experience, as short term volunteers or longer term missionaries, case workers, medical study teams and the occasional tourist. It is not an easy country to do business in, to fully understand and to keep going for over 45 years with the turnover in governments, the interferences (good and bad) by the US and outside agencies and countries, and just the logistics of operating in a country that has no infrastructure, supplies and often, utilities and water. ICC should be proud of what they have accomplished- I am proud to have been a small part of their past. My time has past- age catches up with all of us, but it has not diminished my spirit or love for Haiti.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I started my involvement with ICC in 1989. It has been a wonderful journey since then. I love our mission, to bring health and wholeness to children and families in Haiti and the Dominican Republic.
Great work is being done, and has been since the late 60's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the impact to reach more children and families. Rebuild the hospital that collapsed in the 2010 earthquake.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers