Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been on two mission trips to Haiti through ICC. The work they are doing is amazing. On our first trip, we visited Grace Children's Hospital and got to see many of the programs that they offer from working with children with HIV and TB to running outreach clinics and home instructions. Our next visit was to Joli Trou in northern Haiti. In this region, ICC has offered a program of establishing miro-enterprizes. This program has empowered the women and given them the respect they so deserve.Part of the funds earned have been put back into the community to purchase land for the clinic at Joli Trou. This clinic along with the hospital in Grand Norde offers pre-natal care as one of their main focuses. Through them, the former mortality rate of 80% for mothers and babies has been reduced to having not lost a single mother or child in the last two years!! How amazing is that!! All of this and much more is a result of ICC's work. Both trips were truly a blessing.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a once and future board member of ICC, I am deeply committed to the organization and its work to make a difference in the lives of children and of their families in both Haiti and the Dominican Republic. ICC has a truly committed team of professionals and volunteers that continue to amaze me.
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing ... more

October 14, 2014

I am a US pediatrician and have been a volunteer for International Child Care USA since 2000. I have continued to be committed to supporting ICC for several reasons. I had volunteered with several other organizations prior to 2000 that were involved in international health programming but what has kept me engaged in ICC is its history of sustainability, its focus on empowering the local healthcare community and the programs' emphasis on, not just curative care, but on education and preventive healthcare. The ICC USA staff are dedicated, professional and passionate about their work and seeing that ICC does bring health and wholeness to children and families in Haiti and the DR.
October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing short term hands on medical care most often in remote areas. But in working with most of these organizations, I kept feeling like we were just putting a bandaid on a huge gaping wound and at times, possibly even causing harm to the local healthcare systems.
Then in 2000 I had the privilege of visiting International Child Care's programs in Haiti and the DR. It changed my view of international volunteer work and gave me a new direction for my efforts.
In my opinion, ICC serves as a model for effective public health programming that is sustainable and empowers the local healthcare professionals.
My husband and I have become involved as volunteers, supporters and I am presently serving on the ICC USA Board of Directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop a better system for collaboration between US and ICC affiliated Haitian/Dominical healthcare professionals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I have been volunteering with ICC since 2008 in Port-au-Prince, Jolie Trou and most recently, the Dominican Republic. They provide life changing services through health care, education, therapy and relationship building. The ICC workers I have come to know and now call friends, are dedicated and loving. Their skills and energy are inspiring. The children and families receiving services from ICC, have touched my heart and soul, and in so doing have forever changed my life. It is an honor, joy and privilege to partner with ICC, a relationship I hope will continue for years and years to come.
February 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a physician, and my wife Lynne Austin was a pastor/elder of the United Methodist Church. From our first visit in 2008 to Haiti to our most recent in 2012, we were singularly impressed with the dedication of the staff to improving the health of those coming to the hospital - and with the appreciation of the patients and families for the care they received. Lynne focused on their emotional and spiritual needs, such as grief counseling, how to disclose HIV status to children, post-traumatic stress disorder, etc.

We have established a memorial fund in honor of Lynne, to help rebuild the Grace Children's Hospital, that was destroyed in the 2010 earthquake.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educate more people about the unique value ICC contributes, to help with funding for construction and operation of the new Grace Children's Hospial

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The work that ICC does in Haiti and the Dominican Republic is critical for the health and wholeness of children in those countries. What, I believe, sets ICC apart from so many other non-profits and NGOs operating in the DR and especially in Haiti, is its commitment to an equal partnership between the board of directors in the four countries that compromise ICC (Canada, United States, Haiti and the DR). Helping Haitians and Dominicans help themselves is central to the mission of ICC which sets it apart from so many other non-profits operating there. I have been working in Haiti since 2008 and directly with ICC since 2010. The progress I have witnessed with ICC's programs is remarkable - especially considering the terrible destruction and set-backs caused by the 2010 earthquake. ICC's commitment to working with the ministries of health in each country, hiring and training local community members for EVERY position and equality between each participating country for the exchange of ideas and program planning is admirable. I am particularly proud to be a part of the training and education of the women who are part of one of ICC's newest programs in Haiti - the community based rehabilitation program that provides therapies to children with disabilities. I have had the pleasure of watching this program launch and seeing first hand the leadership provided by competent, capable, charismatic Haitians. The community based rehabilitation workers' commitment to their profession and the care and love they provide to the children of Haiti is humbling to witness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . . streamline communication to allow for better and more information sharing between the boards in each country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2011

I've traveled to Haiti and the Dominican Republic with International Child Care several times. They do a great job of providing health care to at-risk children and families, including working with kids who have AIDS and TB. While the organization's Haiti program is dependent on outside financial resources, all of its employees are Haitians, and this impressed me. Despite severe damage and loss of life in the 2010 earthquake, they've managed to open temporary hospital facilities that are now serving thousands of patients. I was in Haiti 6 weeks after the earthquake, and the Haitian staff were caring for large numbers of patients and also providing space for food distribution. Very impressive.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen children who were near death from TB get essential medical care and be able to return to their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Look at how to generate more revenue in Haiti to reduce dependence on outside resources.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers