Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been on two mission trips to Haiti through ICC. The work they are doing is amazing. On our first trip, we visited Grace Children's Hospital and got to see many of the programs that they offer from working with children with HIV and TB to running outreach clinics and home instructions. Our next visit was to Joli Trou in northern Haiti. In this region, ICC has offered a program of establishing miro-enterprizes. This program has empowered the women and given them the respect they so deserve.Part of the funds earned have been put back into the community to purchase land for the clinic at Joli Trou. This clinic along with the hospital in Grand Norde offers pre-natal care as one of their main focuses. Through them, the former mortality rate of 80% for mothers and babies has been reduced to having not lost a single mother or child in the last two years!! How amazing is that!! All of this and much more is a result of ICC's work. Both trips were truly a blessing.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I became involved in this wonderful organization when Grace Hospital first opened, and have been telling the story ever since, to anyone who would listen! This amazing group has made unbelievable strides in changing health care attitudes and delivery in this poverty stricken country of Haiti,and spread their work into the Dominican Republic. From a children's hospital with 50 crib mattreses and a rented residence, and with very little money, bringing hope to the people for relief from the dreaded disease of tb, - to leading the campaign throughout the country against tb., and continuing to find solutions to their many health problems - solutions appropriate for the situations - throughout the Island, ICC works miracles. I continue to tell their story - of clean water for communities, school children, families; of healthy births free of tetanus, of spreading hope and love and encouragement and support and practical solutions health and wholeness.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I had the privilege to visit Grace hospital in Haiti 20 years ago and see first-hand the amazing work that ICC provides for the world's poorest of the poor. It is a fantastic organization. I'm happy to say that for my parents' 50th weddings anniversary they requested donations to ICC in lieu of gifts and were able to donate thousands of dollars to this great non-profit group. Keep up the good work, ICC!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

International Child Care is truly a blessing to the clients it serves. Children and families who live in unimaginable conditions are treated with respect and dignity in an environment designed to heal both their physical and emotional wounds. ICC has been in Haiti nearly 50 years doing amazing work. They are worthy of my donations because I know lives are being saved.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

International Child Care is a fantastic organization that has been working in Haiti for nearly 50 years. They have a remarkable history and provide care to hundreds of children every day. I personally spent several days in Port-au-Prince and visited their hospital (Grace Children’s Hospital). I was impressed by their dedicated staff and overall compassion. It’s sad to see so many problems in Haiti, a country that’s had to endure so many catastrophes over the last several decades. But, it’s really gratifying and encouraging to see ICC making such a positive impact there. Truly a special organization...
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a once and future board member of ICC, I am deeply committed to the organization and its work to make a difference in the lives of children and of their families in both Haiti and the Dominican Republic. ICC has a truly committed team of professionals and volunteers that continue to amaze me.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I have been a Board Member of ICC for four years but have been invovled with ICC's work in Haiti and the Dominican Republic for over 15 years. Over the years I have seen first hand the difference that ICC and Grace Children's Hospital has made in the lives of the children of Haiti and the DR. I chose to be part of the organization because of the dedication of ICC staff and the amzing work they do.
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing ... more

October 14, 2014

I am a US pediatrician and have been a volunteer for International Child Care USA since 2000. I have continued to be committed to supporting ICC for several reasons. I had volunteered with several other organizations prior to 2000 that were involved in international health programming but what has kept me engaged in ICC is its history of sustainability, its focus on empowering the local healthcare community and the programs' emphasis on, not just curative care, but on education and preventive healthcare. The ICC USA staff are dedicated, professional and passionate about their work and seeing that ICC does bring health and wholeness to children and families in Haiti and the DR.
October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing short term hands on medical care most often in remote areas. But in working with most of these organizations, I kept feeling like we were just putting a bandaid on a huge gaping wound and at times, possibly even causing harm to the local healthcare systems.
Then in 2000 I had the privilege of visiting International Child Care's programs in Haiti and the DR. It changed my view of international volunteer work and gave me a new direction for my efforts.
In my opinion, ICC serves as a model for effective public health programming that is sustainable and empowers the local healthcare professionals.
My husband and I have become involved as volunteers, supporters and I am presently serving on the ICC USA Board of Directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop a better system for collaboration between US and ICC affiliated Haitian/Dominical healthcare professionals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I have been volunteering with ICC since 2008 in Port-au-Prince, Jolie Trou and most recently, the Dominican Republic. They provide life changing services through health care, education, therapy and relationship building. The ICC workers I have come to know and now call friends, are dedicated and loving. Their skills and energy are inspiring. The children and families receiving services from ICC, have touched my heart and soul, and in so doing have forever changed my life. It is an honor, joy and privilege to partner with ICC, a relationship I hope will continue for years and years to come.
September 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

My first trip to Haiti was in 1998, when I was 1st exposed to "ICC". This experience was my epiphany. Soon thereafter I gratefully accepted the opportunity to join the board of directors, and I have... more

September 30, 2014

What is amazing to me is the high level of dedication put forth by the men and women of International Child Care - from the office staff, to the health workers, to the nurses, to the doctors, attendees in the children's ward, to those who provide other important services, sometimes with little or no recognition. As a board member, I find it very hard to not do my best to assist those in the field, when they do so much to make a difference to those in critical need. My hat is off to them, and I will continue to strive to provide the necessary resources for those in the field who are putting forth those important services at the hospital, clinic, home, or where-ever those in need gather - especially the children! They give me tremendous strength, and determination, with a sense of hope for the future in Haiti and the D.R.
October 4, 2013

My first trip to Haiti was in 1998, when I was 1st exposed to "ICC". This experience was my epiphany. Soon thereafter I gratefully accepted the opportunity to join the board of directors, and I have been involved with ICC ever since. Dealing the non-profit sector is difficult at times. However, my experience with ICC, and it's mission, has been most rewarding, especially the people that I have had the pleasure to work with and for. In spite of the obstacles present in Haiti (especially) and the Dominican Republic, ICC continues to make a difference in the lives of children, their families, and those delivering the mission. Even with its many challenges, ICC is making a BIG difference, and I'm proud to be associated with it! I will strive to work with ICC to provide "Health and Hope..." to the the "least of these", as ICC has made a HUGE impact on my life too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more board members and staff be more responsible as it applies to consistent communication and consistency in what they do. Please keep in mind that there are many committed people with ICC. However, obtaining consistent information and committment from some people has been difficult, thereby making it frustratingly difficult to deliver important programs to those in critical need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers