Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I have been a Board Member of ICC for four years but have been invovled with ICC's work in Haiti and the Dominican Republic for over 15 years. Over the years I have seen first hand the difference that ICC and Grace Children's Hospital has made in the lives of the children of Haiti and the DR. I chose to be part of the organization because of the dedication of ICC staff and the amzing work they do.
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing ... more

October 14, 2014

I am a US pediatrician and have been a volunteer for International Child Care USA since 2000. I have continued to be committed to supporting ICC for several reasons. I had volunteered with several other organizations prior to 2000 that were involved in international health programming but what has kept me engaged in ICC is its history of sustainability, its focus on empowering the local healthcare community and the programs' emphasis on, not just curative care, but on education and preventive healthcare. The ICC USA staff are dedicated, professional and passionate about their work and seeing that ICC does bring health and wholeness to children and families in Haiti and the DR.
October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing short term hands on medical care most often in remote areas. But in working with most of these organizations, I kept feeling like we were just putting a bandaid on a huge gaping wound and at times, possibly even causing harm to the local healthcare systems.
Then in 2000 I had the privilege of visiting International Child Care's programs in Haiti and the DR. It changed my view of international volunteer work and gave me a new direction for my efforts.
In my opinion, ICC serves as a model for effective public health programming that is sustainable and empowers the local healthcare professionals.
My husband and I have become involved as volunteers, supporters and I am presently serving on the ICC USA Board of Directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop a better system for collaboration between US and ICC affiliated Haitian/Dominical healthcare professionals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I have been volunteering with ICC since 2008 in Port-au-Prince, Jolie Trou and most recently, the Dominican Republic. They provide life changing services through health care, education, therapy and relationship building. The ICC workers I have come to know and now call friends, are dedicated and loving. Their skills and energy are inspiring. The children and families receiving services from ICC, have touched my heart and soul, and in so doing have forever changed my life. It is an honor, joy and privilege to partner with ICC, a relationship I hope will continue for years and years to come.
September 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

My first trip to Haiti was in 1998, when I was 1st exposed to "ICC". This experience was my epiphany. Soon thereafter I gratefully accepted the opportunity to join the board of directors, and I have... more

September 30, 2014

What is amazing to me is the high level of dedication put forth by the men and women of International Child Care - from the office staff, to the health workers, to the nurses, to the doctors, attendees in the children's ward, to those who provide other important services, sometimes with little or no recognition. As a board member, I find it very hard to not do my best to assist those in the field, when they do so much to make a difference to those in critical need. My hat is off to them, and I will continue to strive to provide the necessary resources for those in the field who are putting forth those important services at the hospital, clinic, home, or where-ever those in need gather - especially the children! They give me tremendous strength, and determination, with a sense of hope for the future in Haiti and the D.R.
October 4, 2013

My first trip to Haiti was in 1998, when I was 1st exposed to "ICC". This experience was my epiphany. Soon thereafter I gratefully accepted the opportunity to join the board of directors, and I have been involved with ICC ever since. Dealing the non-profit sector is difficult at times. However, my experience with ICC, and it's mission, has been most rewarding, especially the people that I have had the pleasure to work with and for. In spite of the obstacles present in Haiti (especially) and the Dominican Republic, ICC continues to make a difference in the lives of children, their families, and those delivering the mission. Even with its many challenges, ICC is making a BIG difference, and I'm proud to be associated with it! I will strive to work with ICC to provide "Health and Hope..." to the the "least of these", as ICC has made a HUGE impact on my life too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more board members and staff be more responsible as it applies to consistent communication and consistency in what they do. Please keep in mind that there are many committed people with ICC. However, obtaining consistent information and committment from some people has been difficult, thereby making it frustratingly difficult to deliver important programs to those in critical need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I have been a Board Member of ICC USA for about three years and am amazed by the incredible things that are happening for the children and families of Haiti and the Dominican Republic. This organization does a tremendous job with direct fundraising in the US to support these efforts, as well as working side by side with the great people in these countries that are delivering the much needed services. I'm happy and honored to continue supporting ICC USA.
September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

As a board member and volunteer, I have worked with ICC for around 10 yrs now, and traveled to Haiti with them at least 1-2 times/year. The US staff is helpful and works hard to see that funds are used with good stewardship in mind, putting the needs of the children of Haiti and the Dominican Republic above all else. I have been particularly impressed witht he dedication of the Haitian and Dominican Health Care workers who work for ICC to provide care for their patients even when resources are slim. The workers in Haiti worked non-stop during the weeks following the earthquake providing care for both their patients as well as those in the community. The Dominicans worked to help the Haitians following the earthquake, and have continued to provide care for all the disabled kids they help, with reduced budgets due to having to help their Haitian colleagues. One of my colleagues referred to Grace Children's Hospital as "the little hospital that could" which I think aptly describes a place that provides top notch care with very few resources. I can only hope to do as well as my Haitian and Dominican colleagues....
February 2, 2014

more

February 2, 2014

I am a physician, and my wife Lynne Austin was a pastor/elder of the United Methodist Church. From our first visit in 2008 to Haiti to our most recent in 2012, we were singularly impressed with the dedication of the staff to improving the health of those coming to the hospital - and with the appreciation of the patients and families for the care they received. Lynne focused on their emotional and spiritual needs, such as grief counseling, how to disclose HIV status to children, post-traumatic stress disorder, etc.

We have established a memorial fund in honor of Lynne, to help rebuild the Grace Children's Hospital, that was destroyed in the 2010 earthquake.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educate more people about the unique value ICC contributes, to help with funding for construction and operation of the new Grace Children's Hospial

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

For 30 years I have observed International Child Care operation. I have been impressed as a volunteer and board member with the health care provided to children and their families. International Child Care provides holistic health care to families and communities in the Lowe Delmas area of Port-au-Prince Haiti. I have been able to directly observe where my dollars and yours providing hope and health care to those in the greatest need. Follow the continue service on www.internatinalchildcare.org Ellen L. Palmer, PhD RN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to increase their revenue to expand the services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have been deeply committed to the work of International Child Care for over thirteen years. I spent twelve years on staff and have continued my involvement as a member of the Board of Directors. I fully support ICC's philosophy of empowerment and self-sustaining ministry, and have witnessed firsthand the impact International Child Care's programs have on children, families and entire communities in Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

International Child Care USA is an excellent organization that focuses on the health and wellness of children and families in Haiti and the Dominican Republic. I've been involved for a couple of years now and have seen their good works in action. They do amazing things!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers