Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 2, 2014

more

February 2, 2014

I am a physician, and my wife Lynne Austin was a pastor/elder of the United Methodist Church. From our first visit in 2008 to Haiti to our most recent in 2012, we were singularly impressed with the dedication of the staff to improving the health of those coming to the hospital - and with the appreciation of the patients and families for the care they received. Lynne focused on their emotional and spiritual needs, such as grief counseling, how to disclose HIV status to children, post-traumatic stress disorder, etc.

We have established a memorial fund in honor of Lynne, to help rebuild the Grace Children's Hospital, that was destroyed in the 2010 earthquake.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educate more people about the unique value ICC contributes, to help with funding for construction and operation of the new Grace Children's Hospial

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

For 30 years I have observed International Child Care operation. I have been impressed as a volunteer and board member with the health care provided to children and their families. International Child Care provides holistic health care to families and communities in the Lowe Delmas area of Port-au-Prince Haiti. I have been able to directly observe where my dollars and yours providing hope and health care to those in the greatest need. Follow the continue service on www.internatinalchildcare.org Ellen L. Palmer, PhD RN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to increase their revenue to expand the services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I am a pediatrician and have participated in international volunteer medical activities for over 20 years. My husband (a radiologist) and I have volunteered in several developing countries, providing short term hands on medical care most often in remote areas. But in working with most of these organizations, I kept feeling like we were just putting a bandaid on a huge gaping wound and at times, possibly even causing harm to the local healthcare systems.
Then in 2000 I had the privilege of visiting International Child Care's programs in Haiti and the DR. It changed my view of international volunteer work and gave me a new direction for my efforts.
In my opinion, ICC serves as a model for effective public health programming that is sustainable and empowers the local healthcare professionals.
My husband and I have become involved as volunteers, supporters and I am presently serving on the ICC USA Board of Directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop a better system for collaboration between US and ICC affiliated Haitian/Dominical healthcare professionals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have been deeply committed to the work of International Child Care for over thirteen years. I spent twelve years on staff and have continued my involvement as a member of the Board of Directors. I fully support ICC's philosophy of empowerment and self-sustaining ministry, and have witnessed firsthand the impact International Child Care's programs have on children, families and entire communities in Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

International Child Care USA is an excellent organization that focuses on the health and wellness of children and families in Haiti and the Dominican Republic. I've been involved for a couple of years now and have seen their good works in action. They do amazing things!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

ICC is a wonderful organization! It's amazing the number of children they help every year, and the impact this organization has in Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I first became engaged with ICC some 15 years ago when I went to Grace Children's Hospital to visit the children on a trip to Port-au-Prince. I was so impressed with the quality of care they were providing at Grace that for many years, on each visit to Haiti, I would take any team I led to Grace to see their work. Two years ago I was invited to be a member of the Board and have had to opportunity to learn more about the amazing work of ICC in both Haiti and the Dominican Republic. I would encourage anyone interested to view the organizations website and to become more informed of all the good work this organization has done and will continue to do in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase funding to ICC so they can continue to grow in their service to the people of Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The work that ICC does in Haiti and the Dominican Republic is critical for the health and wholeness of children in those countries. What, I believe, sets ICC apart from so many other non-profits and NGOs operating in the DR and especially in Haiti, is its commitment to an equal partnership between the board of directors in the four countries that compromise ICC (Canada, United States, Haiti and the DR). Helping Haitians and Dominicans help themselves is central to the mission of ICC which sets it apart from so many other non-profits operating there. I have been working in Haiti since 2008 and directly with ICC since 2010. The progress I have witnessed with ICC's programs is remarkable - especially considering the terrible destruction and set-backs caused by the 2010 earthquake. ICC's commitment to working with the ministries of health in each country, hiring and training local community members for EVERY position and equality between each participating country for the exchange of ideas and program planning is admirable. I am particularly proud to be a part of the training and education of the women who are part of one of ICC's newest programs in Haiti - the community based rehabilitation program that provides therapies to children with disabilities. I have had the pleasure of watching this program launch and seeing first hand the leadership provided by competent, capable, charismatic Haitians. The community based rehabilitation workers' commitment to their profession and the care and love they provide to the children of Haiti is humbling to witness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . . streamline communication to allow for better and more information sharing between the boards in each country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have a relatively short history with International Child Care, but have been blown away by the work they do. The work they do in Haiti and the DR is simply incredible. I'm proud to serve on the board of such a great organization serving great people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work towards rebuilding of Grace Children's Hospital, which was destroyed in the massive earthquake of 2010.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My first trip to Haiti was in 1998, when I was 1st exposed to "ICC". This experience was my epiphany. Soon thereafter I gratefully accepted the opportunity to join the board of directors, and I have been involved with ICC ever since. Dealing the non-profit sector is difficult at times. However, my experience with ICC, and it's mission, has been most rewarding, especially the people that I have had the pleasure to work with and for. In spite of the obstacles present in Haiti (especially) and the Dominican Republic, ICC continues to make a difference in the lives of children, their families, and those delivering the mission. Even with its many challenges, ICC is making a BIG difference, and I'm proud to be associated with it! I will strive to work with ICC to provide "Health and Hope..." to the the "least of these", as ICC has made a HUGE impact on my life too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more board members and staff be more responsible as it applies to consistent communication and consistency in what they do. Please keep in mind that there are many committed people with ICC. However, obtaining consistent information and committment from some people has been difficult, thereby making it frustratingly difficult to deliver important programs to those in critical need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers