Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Can't say enough about this fantastic organization and the care they take of our injured birds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd give them millions so they could expand to different areas of the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began my volunteer work in February 2005, encouraged by a news article about an organization cleaning the oil off seabirds from a natural oil seep off the coast of Ventura, CA. From my first day I saw how the staff and the other volunteers were passionately dedicated to the rehabilitation and release of thousands of birds of dozens of aquatic species of each year, professionally caring for each one.
I learned, and became directly involved with Bird Rescue's oil spill response activities during various spills within California, and saw how what I had learned about bird physiology and care was so important for the care of birds involves in oil spills, and that the synergy between rehabilitation and spill response was critical to successful spill outcomes around the world.
By attending seminars and conferences, I observed how Bird Rescue staff and experienced volunteers were educating many wildlife rehabilitators around the world in the care of aquatic birds - sharing their expertise and passion.
By working with the Bird Rescue veterinarian I saw how the organization continually advances the science of bird rehabilitation, nutrition, husbandry, and physical therapy.
After almost 9 years, I continue to enjoy working with staff and other volunteers in making a difference in the lives of these amazing co-inhabitants of our natural world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

International Bird Rescue (IBR) has a deeply dedicated team of skilled wildlife professionals that deliver life-saving treatments to seabirds and shorebirds that inhabit our oceans and bays. Some of the 5,000 birds treated at our two California centers each year include pelicans, surf scoters, owls, loons, seagulls, albatrosses, egrets, ducklings, even tiny hummingbirds. Both adults and orphaned baby birds receive care. I'm proud to have volunteered for this organization since 2009.

IBR's experts help train wildlife responders in the latest seabird rescue and rehabilitation techniques, and are called in as first responders during oil spills and other wildlife emergencies around the globe. During the 2000 Treasure oil spill, IBR's innovative rehabilitation methods saved nearly 15,000 African penguins from almost certain death.

More and more, they're responding to non-oil related emergencies at home, as seabirds, particularly pelicans, find themselves caught in and injured by fishing hooks and lines, or are left cold and weak by harmful blooms of ocean algae, which strip the natural weatherproofing from their feathers. Thanks to the generosity of our supporters, IBR now has an upgraded pelican aviary to house seasonal influxes of victims. IBR's "Blue-Banded Pelican Project" helps track the success of released pelicans while engaging the public in citizen science by inviting them to spot and report birds tagged with IBR's trademark blue bands.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

IBRRC has two locations: Northern California and Southern California. They provide rehabilitative care to aquatic birds (and the occassional non-aquatic animal) from the smallest sanderling to the biggest pelican.

Primarily tasked with oil spill response (teams just recently got back from
the Gulf!), that is not by any means all they do! The injuries and illnesses are year round and neverending: fishing line injuries, animals swallowing fish hooks, animals that have been cruelly abused (pelicans with lacerated pouches, gulls that have been shot with pellet guns, the list goes on and on), pelicans with domoic acid poisoning - they see it all, and they treat it all.

Because they are a nonprofit organization, they rely upon donations and memberships to provide the much needed funding for medical supplies and even food for the animals in care.

They have a very small staff (for the scope of what they do and the number of animals that they treat - the SoCal facility especially!) and volunteers play a big role in allowing the staff to focus on the care and treatment of the animals.

The people at IBRRC are dedicated and passionate about the care they give to the animals, and they fully deserve as many accolades - and donations - as can be heaped upon them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The best experience of my life was the first time I got to release a pelican that I had helped to care for. It was amazing and rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wave a magic wand and give them an endless budget.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers