Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I have bi-polar. Everyday I realize with this website I am not alone. My struggles don't go unnoticed. They gave great support banners I can proudly display on my Facebook. Having bi-polar doesn't define me as a person , it is part of my person. Through the support on this website many people can show support for others and talk about their story. I am very grateful to the Bi-Polar organization for having the wisdom and strength to boldly help others with this disorder. Sincerely Janet Thomas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they got more funding to continue to help others and research bi-polar.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I am not a volunteer, or a professional, or any of the other listed categories, I am family member of someone I love who has a dual diagnosis of BPD and BPD (go figure). The IBF site is a breath of fresh air to those of us who have given up the hope finding a better way to help those we care for and about. I have hope again because this very informative site offers so many newer ideas and support to all of us daring to seek answers from the medical institutions in N.America. This site offers the best eyes on the Disorder that I have ever seen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it be a Canadian site, but I'll be continuing to follow what they do because it has relevant information for Canadians too.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

The diligence, work ethic, and dedication of the International Biopolar Foundation is impeccable. They have reached across the globe helping countless individuals and their families and friends of those with the mental illness Bipolar Disorder. Their efforts have literally saved lives. I highly recommend them to anyone in such need. IBPF is amazing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

As a person who lives with bipolar, this foundation helps to rid society of the stigma people have towards mental illness. They do their best to get people help and educate others about mental illness. I am fortunate to now serve on their CAC and help advise them on areas we still need to reach. I wish I had known about them early on in my diagnosis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

For 22 years now I have been the only person who has stayed in contact with my daughter who has Bipolar disorder, the pain and struggle that she and I have gone through can't be describe here. My daughter again is hospitalized, I cannot express how thankful and grateful the education I have received on the webinars through International Bipolar Foundation, they have enabled and equip me to see that education of this illness has finally given me understanding and hope for my daughter. My prayer is that one day she can view this educational webinars and referrals so she can start to see that she has a hopeful, productive future. This education that I have gone through should be given to doctors, hospitals and long term facilities and social workers that are connected to help the mentally ill patient.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word how this organization needs to be acknowledge in the media to further the education of mental illness, the only way this world will come to understand what a Bipolar patient suffers is through the education and support from all levels of government, legislation, and public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

The day I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder was such an eventful experience that I will never forget. It has impacted every decision I have made in my life from that point forward. I have been so blessed to find such an organization as this at such a young age! My thanks goes out to those that created/run this organization. I learned about you five years after my diagnosis, and those first five years were very difficult and lonely with no one outside my immediate family to support me. Now that I have found an entire network of those that have the same diagnosis as I have, I'm not so lonely anymore........ so thanks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has been a huge support to my whole family. I am so grateful that we found them! My daughter struggles with Bipolar Disorder. Together we can make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
May 31, 2013

When our daughter was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, we were blind-sided and ignorant. We were so glad to discover the International Bipolar Foundation, known as California Bipolar Foundation back ... more

July 16, 2013

My husband and I were blind-sided when our son was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Even though I had been a teacher for 31 years, we were not prepared for this diagnosis for our son. I combed the internet looking for information. There wasn't very much back then. I did find a Mental Health Fair in our area which we attended and discovered the California Bipolar Foundation which had been started by some mothers of bipolar children. We signed up for the newsletter and spent the day at the resource tables and sessions. This is where we found parent support groups and information about nutrition. I became a volunteer for the newly named International Bipolar Foundation and helped with the Education Committee, resource fairs, and fund-raisers. Since then, we have used the referral and information IBPF offers on their website. I have become involved with offering and awarding the Girl Scouts' special patch: Mental Health Awareness. I still attend my support group every month. Being involved in International Bipolar Foundation has benefitted our family and helped us help our son with the challenges of bipolar disorder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to increase volunteers and fund-raising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

When our daughter was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, we were blind-sided and ignorant. We were so glad to discover the International Bipolar Foundation, known as California Bipolar Foundation back then. We received badly needed support and information. We immediately attended support groups for parents which were sponsored by IBPF. Since then, we've attended lectures, health fairs and fund-raisers organized by IBPF. The newsletter, website, publications and webinars have helped us stay informed about the latest research and treatments. I have become a member of the Program Committee and other volunteer opportunities which have helped me feel that I'm helping to cure the disease and educate people about the stigma associated with having bipolar disease. I'm especially proud of my work with the Girl Scouts to earn our Mental Health Awareness Patch.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

International Bipolar Foundation has been my source of support, information and hope. Since my son was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, we have searched for answers to our questions. The International Bipolar Foundation put on a mental health fair that we attended. It provided us with much-needed referrals, suggestions and access to support groups. The monthly newsletter has kept us up to date with the latest research and treatments. We have volunteered to help at fund-raising events and lectures, and to pay back for the many benefits we have received. We are so happy to have IBPF in our community to extend much-needed help to other families like ours.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2011

My daughter was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder in 2007. I knew I needed information and support. I discovered California Bipolar Foundation (later called International Bipolar Foundation) at a mental health fair. Immediately I received their newsletter filled with sources and valuable information. I also attended a support group for caregivers of people with Bipolar Disorder and found the support I needed from other folks like me. I have since become a volunteer to assist continuing the goals of the foundation and to continue to meet other members who support each other. The search for solutions and improvements in this very difficult disorder helps me feel more positive about the outcomes for my daughter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My stress level is lower due to the support and information provided. I know so much more about Bipolar Disorder than I did before. I've enjoyed the friends I've met along the way of volunteering for the various functions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to recruit more volunteers and members.

July 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It amazes me that the internet has so completely changed the atmosphere of being able to be open about mental health issues. I have been a frequent communicator on the International Bipolar Foundation site and it has been good to be open about my personal struggle with depressions. At one time I did not feel comfortable sharing about this issue, but everything has changed. I do know that my instructors at Drake University knew, during my graduate work, but the ADA is a support for those with disabilities both in employment and in schooling. The problem I felt was that I was afraid that if I was honest about my mental health challenges that I would not be considered for employment in the social services positions I held for some twenty years. Despite these issues I held very responsible positions such as a Case Manager and House Parent for disabled vulnerable adults. It was my pleasure to work, in fact I was a "workaholic"! Now after a decade of disability my health has returned to me and I have "found my voice" as it were. I know that what I have to speak about or write about may be helpful for those who struggle with mental health issues. I have walked through that same valley. At times I did not even know if I could see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. Now I have come out the other side! I want to let others know that there is the possibility for health. As a vocational rehab. counselor I cannot keep silent about these issues. Someone out there may be helped by what I have to share. Thank you for International Bipolar International because I could not continue to "hide in the closet" as it were, because in a counseling session with my wonderful counselor he asked me directly, "Well you are willing to write and study about FMS (fibromyalgia) why not your Bipolar issues as WELL?" It really made me think, and I decided that I could no longer deny this part of my past. I do mean PAST because I have been able to control my bodies' bent for the rollercoaster life of bipolar illness. I am not saying I am at a one hundred percent, but once I was only at 20%. Now I can do much of what I want to when I want to. I have so much joy about what has happened to me, health wise, that I want to "get up on my soap box" and tell the whole world. Well I know that the WWW reaches all around the world. Since this is an International organization, I say BRAVO for advocating for all of us with mental health challenges!! Thank you and I would submit this with all due respect, Debra J. Kelly Greene MS Edu (A vocational rehabilitation counselor that has walked in their shoes and now wants to dance in them!!) Thanks again, djkgc

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There would be nothing that I would change, I am thankful for this organization that advocates for this disability. djkgc

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After leaving the hospital when I had my last episode, I was desperate to learn more about my illness and find suppport. IBPF was an immense support and gave me hope & courage. The current research they provided about bipolar disorder from various sources was very informative & that was what I was most interested in. They also shared several articles on how to cope with the illness. I also applaud their efforts to help reduce the stigma about mental illness. I was very happy to find an organization solely dedicated to bipolar disorder. I strongly believe that organizations such as the International Bipolar Foundation (IBFP) are GREATLY needed in this time and age considering there is still such a huge amount of stigma surrounding mental illness and it is still such a taboo topic in many societies around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the facebook page for IBFP look a little more professional looking.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers