Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

My name is Curdajia, I have been a member of the LA Samba kids for about 4 1/2 years now. Every day spent with this program has been a blessing. I have gained so much knowledge not only music-wise, but socially and academically. Being part of the La Samba kids has brought out a side of me that I probably would've never let show until given an opportunity such as this. The program simply brings joy, excitement, and warmth to a child's life. I joined this program in the 6th or 7th grade and I am now a junior in highschool, taking the role of a youth leadership student so that I can help the kids that are where I used to be when first joining the program. I greatly respect and appreciate Mr. Sydney, and Ms. Roya Lisboa for guiding us through life and teaching us to express through music.
January 19, 2014

more

January 19, 2014

My name is Melvin Oliver, I'm 15 years old and have been a L.A. Samba kid drummer since six grade and I was 11 yrs old. I was a boy that nobody knew my name, except the boy that does back flips. L.A. Samba Kids helped me learn drumming which was a way of dealing with my anger, and how to be a gentleman in the world. The past four years I've learn about the Brazilian culture and have learn a little bit of Portuguese. I'm now one of the youth leaders teaching the new Samba kids of Muir middle school. Youth Leadership at first was hard with finding my way to co teach other kids, but now is a blessing. I like teaching kids because it makes me feel good knowing I'm able to help others the way Mr. Sidney was able to help me. I recommend this program to kids who are wanting to learn drumming and a different culture that is really cool.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to help the L.A. Samba Kids buy handing our flyers for the kids of the community so that they know what this program is about. More Samba Kids means more drummers and more parades.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I saw the L.A. Samba Kids at a community fair called Earth Day in South L.A. and was amazed at the talent the kids have. They played Brazilian rhythms and had the crowd dancing along with my daughter who is 9 yrs old and still in elementary,. In a few years I would like to sign my child up for this program, which she asked if she could join and learn to play drums. Great job L.A. Samba kids and keep up to great work within our community, which music is essential for our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask how I as a parent can help the organization with field trips, costumes, and even have a bake sale in support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

It has been an honor to be part of the LA Samba Kids Organization. Sidney and Roya are so passionate and dedicated to the students. They take a personal interest in the overall well being of all of the students. I have witnessed a transformation in youth who have experienced personal loss and live in circumstances beyond their control. The participants are taught in a disciplined and nurturing setting offering them hope for their future. It is because of the passion, dedication, determination and commitment of the leaders that result in the success of this program. Additionally, Sidney and Roya commit 5 days minimum a week during the school year, as well as finance the program from their personal finances in order to keep the program going. I consider this program one of the greatest programs however, it lacks the financial support needed to take it to the next level. My hope is to focus harder on raising funds to support this much needed program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a fund raising committee to focus on raising funds and grant writing while the director and teaching staff focused on teaching the curriculum. I would also require annual dues from board members in an effort to support the ongoing program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I worked as a teacher where LA Samba Kids were practicing and learning Samba after school I found myself drawn to listen and after dancing to my car for several weeks I wandered over to find out who was making the great Samba music and was surprised to find out it was our students. Sidney and Roya were donating their time, instruments, and money to teach these children patiently giving them the gift of music. Overtime, the program has grown but one thing remains the same, the committment and talent of Sidney and Roya. I wish we had their program at the high school where I currently teach. The power of music to heal is immeasurable and there are few people who bring music like Roya and Sidney and their LA SAMBA KIds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

L.A. SAMBA KIDS has far exceeds my expectations! I am incredibly touched by these children. I've known the group's coordinators, Sidney Lisboa and Roya for years, but I did not know about their work with these children until October 22, 2011. Despite, I had seen pictures of them and some video at facebook, I never really had attended any of their events. My involvement with them happened when I was choreographing and producing my own show called "A Night in Rio." Two weeks before the performance, I woke up in the middle of the night and something was telling me to invite them to the show. I contacted Sidney and Roya not believing that they would accept such of short-notice invitation. For my surprise and happiness, they accepted the invitation, but due to the schedules conflicts, transportation issues, and other factors, we never had a chance of having rehearsel together. I trusted my instinct! The L.A SAMBA KIDS was the highlight of our performance. They demonstrated talent, skills, and hard work. They played wonderful Brazilian music and also they were very receptive to the love and admiration given to them by the audience and other performers. I am so grateful that I listened to the voice that told me to call them to participate in my project. I am delighted and enchanted by the incredible work of Sidney and Roya with these children and learning about the actual conditions that they consistently deliver music, emotional support, and culture to these children, made me to become their number one fan. The importance and need of programs like L.A. SAMBA KIDS in LOS ANGELES are beyond measure. I just can imagine how many children could benefit from this program and how our future would be in better conditions. Sidney and Roya are bringing to the children at risk so much of strength, self-confidence, life choices, and positive attitude. They are giving this children a chance of remaking their life story and building their future! I completely fell in love with L.A. SAMBA KIDS and I truly believe that this program needs to receive all the community financial and other types of support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my event "A Night in Rio."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to receive more donations. Teach the children SAMBA classes

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers