Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.686275
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

My internship with Food First truly opened my eyes to the many endemic problems of the global food system. I was given the opportunity to improve my research, writing, and language skills, and was even able to publish a few articles. The office is very cozy and home made lunches in the garden each day gave me a great opportunity to get to know the staff and other interns. You must be very independent an self-sufficient, because they have high expectations and do not coddle you, but it was a wonderful experience that I am very grateful for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give interns more structured opportunities to talk with and meet each other, staff members, and guests.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

My internship at Food First has opened my eyes on many subjects and helped me develop a more critical point of view. I met and worked with inspiring people and I hope to contribute again in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Supervise the interns more

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

Food First provides young people like me a space to think radically, practice academic and hands-on research, and connect to food movements internationally as well as within the US and the San Francisco Bay Area. Unlike many internships, where you are stuck doing the work your supervisors don't want to, Executive Director Eric Holt-Gimenez and Research Coordinator Tanya Kerssen encourage interns to do research that is meaningful to them as well as collaborate on any current Food First research projects. This mix of independent and collaborative work is fertile ground for critically-minded students and young people. I was able to work on a diverse set of projects during my time at Food First. I did qualitative research assessing the state of the Food Justice movement in the Bay Area, wrote about the politics of Food Aid and land grabs in the Americas, interviewed locals in the food movement and wrote news articles, and conducted literature research about quinoa production and trade in Bolivia. My best advice to you: come prepared to pursue your own research under the helpful tutelage of Eric and Tanya, as well as jump in and collaborate on Food First research projects. And become friends with Marilyn; she's the backbone of the whole organization.

-- Brock Hicks, Research Intern

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Structure interns' time more, have more staff meetings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Serving on the Board of Food First gives me the privilege of supporting the organization's trail-blazing work in the complex domains of food justice and food sovereignty. The basic research; the careful analysis; the publication of findings; the support for young scholars; the on-the-ground work for local food justice groups; the local and international perspective: all of these qualities fulfill the basic Food First mission as a "think and do tank". Food First enjoys outstanding leadership from Executive Director Eric Holt-Gimenez and the unsung heroes such as Marilyn Borchardt, Director of Development. Eric and Food First provide local, national and international leadership for the food justice and food sovereignty movements, addressing is systemic inequities and failures in building sustainable, equitable, healthy food system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

As a U.S. Fulbright student I lived and did research in Brazil, the first couple of months in the Northeast in the state of Pernambuco and later in the interior of Sao Paulo state. I learned first hand the benefits of Agroecology in rural Brazil and have since dedicated much of my research on Brazil's rural development on this topic. The research and work done by Food First, or the Institute for food and Development Policy Inc., has proved indispensable for my research and this innovative and sustainable approach to agriculture. I hope to participate in one of Food First's Sovereignty tours, and am very much looking forward to taking a pre-Congress course, among different prominent speakers, Eric Holt Gomez during the Latin American Congress of Agroecology this year in Peru.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would offer internship experiences online, as well as paid internships for people with research experience and interest.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I had come across Food First publications a number of times during my undergraduate studies and masters. I eventually decided to carry out an internship at Food First based off of all the positive acknowledgment of its work from respected professors and colleagues of mine, their literature I had read, and their collaboration with other organizations such as Via Campecina.
I greatly value the time I spent with Food First. While I was working with them it became clear how important their close collaboration with people’s organizations and peasant groups is, both locally and globally. This collaboration allows for Food First to accurately publicize information from its roots, rather than the typical top-down approach.
My experience with them as an intern allowed me to gain a much better understanding of the inner workings of a non-profit. Food First is a creative and encouraging environment for one to gain useful skills and to constructively work towards their ideals and aspirations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

As a graduate and undergraduate student, I have used literature from Food First to support research projects and papers. I decided to intern with Food First to gain experience working with a credible and distinguished organization. As an intern, I was given the opportunity to help write articles and research issues of food justice. Food First requires its interns to work independently and produce professional and well-researched pieces.Working with Eric Holt-Gimenez and Food First was definitely a highlight to my academic career. As an organization, they are dedicated and passionate about advocating for international food justice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

Their literature talks about "food justice" and the 99% getting sick and tired while "multi-billionaires make mega-profits speculating with our food". It also has code word "occupy" and talks about the "injustices that cause hunger" and that "food has become another form of oppression" and many more progressive buzzwords. I'd rather donate to local food pantries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience interning with Food First exceeded my expectations. Though the internship is very loose in its structure, the structure places the intern in control. Interns are given near complete responsibility for what they take away from the experience. For some, this is frightening, for me, this was exciting. I worked specifically with the Oakland Food Policy Council and the Council's coordinator. ..... The other thing that I appreciated about interning with Food First is the communal lunches. Food First provides its interns with lunch nearly everyday. Not only are the lunches (really) good, they facilitate respectful and intellectual conversation among all: interns, staff, and executive director. I learned much during the lunch hour.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was in intern with Food First for almost a year while finishing up my studies at Cal, and the experience changed my life. It's a very different type on internship structure, and I was able to create my own projects and participate in ongoing projects. Food First gives you the foundation to critique our industrialized food regime and provides analysis and specific solutions on how we can fix it. Being situated in the Bay Area, in the context of strong and active community organization added value to my experience. Because of Food First, I now have a strong foundation for going out into the world and playing my unique role for change. Some of my favorite memories are the shared lunches and gardening experiences with fellow interns and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers