Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

This organization help my friends mom get out of prison after 17 years for a murder she didn't commit
Thanks for everything
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They did such a great job with the Susan Mullen case, the State of California should hire them and fire the incompetent prosecutors they have...
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Deirdre O'Conner and her team at Innocence Matters were instrumental in bringing home my friend Jessica Besch's mom Susan Mellen!!! Her freedom was long overdue. Jessica is very close to my cousin and her family so this was kind of close to home. Thank you for what you did!!!!
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Innocence Matters brought my friends family back together again. Without their hard work and dedication an innocent women would still be behind bars for the rest of her life. So grateful that there are organizations out there like this helping those in need.
October 12, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I am very thankful that Innocence Matters is working to protect the rights of those who have been wrongly accused and convicted of a crime. The work that Innocence Matters did in order to free Susan Marie Mellen from 17 years of incarceration in a California state prison is nothing less than heroic.

Susan Mellen was falsely accused of a 1997 murder, that had occurred in Lawndale California. Her accuser's name was June Patti, a meth head and habitual liar. While all the evidence was pointing to three gang members as the perpetrators of the crime, the LAPD detective on the case, Marcella Winn, began to build a case against Mellen based on this one accusation from a lying meth head who was known to several local law enforcement agencies as an unreliable witness. Winn knew this about Patti, but kept the information out of official records, so neither the prosecuting attorney nor the defense attorney knew the truth about June Patti and her lying ways. To say that Winn was lazy and performed her sworn duty in a substandard way is an understatement. Her work in the case of Richard Daly was criminal, or at least should be. Because of her laziness neither Rick Daly nor Susan Mellen received justice, and Susan's family was ripped apart.

To heep injury upon injury, Mellen’s attorney, a divorce attorney with little trial experience, and who had been reprimanded by the bar association for providing his clients with sketchy legal representation, did next to no investigation work before the trial, and during trial provided Mellen with substandard representation. It looked as though no one was there for Susan, and the result was that she was convicted and sentenced to life without the possibility of parole.

Innocence Matters took Susan’s case in November 2013, and within three months was able to apply for Habeas Corpus on behalf of Ms. Mellen. Finally after the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s office performed their own investigation into the case, they recommended that Susan Mellen be released from her hell. Susan Mellen was ordered released by a Torrance Superior Court judge, Mark Arnold, on October 9, 2014. Upon releasing her, Judge Arnold remarked that in Susan's case, "the criminal justice system failed".

Without the help of Innocence Matters, Susan Mellen may have died in prison having never realized justice in her case. Innocence Matters got Susan some justice, and that makes them heroes in my book.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I think Innocence Matters is a much needed agency. There are many innocent men and women who are sitting in jail and prison because our legal system failed them. I know someone personally who has been in prison since 1989 for a crime he did not commit and even had the DA on his case personally tell me I know he was innocent but I had a job to do and I did my job and yet this person still sits in prison because his family didn't have the money to get him a lawyer and no one cares. Please help fund this non profit so they can help to release another innocent person to their family
October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I met Susan Marie Mellen during a Kairos Prison Ministry outreach 7 years ago, serving a life without parole sentence for First Degree Murder. The first weekend I met Suzy, she shared with me her story of innocence. My heart ached for her and under the circumstances could NOT believe she had been convicted of this crime. After visiting Suzy for 7 years, I started to loose hope for my friend (Suzy never lost hope). Then one day, Suzy's miracle came in the form of Innocence Matters. IM had the resources and volunteers to make Suzy's dream come true. After only a year and half, IM fought to have Suzy's LWOP sentenced overturned!! This is a dedicated, hardworking team that deserves all the help that is out there for them, so they can continue their quest in vindicating the Innocent!! Thank you Innocence Matters!!!
August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Innocence Matters is a non-profit organization that dedicates time and efforts in freeing the innocent who have been wrongfully convicted. My fiancé's mother has been in prison for 17 years for something she had nothing to do with. My fiancé and her family felt as though they hit a dead end and they were ready to give up. Soon after the Innocence Matters Organization got involved and immediately started investigating. This company is extraordinary in a way that is hard to explain. Innocence Matters spends day in and day out working hard to make a change. They have made an incredible impact in my fiancé's life and mine. It means so much when I witness passionate people taking a stand and doing what's right! I believe Innocence Matters Organization is an amazing non-profit that could really use some support. After all, If you were convicted of a crime you didn't commit wouldn't your innocence matter?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was incredibly touched by the story of John Smith, an innocent man, who spent many years on death row for a crime he did not do. It was work Ms. Deirdra O'Connor and the people behind Innocents Matters that ultimately saved his life. It is organizations like this that keep our most powerful institutions honest. These people are fighting to keep the innocent out of prison. You cannot put a price on that. You cannot put a price on justice. You cannot put a price on freedom. And, at the end of the day, Innocent Matters-and the noble people like them-are the shield between you and injustice. Show your support for them today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase fundraising and public awareness

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help raise awareness about Innocence Matters' work! Volunteer