Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 1, 2014

more

February 1, 2014

My passion to set free an innocent man from a sentence of life without the possibility of parole encouraged me to network by attending the reception for John Smith, Innocence Matters’ first client to be freed by their wonderful, expert and thorough work. Then I got a phone call from Deirdre about doing volunteer work for this outstanding and warm group of people who forget themselves and go full steam ahead doing the nitty-gritty work needed to reach their goal of justice. I said yes and then was able to help them secure a much needed grant. Since then I have had opportunities to work with the entire Innocence Matters team and what a great feeling it is to know that even the small things I do are going to help free innocent people from prison and prevent wrongful convictions. Join us and be a part of this great organization and see what you, too, can do to support us and our work!

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would make sure people knew that immediate funding would help Innocence Matters secure larger office space so they can serve more people more efficiently.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would make sure people knew that immediate funding would help Innocence Matters secure larger office space so they can serve more people more efficiently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

I've never experienced an organization like INNOCENCE MATTERS. The opportunity for learning, for working and actively participating in events that will bring about change are many. There are many ways to get involved depending on what your goals are. An intern might one day be working on an investigation and the next day speaking at a neighborhood school sharing our education and prevention programs. INNOCENCE MATTERS is not for wimps, it's serious people about serious things. And, make no mistake, you must have a really good sense of humor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is growing and needs a bigger space to accommodate the Interns, volunteers, committees, files etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Words cannot even describe the passion emanating from each and every person involved with or touched by Innocence Matters. Becoming a part of this organization helped me grow and as a person and expand my knowledge on the little steps people can take in helping to prevent wrongful conviction from occurring. Starting with the founders, to the Board members, to the staff, and the interns there is not one person within the organization that isn't soulfully passionate about the mission. My eyes have been opened and I have never felt so lucky to have this opportunity to be a part of something so life changing. I had never realized that the love I have for Innocence Matters would grow to such extremes, but I am overjoyed that it has. This organization has touched many lives with its positive goals, and I have no doubt that Innocence Matters will be a part of my life for a very long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

InnocenceMatters.Org is a stellar organization whose main goal is to help exonerate those wrongrully convicted... the forgotten. There is nothing more precious than our freedom and the one thing that we all take for granted. I am finally a part of an organization where my support/work really matters and is significant. Along with my counterparts, we are saving lives in ways that most of us can only imagine. What better way to spend my time than to give selflessly for a worthy cause?!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase marketing efforts and the level of financial support that the organization is receiving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A singular nonprofit with passionate volunteers that inspire great work and community. I am so honored to be involved with an organization that seeks to effect positive and impactful change within the justice system.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to this organization wanting to give back to the community and make a difference. To say I was pleasantly surprised to see and experience the passion, dedication and tenacity this group of Interns and Deirdre have toward their cause is humbling; they are driven by the susceptibility of our Justice system. Innocence Matters is an amazing group committed to the innocent, vulnerable and defenseless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

An amazing organization that aims to fight for and exonerate wrongly convicted inmates in jail. A team of wonderful, dedicated staff that want to make a difference and help change the lives of the innocent. A pleasure and honor to be able to work for the cause with such an exceptional group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A unique nonprofit endeavor that seeks to exonerate the most vulnerable in our justice system. An unforgettable volunteer experience with some truly remarkable people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of the innocence movement and of Innocence Matters in particular since its inception. When John came to speak at my law school, it was incredibly inspiring... so much so that I sought out an internship to help free the next John! I am proud of the work Innocence Matters does and I am thrilled to work for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I arrived at Innocence Matters in January 2013 I had no knowledge of the Californian judicial system.

Indeed I am French. As a lawyer in my country I know how tricky law can be, so even if I wanted to be involved in Innocence Matters I did not know what form my participation could
take. What I just knew was that I wanted to be a part of it.

In fact, Innocence Matters has helped me at least as much as I have helped it.

It has helped me as much as a lawyer than as a person. First, it enabled me to think and share my thoughts and ideas on what tracks could be followed in investigations concerning wrongful convictions. Deirdre O’Connor is an incredibly good criminal defense attorney and is totally dedicated to the cases she is dealing with. Working with her was a very intellectual, judicial but also personal enrichment. Then, as a lawyer, it contributed to my understanding of a part of the American judicial system and gave me a good opportunity to add a valuable line on my resume.

In return, at Innocence Matters I have dealt with Inmates requests in the “Ganging up on Innocence” project. No one can imagine how desperate and resourceless innocent people can be to fight against a wrongful conviction.

So, if you have time, motivation, the envy to invest yourself in investigations and to learn about you just as much as the Californian legal system, do not hesitate a sec! Just jump in, this is the right thing to do, because what could be a better cause than helping the innocent to find freedom again?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help raise awareness about Innocence Matters' work! Volunteer