Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.848485
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Working with, and for Libby and the Ink People on a variety of projects, I have seen firsthand how much of an impact they have on others through their inspiration, support, and dedication to working hard advocating for and nurturing creative opportunity for all members of the community they serve here in Humboldt County and far beyond. I have seen amazing artworks being sponsored and shared, as well as young minds being fostered and plenty of smiles, love, hope and happiness to share backed by a genuine sense of gratitude. I am impressed by what they work so tirelessly to help create and then give back to others and believe they are a truly special, remarkable organization, and a valuable part of the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in more members of the community again and increase the available studio spaces for members to meet and exchange ideas and energy and be inspired.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Ink people Inc. offers support to local non-profit arts organizations through its Dream Maker Program. we are Nor-cal Native Arts Group and have been able to serve our local rural Native population on the Hoopa Reservation thanks to the expertise and generosity of Ink People Inc.

they
have offered every kind of support and technical assistance to get our group started and make us effective as a service organization. The people and services they offer have been life changing for the arts in Humboldt County.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them greater support to complete their programs of service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

The Ink People Center for the Arts plays a critical role in Humboldt County and beyond. Their all inclusive values are exemplified by their Dreammaker Programs. People in the community with creative projects or ideas are able to pursue their dreams with administrative guidance and nonprofit umbrella provided by TIP. Our community is so much richer for it.

Public art, fire arts, dance projects, weavers, writers, indigenous celebrations, youth programs, and publications are some of the examples that come to mind when I think about how TIP contributes to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find them a new home that would provide adequate spacer for their many and varies classes and events.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When the Ink People Center for the Arts first invited me to play for one of their events, I was honored. I had heard about their work in the community and was excited to support the organization however I could. That first encounter lead to a long relationship that has taught me so much about community, art, and connecting the two. I have been operating a non profit group through the Ink People's DreamMaker Program since 2007 called Dance and Drum in Humboldt. We have been focused on bringing drum and dance instruction to local elementary schools as well as weekly drum classes for our community. Through their support, I have worked in many schools throughout Humboldt County, sharing lessons of cultural awareness, movement and rhythm games, and given these students access to instruments they might not see otherwise. The Ink People accepted my application to be their AmeriCorps Vista worker, helping to develop a youth media lab called the MARZ Project. We provided a safe and educational space for teens to learn about different media types, and to try out different software and programs they might not have access to at home or school. After my time serving in that capacity, the Ink People sponsored me in a California Arts Council Artists in Schools grant. I was able to work for a year at a local elementary school and help to develop a contemporary music program based on the instruments they had available and various materials that were developed in the process. The Ink People has been vital in my growth as a community artist. I will forever be grateful and in support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire some hot shot grant writers to make certain this organization was well funded and actively recognized throughout the state, if not the nation ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

For over 30 years the Redwood Coast Children's Chorus, of whom I am Founder/Director has been its own non-profit organization...until we found The Dream Makers , a part of The Ink People. Dream-Makers has taken over the business part of our non -profit, of which we have since dropped.

Because of this wonderful organization ( TIP) the RCCC has been able to connect with many other artists, musicians and dancers, developing an ever widening scope of creativity and artistry within Humboldt County.


Within this next year I hope to expand and connect the children's chorus even more, providing opportunities for children who normally would not have the chance to sing in beautiful harmonies, travel and continue making the world better through music and the arts.

Libby Maynard has and continues to be dedicated to connecting people with people, artists with artists, and artists with the entire community. Let us all continue to support The Ink People!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure at this time

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

As an ex-Board Member I can say that this organization is comprised of an extremely dedicated staff and Board that enables extremely dedicated individuals to fulfill their desire to integrate art, social justice and the community. For over 20 years the Ink People has benefited our community by supporting the people that want to positively impact it.
As a volunteer I can say that the Ink People has helped cultivate multi-cultural communication by working with local Native American, Hispanic/Latino and Hmong peoples to share, celebrate and rejuvenate their experience on the Northcoast of California.
As an art-lover I can say that this organization attracts some very talented people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Gather more resources and space

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The Ink People is such an amazing organization that has helped countless other non-profit programs in the area. They have made a huge impact in our community by helping us form LUNA Kids Cooperative, an arts based program for children under 5. Libby Maynard is a wealth of ideas and information and is always a joy to work with. As a program of the DreamMaker Project we are eternally grateful for the Ink People's guidance - without them, we wouldn't even exist! Every community should be so lucky!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more space to work in. The good they do has no bounds!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

'The Ink People' in Eureka California, with Director Libby Maynard, is a world-class model non-profit. It has been our flawless non-profit dual umbrella for almost 25 years. As both 'Prague Project' and 'Eco-Nelson', we are a licensed, City of San Francisco, cultural exchange program between the Czech Republic, Northern California and the Native American lands of Arizona. Prague Project is also the internationally registered American partner with 'Eco-Nelson' (the only strictly environmental [formerly Czech, now international] station in Antarctica). Libby Maynard, and all the other managers of Ink People have welcomed at least a dozen troupes and truly countless individual traveling Czech artists and environmentalists to tour in Northern California. Many were here in San Francisco on scholarships to various academic and professional institutions. All were eager to visit, perform, lecture and exhibit, in order to meet colleagues and residents of rural Northern California. For instance, beginning in 1990, together with Ink People, Prague Project designed the first tour of Native American artists to visit Czechoslovakia after the fall of the Soviet Union. And in 1991, the first environmental-art exhibit in Czechoslovakia, at Art Forum/Jazz Section, Prague. We also arranged the first ever exhibit of former Czechoslovak underground visual art in San Francisco. Since then we have continued arranging exhibits for Northern California artists in Prague. One recent tour of Czech artists in California was for a Shakespeare scholar leading a troupe of classic Czech puppeteers performing with 100-year-old marionettes. A year later the founder of the national Czech program of "Puppets in Hospitals", here on a Fulbright to University of California San Francisco hospitals, also toured through Eureka. Our visitors have been some of the Czech Republic's finest painters, actors, sculptors, tapestry and print-makers, authors, publishers and environmentalists. Prague Project has been proud to introduce them to the wonderful rural audiences that The Ink People helped us to reach.

The Ink People has welcomed our visitors with open arms, by:
• Helping Eureka area tour management
• Arranging for foreign visitors accommodations in Eureka area
(Several of these introductions blossomed into life changing international
exchanges, for both the Czech and Northern California artists.)
• Introducing Prague Project and Eco-Nelson to other venues
in Northern California
• Providing wonderful, affordable, Eureka venues for tour events and classes
• Publishing announcements of these events. Since we, 300 miles away,
would not have known where to advertise in Eureka.)
• Provided residencies and gallery exhibits


Sincerely,

Maya Cain, Director
Prague Project, San Francisco
and partner with
Eco-Nelson, Antarctica






Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would allow The Ink People (formerly, Ink People Center for the Arts) to return to their original location at 411 Twelfth Street in Eureka. As a former school, it is an excellent 'space' to provide the full range of classes, shared studios and cultural events that the Ink People are so skilled at managing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

Ink People, Inc. serves as the umbrella non-profit organization for arts groups in the Humboldt area that do not have their own non-profit status. This service has been an amazing benefit to all of us smaller groups. Through them we can fundraise for our projects and help the Ink People at the same time. In addition they have a knack for focusing art projects for both underserved populations and underrepresented and important social themes. They connect so many spokes of the social wheel in this community through celebration of the arts. I don't know what we would do without them!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding to continue their important work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The Ink People are an integral part of our community!! We love working with them as a DreamMaker Project! Circus of the Elements and Trinidad Art Nights would not be the groups they are without the help and guidance from the Ink People. I'm grateful for their continued support of the community of Humboldt County.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help get the monthly newsletter out, teach a workshop for our teen after school program, or perform a specific job for a fundraising event.