Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

Our 19 year old USMC son was wounded horribly in Afghanistan in 2011, losing both legs above the knee. Semper Fi made it possible for my husband and me to be with him while he recovered. Both of us are small business owners and we would newer have been able to afford to take as much time off as we did if it were not for the amazing people in this organization. All they wanted to know was how they could help. When i mentioned that it would be great if i could work on my books on the train while travelling back and forth, they bought me a laptop so i could do just that. And they continue to check in with us and help if we need extra funds for modifying our home to be more accessible for our son. No paperwork. No questions. No wasted time. Just like the Marine Corps: the very best, and there when you need them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a single thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

If rfjs can read financials, maybe s/he should compare the Form 990's between WWP and SFF. Among other things that stand out are the gross disparities in slaries/compensation of paid staff.
I initially dontated to WWP until I saw how little, percentage-wise, was going to direct services. I now
have a recurring, monthly donation going to SFF on behalf of a fallen Vietnam-era comrade.
SFF is a great organization, with minimal overhead, and the vast majority of its resurces are dedicated to helping our wouinded warriors.
If rfjs can't see that, then silence may be the appropriate/responsible thing to do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

I have been helping raise money for this noble fund for 9 years, years during which I have been a personal witness to the direct aid that they have given to many injured Marines and their families in the greater St. Louis area. The fund is efficient, serves its constituents immediately when the need arises, and has such a caring way of delivering their assistance. I am proud to be associated with these folks. May God continue to bless them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a combat wounded Marine myself and Semper Fi Fund has always been there whenever I've needed help. There have been plenty of times when they helped me when I didn't even know it. For example, programs for wounded I have benefited from, medical equipment, and funding for my family to take care of me when the Marine Corps wasn't paying them on time. The only negative thing about this organization is that they are so giving and helpful that some guys take advantage of their programs when they don't need it. But that can't really be helped. "There's always one."
I spent over 4years in the hospital and out of all the non for profit organizations I've seen at that place this is one of the very few that actually cares and makes an important impact on the lives of wounded service members.
I am sure all my fellow Marines at the hospital would agree.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I do not know where to begin on this GREAT organization! As the president of a very small Military NPO I know firsthand what I hear from our Warriors and other NPO’s. Semper Fi Fund is TOP notch all the way! I have heard only positive things regarding this organization since they were founded. Then in December 2012 when least expected my son was admitted inpatient to a Veteran Hospital. Considering all the contact I have, I was left clueless on what to do or where to seek help with MY own sons needs! Then I received a call from Semper Fi Fund. They immediately went into action on assisting my son. The people I have spoken to over the years, MANY volunteer their time! It’s so heartbreaking to see all those that support NPO’s such as Wounded Warrior Project, where the CEO’s make $350,000 or more annually!! I’ve never heard any positive feedback on WW Project. People I know that have done fund raisers for WW Project don’t even get a thank you letter! I wish more people would look at the fantastic leadership and the amazing support Semper Fi Fund provides to our Warriors each and every day! They better the lives of our Warriors and their families without any public pay on the back! Please have total faith when donating to Semper Fi Fund organization, and have total peace of mind knowing your money is being used in the best way possible, directly to those in need!
God Bless all that work endlessly at Semper Fi Fund!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2013

more

January 10, 2013

RJFS has written, what I feel, is an untrue and unfair review. I know of very few charities that donate of $60 million to injured marines with an overhead of about 4%.
I happen to personally know one of the caseworkers. I can tell you that she works pretty much 24/7 to get money to these
marines. The money buys iPads, beds, airplane tickets, bus tickets, gifts for loved ones. Wherever there is a dire need, these ladies work so hard to fulfill it. I know these caseworkers shed many tears listening to the humble requests that are made.
These ladies are just as determined and hardworking as the troops they are aiding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 31, 2012

more

December 31, 2012

I am writing this in response to the post by rjfs on May 18, 2012. The post was seriously upsetting to me personally after what the Semper Fi Fund has done for me, my family, and the other combat wounded people I know.

This rjfs person clearly does NOT know what they are talking about.
The Semper Fi Fund has helped me out personally and I'm not even a Marine. They also helped my family come see me in the hospital when I lost both legs and an arm in combat. They did not get any advertising for doing this, just my families gratitude. Their overall rating on this site is a 4.8 out of 5. The wounded warrior project's is 1.7 out of 5. The two funds don't even come close to each other. The Semper Fi Fund would have a 5 out of 5 if it weren't for this person abusing their freedom of speech. They probably got denied something they didn't deserve.

This is a great fund to donate to. They have also helped me with my service dog and getting a vehicle. Again, these are two things they did not get advertising for. If you donate to them, your money will actually get to where it is needed unlike some of the other funds. As someone they have helped I can guarantee this. I cannot say enough good about this fund. They have been there for me when I needed them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

On July of 2012 my family and me were sent to camp Pendleton to supposing I was going to finalize my retirement, I couldn't wait. The only problem was that this was a last minute thing. I was told on a thursday that we were flying out on Sunday. Aside from that my wife was 8 months Pregnant about ready to pop. It took a toll on both of us, specially her. Aside from all this it was a very unexpected expense. The marines said they pay for the plane. But everything else I need to pay out of pocket and then I would get re imbursed in 4 to 6 weeks. They flew me into camp Pendleton and had to rent a car. And if it wasn't for the Semper Fi fund, I would've had to pay for a hotel too! I spoke with them one day and they had everything ready for me and my family that same day. After everything, we were finally heading home. I was worried about my financial situation at the moment. Evacuee like I said it was an unexpected expense. Sure enough 2 days after we got back home I went negative on my account. Now I was worried about everything after all what was I going to do for the next week until I got paid? Without hesitation the Semper Fi fund sent my family and I a check to cover the expenses for the next week and I couldn't of had asked for a bigger blessing. It turned out that they rescheduled my appointments without notifying me or headquarters marines. So it was a trip for nothing! But thanks to the Semper Fi fund I was able to get through this hard time! If they were not there for us, it would've made it very difficult for my family. Being single is one thing but having a family they end up being your priority. And wether I'm negative on my account or not, my wife needed to eat, we needed gas for doctors appointments. Having the Semper Fi fund help was like God sending me a guardian angel to watch over me and my family. They say God works in misterious ways, and this is the perfect example of it! God answered my prayers with the Semper Fi fund. So thank you for blessing me and my family. The care is amazing with them. They listen to you no Matther what you have to say. And they truly do whatever they can to help out the wounded Iraq veteran. If it was not for them we would had struggled. Thank you for everything and God bless the Semper Fi. Fund!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Semper Fi Fund is an amazing charity. The Fund was created and is operated by passionate people who work from the heart. Their abilities, kindness, and generosity is truly inspiring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

As a donor it gives me great satisfaction to know that so much of my donation (nearly 95 cents on the dollar) actually goes to Wounded Servicemen/women. What other organization can say that? Upon further investigation of IMSFF, it is apparent that they are providing real help to our veterans. IMSFF assists with expenses like housing, and basic needs, as well special events like their Team Semper Fi. This is one organization worth supporting, and my family and I will definitely continue to do so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers