Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
152 Reviews
1234.993425
Write A Review
May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

Inheritance of Hope's mission is to inspire hope in young families facing the loss of a parent. Without question, they fulfill their mission! Statistics show that 1 in 20 children, 15 and younger, will suffer the loss of a parent. There is an incredible need and Inheritance of Hope uniquely serves these children and their families.

The organization's largest offering is its Legacy Retreat, an all-expenses-paid experience where families create lifelong memories and receive tools to navigate the challenges of a parent’s terminal illness. Inheritance of Hope also offers Legacy Scholarships, provides literature, and creates a community of support that is, in my mind, unparalleled. Families that attend a Legacy Retreat are forever changed. They believe that "Every Family Deserves a Legacy." I absolutely agree and it's why I support this outstanding organization.

I urge you to watch this video: http://youtu.be/3FwW08ASJGA
October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

IOH is radically making a difference in families who are batting life threatening illnesses. The IOH leadership team and volunteers DEEPLY care and serve each family with empathy and compassion. They are sharing the Hope of eternity and equipping families to gracefully manage their circumstances. I'm proud to support this fine organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

I have been aware of theis charity since its inception. It is making a significant in the lives of all of the families it reaches. In fact, in many cases it has a transformative impact on families that have almost given up hope.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Some of my family members have donated time for weekend retreats and have seen the significant impact that the weekend retreat has had on the families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to give it more money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Knowing the positive impact it has on families.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I had the financial ability and they needed it.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Because they use their money very carefully and it truly impacts needy families.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 1, 2011

more

April 1, 2011

When my wife and I began searching for an organization to sponsor we took it very seriously. We meticulously poured over hundreds of reviews and websites in order to find something that really spoke to us. Almost every nonprofit seemed deserving and we had no idea how to make the right decision. We knew we wanted to stay within the United States and we also knew we wanted children to be involved. Needless to say this is an enormous category and did not dilute the pool of choices by much. Then we found Inheritance of Hope and our search was over.

Inheritance of Hope (IOH) is a phenomenal organization that helps children and families that have a parent diagnosed with a life-threatening disease. After a short time of correspondence with the Executive Director, Deric Milligan, and the Team Coordinator, Lisa Duscio, we were immediately invited to witness the work IOH was doing in the lives of the families they serve. We attended a New York City Legacy Retreat involving families from all over the country that were blessed to share the experience this organization provides. It is hard to put words to the emotions we felt in being a part of this trip, but Hope is the one that continues to cross my mind. The volunteers and staff provide such a warm environment for the families to connect with one another at a time in their lives when I'm sure it is hard to believe anyone can relate to what they might be going through. They are given the ability and means to share a joyous time with their children and at the same time be provided with unlimited counseling and resources. In short, they are given an opportunity to find hope in a time that might seem hopeless.

We are so blessed to have been a part of such an amazing community of people. From the time we arrived at the retreat we were able to see how IOH is changing lives. Donors can be as involved as they would like to be, something that was also incredibly important to us. Not only was the Legacy Retreat run efficiently but the entire organization is efficient, with over 90% of all monies donated going directly to helping the families.

Inheritance of Hope is a powerhouse organization that does exactly what they say they will do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

At the New York City, Legacy Retreat

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their staff size to enable more families to attend the Legacy Retreats.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers