Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
142 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

Since a diagnosis of aggressive brain cancer in July of 2013, life for my family has been a whirlwind of surgery, Dr. appointments, chemotherapy, radiation and research. In the midst of everything, I was fortunate to come across a link to Inheritance of Hope and realized that it was just what my family needed. This amazing organization provided an opportunity for my husband, seven year old daughter and I to travel to New York City for the four days prior to Thanksgiving. We were fortunate to get to see the sights of such an amazing city, spend time with other families facing life threatening illness, and make lasting memories as a family. Thanks to Inheritance of Hope and their staff of devoted volunteers, we now have inspirational friends from across the US, lots of terrific photographs and a video to share with my daughter at a future time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

I have a wonderful husband and 3 fantastic boys. Our life is filled with loud conversations at dinner, arguments over what radio station we'll listen to on the way to sports and quiet moments between my husband and I that keep us sane in the wacky, wild life we live.

I also have
recurrent stage IV cervical cancer. What that means is I had it 5 years ago, it turned our family upside down for 8 months and then things settled down because I "beat" it. Unfortunately, I didn't beat it because it came back with a vengeance and I've now been battling it for 18 months. Chemo (yes, I lost my hair), radiation (yep, lost it "there" too), surgeries, biopsies, clinical trials, scanxiety etc. Our life is still wacky and wild, but it's harder now, less fun.

Inheritance of Hope (IOH) and their Legacy Retreats was sent to my husband on Facebook from a "friend" he knew in middle school who had just learned I was sick. A very tenuous initial connection which has now produced such deep, lasting bonds! Their mission, in my understanding at least, is to provide families dealing with a life threatening illness the opportunity to take a vacation, create amazing memories, strengthen the family legacy and most importantly … do all this without rushing to/from doctor appointments.

We applied for, and were granted a spot on, a Legacy Retreat to New York City the Sunday-Wednesday before Thanksgiving. IOH took care of all travel arrangements (planning AND paying for them!) and our Legacy Retreat Coordinator, Jessica Keck, spent months getting to know our family through our many conversations. Upon arriving in NY, all 5 of us felt we were given the red carpet treatment each day but EVERY SINGLE IOH team member we came into contact with. From Deric Milligan, the Executive Director, to a volunteer who was on their first Legacy Retreat, each IOH person went out of their way to ensure that each member of MY family felt loved, supported and that we were having fun!!! We feel indebted to IOH in a lasting, permanent way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single one to the organization. They have put together a machine and are running it incredibly well. Who am I to offer a change??

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

This amazing organization gave my family an unforgettable opportunity to create lasting memories with not just my family but with so many lives whom they serve and love. From the time we first knew we were accepted to be a part of this family everything was taken care of to the smallest detail. They have a remarkable appreciation for the needs of families with life threatening illnesses and have encouraged and given hope and joy to families in these difficult times that I have not experienced anywhere else. We came home excited and hopeful and blessed and anxious to share with family and friends about our time in NYC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2013

more

July 20, 2013

What an amazing organization! I was diagnosed with brain cancer last year and found out about this organization through a book I was reading. When I read about the retreats, it sounded too good to be true. I applied and get accepted to the May 2013 retreat. We were nervous about how our kids, which can be more shy, would be around the volunteers and counselors before we went. A call from the counselor before the trip put us more at ease. When we got there, we were so warmly treated and the kids loved their volunteer helpers and counselors! We were treated so well, every need was taken care of by the staff, even our son's allergy needs were carefully taken care of. We had such a wonderful time at the theme parks enjoying our time as a family and meeting the other families going through the same things. The coordinators were amazing, every ran like clockwork, but they don't appear to be stressed at all! We can not more highly recommend this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it so that our family can go to the retreat every year! That's what our children said after we came back from the retreat, "Can we go the the retreat next year?" :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a happily married mother of three, ages 11, 13, 15. In 2007 I had stage IIIc breast cancer, and we went through the trauma of moving home from our life as missionaries in Eastern Europe to face treatments, surgeries, and complications along the way. I was considered cancer free for five years, until January 2013 when we found stage IV metastatic breast cancer in a new tumor, bones, and right lung.

We were nominated to participate in a legacy retreat with Inheritance of Hope in Orlando, FL at the end of May, and were absolutely blown away by the blessing of this group! From our first greeting at the airport to the last goodbye, I was impressed with the genuine love and attention to detail that was shown to us by every volunteer. Deric's personal testimony was both emotionally powerful and a comfort to me as the patient facing death sooner than I would have thought or hoped.

I did not realize how much my family needed to share this experience, until the opportunity was given to us. Words cannot describe what it meant to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding so that they could extend the Legacy retreat to be one day longer and allow for more group sessions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

more

June 16, 2013

Words cannot describe what a wonderful experience Inheitance of Hope gave us by granting us a Legacy Retreat. The volunteers, coordinators and staff were absolutely wonderful. We were treated with the utmost compassion, caring and kindness. It was very comforting to our teenage children to meet an become friends with other kids in the same situation. The same can be said for my husband and I. I thank God for the blessing of this amazing oranization. It has definitely helped my family and I in my 4 1/2 year battle with stage 4 metastatic breast cancer and has brought us closer as family through this inspiring experience. We have made memories and friends that will last forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any. It was perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was recently diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer with mets to my liver and spine. I have a wonderful husband that i have been married to for 3 years. I have a 9 year old son and a 2 year old daughter. For the first time in my life, i felt truly settled until we received the diagnosis. We just moved into a house, we had paid down a lot of our debt. Chemo debilitated me to the point that i had to quit work. For the first time in my life, i couldn't pay all the bills! My emotions were up and down. This spring i decided to join a support group. Turned out my group leader also worked for inheritance of hope! She told me about the organization and we applied for a legacy retreat. We were accepted! I can only try to tell you what a blessing this retreat was for my family. It was the first time i have gotten to see my kids look of wonder when they saw Disney, etc. I will never forget their faces. The people who work for inheritance of hope and the many volunteers work so hard behind the scenes to make it a fun, relaxing, but also emotionally intense experience. We got to meet some wonderful families. I will never forget all of their faces. Some of my favorite times were with the group sessions. I love hearing other people's stories. I would highly recommend a legacy retreat to anyone. I know when you are sick it's hard to imagine going on such a big adventure, but I promise that everyone is there to take care of you and to make the retreat a long lasting memory for you and your loved ones.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When we went on our retreat we were nervous, and stressed from the holidays, and going on our 1st family vacation with 2 young childres, and flying for the 1st time. When we meet or corrdinator, and the other volunters of IOH, they just took over. They went way beyound to make sure the family was taken care of. The Kids warmed up to our volunteers quickly, and having a great time. The adults got to make new friends who could understand and relate to others stituations. And my wife stays in contact with her new support group of friends. IOH did so much in making memories for us and the kids. And to help us adults with meeting new friends, and support community. What IOH did for us, just broght a lot of Joy and happness back into the family. Thank you IOH.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was very nervous about bringing my children on this retreat - they are young enough to not fully comprehend what we are dealing with, but old enough to know something major is going on and their whole life would be majorly affected by someone saying the wrong things. When my coordinator told me they would be ok with the wonderful volunteers, I was skeptical. We have taken them places with trained and paid professionals and they weren't ok. Well she was right! From the moment we got there, my kids were treated with respect and tender loving care. Within moments we were leaving them with people we had just met so that we could do some "adult" healing. We can not thank these incredible people enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

Blessed… One of many words that I could use to describe what IOH means to my family. The smile my daughter had the whole time there is priceless in my mind and I will visualize all the time. The staff and volunteers with IOH are truly amazing. I know in my heart that God is everything and does everything for a reason. This legacy retreat was a huge blessing. When you have so many fears and questions about our children when we are given a trail like fighting cancer it is over whelming. This retreat bought lots of smiles, laughter, tears and endless hugs. My family and I will forever be thankful for the opportunity of being a part of IOH. Thanks to God!! God bless

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers