Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
152 Reviews
1234.993425
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our family attended the February 2014 IOH Legacy Retreat in Orlando, FL. I wasn’t sure what to expect and my whole family was impressed with the care that we received. I was diagnosed with cancer in 2011 and it has now back with a punch. My kids are teenagers which is a hard time in their lives. Knowing that a parent is supposed to have a shorter life makes it even harder. This retreat was about the kids and making memories. It was special to each one of them and to us as well. The time that we had in Florida was magical. From Mickey visiting us on the first day to the closing service on the last day. They couldn’t have added anything else into the trip. It was amazing and we are so grateful that the founders, team members, counselors and volunteers. I can’t thank you all enough!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

Our family attended the February 2014 IOH Legacy Retreat in Orlando, FL. After being diagnosed with breast cancer in 2013, the year was filled with surgeries and chemotherapy treatments. Oftentimes these treatments are more difficult for the caregivers and small children than for the patient themself. The retreat allowed my children to connect with other kids that had a sick parent, so they knew they were not alone. The trip was a much needed break from treatment where we were able to have fun as a family and make lasting memories together. The biggest takeaway was learning to be intentional with the time you have with your family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word so that others know that IOH exists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

How can I put into words my experience with Inheritance of Hope? My Mom, daughter and I went on the February 2014 Disney retreat. Thinking back on my experience I still get teary eyed. The volunteer's, the Founder Deric Milligan and the counselor's were truly amazing and I gained so much from from our IOH experience. The other families were amazing, my 13 year old daughter met some lifetime friends and so did my mom and I.

It has been several weeks since I got home and I cannot stop thinking and talking about how special this retreat really was. There are a few things that I can say are blessings from my cancer diagnosis and this retreat was one of them. Thank you IOH for all the thoughts and prayers and blessings. I will forever cherish my memories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing. I want to go back.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

This organization is the best. They do everything out of the goodness of their hearts and they are so sincere. Me and my family got the opportunity to meet and spend time with the founder and several volunteers and I they will always be in my heart and prayers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I am so grateful for the gift Inheritance of hope gave our family. I have been treating what is now stage 4 breast cancer naturally for the last 3 yrs. Over the last 3 yrs as well as dealing with cancer issues, I have lost my business, my home, my father thorough death, suffered a car wreck making me unable to continue to work as I once did as a massage therapist and yoga teacher and worked through custody issues with my teenage children who are not able to live with me at this time due to my poor health at this time. During custody issues that lasted for 2 yrs my children were alienated from me and our relationship was challenged, this trip to New York helped us to find a love for each other that we had not seen in a long time. it was an amazing opportunity for my children to be with other children who are facing the possibility of losing a parent. I felt totally looked after in so many ways, the volunteers there are some of the most servant hearted people I have ever met.
Always in gratitude ....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

This amazing organization gave us an unforgettable opportunity to create lasting memories for our family. Our memories are not just of our family but with all the staff, volunteers and other families.

From the time I received the call that we had been granted the trip to NYC we have
been treated with the upmost respect and unconditional love from the staff and volunteers.

Allen was diagnosed with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) in February 2012. We were very concern if he would be able to participate in the activities planned. However, Inheritance of Hope took care of everything for us from pushing Allen in his wheelchair to helping with Jacob who is 11.

I can not say enough about the staff and volunteers of Inheritance of Hope who gave unconditional of there time.

We have been blessed to have had the opportunity to be a recipient of this wonderful organization.

The Young's
Allen, Phyllis and Jacob

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

Since a diagnosis of aggressive brain cancer in July of 2013, life for my family has been a whirlwind of surgery, Dr. appointments, chemotherapy, radiation and research. In the midst of everything, I was fortunate to come across a link to Inheritance of Hope and realized that it was just what my family needed. This amazing organization provided an opportunity for my husband, seven year old daughter and I to travel to New York City for the four days prior to Thanksgiving. We were fortunate to get to see the sights of such an amazing city, spend time with other families facing life threatening illness, and make lasting memories as a family. Thanks to Inheritance of Hope and their staff of devoted volunteers, we now have inspirational friends from across the US, lots of terrific photographs and a video to share with my daughter at a future time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

I have a wonderful husband and 3 fantastic boys. Our life is filled with loud conversations at dinner, arguments over what radio station we'll listen to on the way to sports and quiet moments between my husband and I that keep us sane in the wacky, wild life we live.

I also have
recurrent stage IV cervical cancer. What that means is I had it 5 years ago, it turned our family upside down for 8 months and then things settled down because I "beat" it. Unfortunately, I didn't beat it because it came back with a vengeance and I've now been battling it for 18 months. Chemo (yes, I lost my hair), radiation (yep, lost it "there" too), surgeries, biopsies, clinical trials, scanxiety etc. Our life is still wacky and wild, but it's harder now, less fun.

Inheritance of Hope (IOH) and their Legacy Retreats was sent to my husband on Facebook from a "friend" he knew in middle school who had just learned I was sick. A very tenuous initial connection which has now produced such deep, lasting bonds! Their mission, in my understanding at least, is to provide families dealing with a life threatening illness the opportunity to take a vacation, create amazing memories, strengthen the family legacy and most importantly … do all this without rushing to/from doctor appointments.

We applied for, and were granted a spot on, a Legacy Retreat to New York City the Sunday-Wednesday before Thanksgiving. IOH took care of all travel arrangements (planning AND paying for them!) and our Legacy Retreat Coordinator, Jessica Keck, spent months getting to know our family through our many conversations. Upon arriving in NY, all 5 of us felt we were given the red carpet treatment each day but EVERY SINGLE IOH team member we came into contact with. From Deric Milligan, the Executive Director, to a volunteer who was on their first Legacy Retreat, each IOH person went out of their way to ensure that each member of MY family felt loved, supported and that we were having fun!!! We feel indebted to IOH in a lasting, permanent way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single one to the organization. They have put together a machine and are running it incredibly well. Who am I to offer a change??

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

This amazing organization gave my family an unforgettable opportunity to create lasting memories with not just my family but with so many lives whom they serve and love. From the time we first knew we were accepted to be a part of this family everything was taken care of to the smallest detail. They have a remarkable appreciation for the needs of families with life threatening illnesses and have encouraged and given hope and joy to families in these difficult times that I have not experienced anywhere else. We came home excited and hopeful and blessed and anxious to share with family and friends about our time in NYC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2013

more

July 20, 2013

What an amazing organization! I was diagnosed with brain cancer last year and found out about this organization through a book I was reading. When I read about the retreats, it sounded too good to be true. I applied and get accepted to the May 2013 retreat. We were nervous about how our kids, which can be more shy, would be around the volunteers and counselors before we went. A call from the counselor before the trip put us more at ease. When we got there, we were so warmly treated and the kids loved their volunteer helpers and counselors! We were treated so well, every need was taken care of by the staff, even our son's allergy needs were carefully taken care of. We had such a wonderful time at the theme parks enjoying our time as a family and meeting the other families going through the same things. The coordinators were amazing, every ran like clockwork, but they don't appear to be stressed at all! We can not more highly recommend this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it so that our family can go to the retreat every year! That's what our children said after we came back from the retreat, "Can we go the the retreat next year?" :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers