Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
142 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 8 9 10...14 |
Write A Review
June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

While it was great to go to the parks in Orlando and this excited my kids about going on this retreat, the real rewards were so much more than we anticipated. We all received much-needed counseling to help all of our family which helped give us all a plan and hope. The kids instantly connected to the other retreat participants and the incredible IOH volunteers. We learned a lot from the sessions with other participants and counselors. The most important lesson I learned was to live each day intentionally. I will not allow the dark cloud to follow me or dictate my life because this is not what God intends for my life. This short weekend was life changing for us and we know we made some forever friends. While we were never rushed or felt regimented to a schedule, this retreat was incredibly organized.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We had a carefree weekend without my cancer being a black cloud. We grew as a family making new friends and getting healthy counseling to improve our lives. We have comfort now because now we feel we have more of a plan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING, their mission and their heart are completely in sync with their actions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend of my wife.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To live each day intentionally, to leave my family with memories of me other than me being sick, and voice my problems or fears when I have them.

June 3, 2012

more

June 3, 2012

This was my first time volunteering with IOH and it was AMAZING!! They provided the families with a way to make memories without even knowing it. They allowed the families to have a stress free time together, as well as have some counselling time and fun time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how it has changed my life, and seen the lives of others changed. To see what can happen in just one weekend is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. I met new people and felt the support and love of those that don't know me. Not once did I feel alone or helpless becuase they were there to provide for me and the family I was helping.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me closer to God and helped me to learn to rely on Him, no matter what happens.

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

Inheritance of Hope lives up to its name. It is all about hope! This is a wonderful organization that pools the gifts of its staff and volunteers to offer fun family getaways with purpose to young families that are battling a terminal illness. I have been so grateful to serve alongside caring, loving, generous people that travel far and wide to give the families a trip of a lifetime. Getting to know the families and their stories is a treasure for me. I am always impressed by their strength. Seeing them soak each other up while enjoying an exciting vacation is a beautiful blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012


The retreat unfolded before me in ways that far exceeded my expectations. Warm welcomes were offered to everyone.

I was in the adult sessions. I love the group format. These couples know much more about each others’ concerns than I do. It’s powerful for them to be able to share
their burdens with others who are in similar, immensely difficult, situations. Gene did a great job of facilitating our sessions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I feel so lucky that I was able to volunteer at the February 2012 Inheritance of Hope Legacy Retreat. Inheritance of Hope is an incredible organization that showers its families and volunteers with tremendous love. And, that love seems to truly multiply! Seeing families and children come together and have fun in spite of enormous challenges is an experience that is life-changing. The families we served were so grateful and all seemed to get a lot out of the retreat. But, as much as they all said they were blessed by the experience, the volunteers were also blessed! I saw joy and peace like I have never seen before. I will volunteer at another retreat as soon as I possibly can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I had the opportunity to be a "shadow" counselor on the most recent Legacy Retreat with IOH and observe the entire experience. I was blown away by the excellent manner in which every detail was covered and the love, enthusiasm and hope showered on all the families by all the staff and volunteers. The families on the retreat were given a safe space to bond with other families with similar struggles, discuss their fears and anxieties, and and experience some inner healing. Families were also given practical tools on how to live an intentional life that I am going to implement in my own life as well! I am changed for the better after having been a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a great organization! The mission of serving families with a parent that has a life-threatening illness is absolutely, without-a-doubt exactly what they are all about. In my role as a volunteer, I have seen the lives of many many children become enriched with joy and understanding of their situation. Parents and children get the opportunity to relax and focus on what is important, family. I've been quoted as saying, "This is the greatest thing I have ever done!" This still proves to be true and I look forward supporting this organization far into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a truly amazing organization! Words can't really describe the experience of an IOH Retreat. There is so much joy and love and happiness despite what these families are going through. If I had to describe IOH in two words, it would be "life-changing". I am in awe during every retreat as I witness the children opening up and bonding with others who are experiencing the same things at home. It's so uplifting to witness the change in the families as the children and parents gain a better understanding of how to express their emotions. My experiences as a volunteer have been unbelievable and I look forward to continuing my service to this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

This organization is something that I have a huge passion for. I have been a part of many organizations and mission trips; however, this one exceeds my expectations for many reasons. It is extremely organzied and smooth and there is never a time where I as a volunteer do not know what I need to do next. Inheritance of Hope is also a tremendoudly powerful organization. Many of the families have anxieties before they come on the trip about what it will be like, and I have never met so many families who come away from an experience like this feeling refreshed, loved, and hopeful no matter what their medical circumstance. Inheritance of Hope has everything from the amazing accommodations, food, and fun, but more importantly they have meaning behind what they do. The counselors they hire to help these families learn how to cope with their situations are amazing. The ability to provide these families with memories that will last a lifetime from the pictures, the legacy videos, and the ability to be around other families who are struggling with the same devastaing situation is priceless. As long as I am able I will be apart of this organization. I have made so many new friends and families through this organization that I will cherish forever. I am so proud of the Milligan family who have given of their time, effort, and talents to help other families when they themselves have the struggle of a life threatning illness. They know what it's like to go through this situation and they are a blessing and are so self less to want to help other families to learn how to cope with their situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope offers something that is very rare... a loving community of staff, volunteers, & participants who enter into the lives of each other on a deep level from the very beginning. The goal is for those parents with a terminal illness to be cared for & provided a community where others are in their shoes. The children & teens are also taken care of & provided support & fun! Everything from behind the scenes to the most visible interactions are done with excellence. I highly recommend Inheritance of Hope to anyone who is looking for a place to give either financially or through service. I also am in the process of referring local families I know to attend upcoming retreats! I cannot say enough about this nonprofit & the impact it is having on families suffering from a terminal illness diagnosis. Five stars is not enough!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers