Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 8 9 10...15 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Being granted a Legacy Retreat by IOH was a blessing to our family. We enjoyed an Orlando vacation, all expenses paid! We met so many families in similar circumstances, and it was a bonding experience for all. My 4 children had a wonderful time with the tireless and loving volunteers, and we all made life-long memories. My husband and I got a date night too! I simply cannot say enough about this wonderful organization. They helped me to see that my illness will not and should not define my future nor my family's future. That, in itself, is priceless! My family hopes to raise funds in the future to help support IOH and its mission. I wish every family could experience what we did! --The Ricciardelli Family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Thank you to Inheritance of Hope for allowing my family and I to attend the May 2012 Legacy Retreat in Orlando.  From the moment we were contacted by Angela letting us know we had been selected to attend the retreat, through the closing ceremony on our last day, the team at IOH exceeded any expectation we had.  The staff was so accommodating to our travel needs and so welcoming when we arrived in Orlando it was evident this was a group of people wanting to serve my family.  Every detail throughout the weekend was covered by IOH.  Welcome baskets with goodies and gifts from home in the form of support letters from family members greeted us in our hotel room.  There was even a surprise dinner guest the first night we got to Orlando!  Breakfast every morning preceded group sessions where each family got the opportunity to share "their" story and learn from the other families that attended.  The counselors that lead these groups were more than tremendous, never pressuring but always encouraging!  Although the weekend was full of fun at Disney, Universal, and Sea World the real value of the trip was in the interaction with the IOH team.  In my opinion that’s the lasting "legacy" my family will remember.
 
 

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is simply amazing. They have thought of every detail to love and care for families in need. The staff and volunteers were beyond incredible in the way they served and loved us. The chance to connect with other families on similar journeys was priceless. And getting to experience Disney with our daughter was beyond priceless. We are incredibly thankful for the experience and the people we got to meet on our retreat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

From the moment we were greeted by the Inheritance of Hope team to the moment we were dropped off at the airport we had an unbelievably fun and therapeutic time. I would recommend the organization to anybody in similar circumstances. Our children are still saying they miss the Inheritance of Hope. We couldn't believe some of the voulunteers were on their first retreat, we thought they were seasoned veterans. We wanted for nothing, everything was taken care of for us. The retreat team was always one step ahead of us. We can't say enough good things about our experience. -- The DiGangi Family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is an amazing organization! The staff does a wonderful job of planning the weekend and makes it easy for the volunteers to interact with the families and build relationships. Walking away from this weekend left everyone with a renewed since of hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Being a volunteer for Inheritance gave evidence of a staff which is cheerfully contagious. The organization is so completely organized! When family members arrive at the airport, there are volunteers waiting to grab luggage, a volunteer drives a van to the closest point to shuttle guests to the hotel, and at the hotel even more volunteers are ready to greet and grab kids and suitcases. The Inheritance of Hope team has thought of everything to give those who volunteer a seamless schedule. This was a very pleasant and rewarding experience. As a volunteer, a complete schedule was easy to follow and if there were any questions, morning meetings outlined the daily events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

My family was given an all expense paid vacation trip to Florida - Disney by Inheritance of Hope (IOH) "Legacy Retreat" in May 2012. We visited Magic Kingdom, Universal Studios, and Sea World. What made this vacation magical for my family was the staff and volunteers. They did everything possible to make our vacation a true legacy. They packed our lunches, pushed the wheelchair my husband sits in and they made my children laugh again. I literally cried with joy for the first time in two years. They even took pictures of my family and later developed them and placed them in an album before we went home. We met other families in similar situations at this retreat. My family felt a tremendous amount of love and support from IOH. Their energy of care is unbelieveable. We are grateful to IOH staff and volunteers for giving us a legacy to remember forevermore. Special thanks to Deric, Kristen, Allen Milligan

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

Our trip was a beautiful experience. The Inheritance of Hope Organization provided for our every need and more. It was the most organized, carefree vacation that we have ever been on. I have never seen so many volunteers with such serving hearts in one place at one time, well maybe at Vacation Bible School, but these people were all there to serve our family and the 15 other families going through the same things we are. The volunteers all have to fund raise to raise money for their trip and provide their own transportation. I was amazed that people were actually willing to pay money to come take care of us! WOW, was all I could say. We were greeted at the airport, by volunteers, shuttled to the hotel by them, greeted by more volunteers at the hotel, handing us our room key and giving us our name tags. We were greeted in our room by a beautiful bag of goodies containing all of your notes, tee shirts, water bottles, books, note cards, snacks and sunscreen. The counseling and group sessions they provided for the adults and the kids were an invaluable experience that we all really needed. The connections that we made with other families and volunteers were life changing. It was all a humbling experience. The Parks were amazing, we made many fun memories there as a family. We were provided a volunteer to help us get around; she was an excellent wheel chair driver, took tons of pictures of our family and provided for our every need. Her name was Lisa, she even had rain ponchos and umbrellas for all of us in her back pack. At the closing ceremony all the families were presented with a beautiful scrap book filled with our photos from the weekend and scripture verses on every page. Our volunteers spent the night before staying up late and making the scrap books for us – WOW! The thing that was so amazing about the Inheritance of Hope Organization is that the Founders, Derik and Kristin Milligan, are going through the same thing as our family. Yet they are still serving others and providing families with this wonderful opportunity to create a Legacy for our family. Our lovely volunteer, Lisa, is a breast cancer survivor and she is serving others. Many of the volunteers and staff have either experienced a life threatening illness, have had or have family with a life threatening illness or have lost a parent to a life threatening illness. Yet they are all still serving others – AMAZING! The Bunner Family

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend recommended them.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Peace, Courage and Community

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

While it was great to go to the parks in Orlando and this excited my kids about going on this retreat, the real rewards were so much more than we anticipated. We all received much-needed counseling to help all of our family which helped give us all a plan and hope. The kids instantly connected to the other retreat participants and the incredible IOH volunteers. We learned a lot from the sessions with other participants and counselors. The most important lesson I learned was to live each day intentionally. I will not allow the dark cloud to follow me or dictate my life because this is not what God intends for my life. This short weekend was life changing for us and we know we made some forever friends. While we were never rushed or felt regimented to a schedule, this retreat was incredibly organized.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We had a carefree weekend without my cancer being a black cloud. We grew as a family making new friends and getting healthy counseling to improve our lives. We have comfort now because now we feel we have more of a plan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING, their mission and their heart are completely in sync with their actions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend of my wife.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To live each day intentionally, to leave my family with memories of me other than me being sick, and voice my problems or fears when I have them.

June 3, 2012

more

June 3, 2012

This was my first time volunteering with IOH and it was AMAZING!! They provided the families with a way to make memories without even knowing it. They allowed the families to have a stress free time together, as well as have some counselling time and fun time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how it has changed my life, and seen the lives of others changed. To see what can happen in just one weekend is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. I met new people and felt the support and love of those that don't know me. Not once did I feel alone or helpless becuase they were there to provide for me and the family I was helping.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me closer to God and helped me to learn to rely on Him, no matter what happens.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers