Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
151 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 7 8 9...15 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have run for Inheritance of Hope and have volunteered as well. I am incredibly amazed at the thought, care, love and compassion that goes into IOH runs and retreats. They take very seriously the idea of a stress-free, worry-free, fun-filled environment. Every detail is well thought out. It is truly amazing how many hours are put in behind the scenes to help the families have fun and make lasting memories. My absolute favorite part is seeing these families being transformed . Many walk in to the retreat anxious, weary, but leave with peace and HOPE! We will all leave a legacy, and with the help from IOH, it will be an intentional, purposeful one that leads to a joy beyond understanding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2012

The whole Inheritance of Hope team was so loving on both other volunteers and the families, a great sense of community was created within a few hours. Being a part in helping a family make memories wa... more

October 26, 2012

Every Inheritance of Hope retreat is like having a second family. Such a wonderful meaningful experience to be a part of. It is so worth volunteering and participating in the retreats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

The whole Inheritance of Hope team was so loving on both other volunteers and the families, a great sense of community was created within a few hours. Being a part in helping a family make memories was so rewarding and addicting, I want to participate in retreats again and again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 11, 2011

Hello! My name is Jacey and I have served as a volunteer on 6 Inheritance of Hope retreats. This organization is amazing! It's so hard to describe these trips and the impact they not only have on ... more

October 17, 2012

I adore this organization... plain and simple. Volunteering for IoH is a joy and an incredible privilege. I'm blessed to have served at 10 legacy retreats and I do not plan on stopping anytime soon. :) Getting to see families strengthened by the support of those in similar situations is amazing. I love seeing people leave retreats uplifted and with a renewed sense of spirit. It is wonderful to see so many diverse families blessed by an organization. IoH literally thinks of everything to make a family's time on a retreat special. Leaving a retreat is always difficult because of the incredible bonds made in only four days. I constantly come home changed and inspired by the people I had the blessing to serve. People I have met on trips now feel like family to me. This organization is purely magical.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2011

Hello! My name is Jacey and I have served as a volunteer on 6 Inheritance of Hope retreats. This organization is amazing! It's so hard to describe these trips and the impact they not only have on the families who participate, but all the volunteers and staff. It's such a blessing to be a helping hand to these beautiful people. I enjoy praying for the participants before and after the trips and just trying to show them God's love. The amazing events and fun experiences have included whitewater rafting, staying in a hotel in Times Square, and riding Space Mountain in Disney. Most special to me though, are the memories I have gained by being in the group sessions with the kids and simply being a helper and listener. These sessions not only assist each individual in processing their feelings, but have created strong bonds between the kids. These trips are a great combination of fun and practical support. I have enjoyed meeting families in difficult circumstances and trying to lighten their burden in as many ways as I can. Inheritance of Hope provides lifelong memories in a welcoming, loving atmosphere. I look forward to serving on future retreats!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my contact with them over the last two years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more people be able to take advantage of what IoH offers.

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 22, 2011

Inheritance of Hope is a wonderful example of beauty rising out of ashes. I have observed Kristen Milligan's battle against cancer, and her determination to live and see her children have memories of... more

October 17, 2012

My daughters volunteered at a retreat for Inheritance of Hope, and their experience had a tremendous impact on their lives. The attention to detail for each family attending, the depth of care for each individual, and the professional approach to each particular aspect of the retreat are all exceptional. Families who face the challenge of a parent with a life-threatening illness are finding a much needed dose of hopefulness through the services of Inheritance of Hope. My daughters are already working hard to volunteer at another retreat.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Inheritance of Hope is a wonderful example of beauty rising out of ashes. I have observed Kristen Milligan's battle against cancer, and her determination to live and see her children have memories of her life. With Deric (who is my brother) at her side, she has maintained a remarkbly optimistic outlook with each treatment, each hurdle, each scan, each setback.

Their desire to give other families a chance to spend time simply playing together, without the cares of costs or planning, and away from the stress of the medical mayhem, has been realized through Inheritance of Hope. The organization is well organized, and tightly run, and sets a high standard for non-profits. The seemingly carefree retreat provides an opportunity for parents to create and keep memories of a happy time together, and for children to be children.
What a great concept!

Inheritance of Hope is a solid option for those looking to financially support a family-based, simple and single-goaled organization which is definitely getting the job done. IOH is fulfilling its mission in allowing every family to leave a legacy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It has been a joy to see the idea from its conception to its fulfillment. IOH has been a great way for Deric and Kristen to turn the challenges of dealing with a verious serious disease while raising young children, into an outlet for assisting other families with similar challenges. It has also been a joy to see the pragmatic and organizational skills which both Deric and Kristen possess, take shape in this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the opportunity for the retreats to include families with children over 18, such as college aged children.

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My daughter and I attended a retreat in Lake George New York. We met so many families and wonderful volunteers. It was a life changing experience. My daughter also won the "Inheritance of Hope " Scholarship this year. We are so thankful for the experiences with the retreat and granting the scholarship to her. I have stage 4 cancer and we met other families going thru the same thing that we are.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have been blessed to be a part of Inheritance of Hope for the past 3 years. I have seen many families encouraged, loved and strengthened through this organization. These families all have young children and a parent with a life-threatening illness and often they are struggling. When they encounter Inheritance of Hope they encounter fun, joy, memories, community, counseling, and HOPE! I am so proud to be a part of such a worthwhile and tremendous organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

My first time to be a part of Inheretance of Hope was a snapshot of families struggling to be "normal" under incredible stress...but the fun, the smiles, the new friends that share the same struggles, the tears with fellow sufferers that understood, the love and care of the volunteers with the children was hopeful. In our adult sessions the main theme was "what will happen to my children...will they be o.k...can my spouse handle this alone."...Then the fun and togetherness of days of Disney and hearing from "grown-up kids that have good lives despite the loss of a parent"...I saw HOPE. What a precious gift this ministry is to those who really need HOPE!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a young person it was very difficult in dealing with some of the family issues that had risen in the past year. My vacation with the Inheritenece of Hope program was a life changing experience in many ways. Going into the vacation I was very skeptical about the whole program's motives and intentions, however from the moment I met all the lovely volunteers I realized these people were here to help in my struggle. Not only were they outgoing, friendly, and helpful they were also people that I could talk to about my situation and help me understand my feelings better. Going on vacation with my family was such a heart warming experience. I still think back on the trip and remember how good it made me feel to have such good family memories despite tough circumstance. One of the things I was most skeptical about was the group counseling. It was actually really fun and it made me feel carefree and allowed me to forget my troubles for a bit. In addition to this sometimes the volunteers would talk about having faith and I think some of those values rubbed off on me. I think the positivity of the volunteers was contagious. A lot of the anger and negativity I had seemed to wash away and I began to gain faith I never had and more positivity in my life. In conclusion, the inheritence of hope vacation was a life changing expereince for me because it allowed me to have renewed hope and faith in G-d as well as the destiny he has laid out before me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Once a young caregiver myself at the age of 16, I can personally relate to the many struggles that a family endures with a loved one suffering from a life threatening illness. Witnessing Inheritance of Hope provide a legacy for these families at the May 2012 Florida retreat, I couldn't help but wonder how my family might be different today if we had been blessed by Inheritance of Hope. It was beautiful to see how the love, attention, and sincere compassion that was exerted by IOH volunteers and staff truly changed the families lives and better equipped them for the journey that lies ahead.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

IOH is one of THE best organizations out there right now. We were blessed in being able to go on a retreat to Disney World, and it was a life-changing experience! A dream come true! The people we met and the memories we made will forever be held very close to our hearts!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers