Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
125 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 7 8 9...12 |
Write A Review
February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a truly amazing organization! Words can't really describe the experience of an IOH Retreat. There is so much joy and love and happiness despite what these families are going through. If I had to describe IOH in two words, it would be "life-changing". I am in awe during every retreat as I witness the children opening up and bonding with others who are experiencing the same things at home. It's so uplifting to witness the change in the families as the children and parents gain a better understanding of how to express their emotions. My experiences as a volunteer have been unbelievable and I look forward to continuing my service to this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

This organization is something that I have a huge passion for. I have been a part of many organizations and mission trips; however, this one exceeds my expectations for many reasons. It is extremely organzied and smooth and there is never a time where I as a volunteer do not know what I need to do next. Inheritance of Hope is also a tremendoudly powerful organization. Many of the families have anxieties before they come on the trip about what it will be like, and I have never met so many families who come away from an experience like this feeling refreshed, loved, and hopeful no matter what their medical circumstance. Inheritance of Hope has everything from the amazing accommodations, food, and fun, but more importantly they have meaning behind what they do. The counselors they hire to help these families learn how to cope with their situations are amazing. The ability to provide these families with memories that will last a lifetime from the pictures, the legacy videos, and the ability to be around other families who are struggling with the same devastaing situation is priceless. As long as I am able I will be apart of this organization. I have made so many new friends and families through this organization that I will cherish forever. I am so proud of the Milligan family who have given of their time, effort, and talents to help other families when they themselves have the struggle of a life threatning illness. They know what it's like to go through this situation and they are a blessing and are so self less to want to help other families to learn how to cope with their situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope offers something that is very rare... a loving community of staff, volunteers, & participants who enter into the lives of each other on a deep level from the very beginning. The goal is for those parents with a terminal illness to be cared for & provided a community where others are in their shoes. The children & teens are also taken care of & provided support & fun! Everything from behind the scenes to the most visible interactions are done with excellence. I highly recommend Inheritance of Hope to anyone who is looking for a place to give either financially or through service. I also am in the process of referring local families I know to attend upcoming retreats! I cannot say enough about this nonprofit & the impact it is having on families suffering from a terminal illness diagnosis. Five stars is not enough!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I was a counselor for the children on the retreAt. This program is wonderful and is incredibly impactful for everyone... The staff, volunteers and the family.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our experience with Inheritance of Hope was truly amazing. The staff and volunteers treated us like family. Every part of the trip was well planned down to the last detail. The counseling for the adults and kids was very helpful. We built relationships that will last a lifetime. We will be forever grateful for our time with IOH. We had two volunteers that helped us throughout the weekend - Angie and Mike. We couldn't have done Disney without them. The message and the video shared during closing ceremony was incredibly touching. The last day was hard for us to say good bye. Our 8-year-old daughter with tears streaming down her face has already declared she is going back to be a volunteer with IOH someday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family recently returned home from the 2/12 Inheritance of Hope Legacy Retreat and I highly recommend IOH to any family with a parent facing a terminal illness. We went on the retreat with the expectation that a change of scenery would help our 7 and 11 year old daughters build lasting memories of their mother. I am an adult and I spend lots of time committing things about my wife (Michelle) to memory: I remember very clearly her squeezing my hand, as we exchanged our wedding vows and again as she delivered our precious daughters, because they were Red Letter days, but the day to day memories are in a fog.

Because I know the day is coming that I will have to say goodbye, every day for me is a Red Letter Day and I study her like the setting sun on the last day of a tropical vacation. I let every aspect of her every day existence burn into my memory... I get lost in her eyes and the warmth of her hand. But how can a child understand the pressing need to remember? They know that their momma is very sick and the Dr's say that she will die but they are too young to appreciate the finality of death and they don't understand how everyday memories fade away.

IOH gave us five Red Letter Days! The volunteers exceeded our every expectation and created an environment for rich lasting memories and the councilors gave us many helpful insights that will serve our family well during a very difficult time and for the rest of our lives.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

My family was selected to go on the Disney 2012 retreat. Words cannot begin to describe what an amazing trip this was. Inheritance of Hope just amazed us by thinking of everything. From the minute we landed we were just embraced by loving volunteers who treated us like royalty. Our daughters cried leaving the volunteers. We were so inspired by the other families. It was comforting to be surrounded by people going through a similar life-changing event and who share the same worries. It was very emotional and very therapeutic. I wish we could go on another retreat with IOH! And I pray that our daughters become volunteers some day. Thank you IOH - we are forever grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

My family and I found out about IOH from a family member last year and thought that we would look into it and see if anything came of it. We were definitely skeptical going into it and were completely blown away. We could not have asked for a more special time with our family. The times of sharing with other families were difficult emotionally but encouraging to see the faith and strength of others in the same situation that we are in. Our times at the Disney parks were a blast. We had a wonderful volunteer with us the whole time to make our experience easier to manage 3 small children. Our girls loved all of the volunteers and are still talking about them. This trip forced us to ponder on issues of death and illness, which are hard to confront, but very positive in the long run. My husband and I feel so blessed and strengthened to have discussed these issues together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

Greetings!!! My family was selected by Inheritance of Hope to participate in the 2012 Disney Retreat. The organization (IOH) chose 16 families that have a life threatning disease to go. The love, support, and counseling they provided all the families is unmeasurable. I had the opportunity to meet other people facing the same feelings and struggles that I have been going thru the last 13 months by myself. I was so touched by the love that I think about the organization everyday and get excited to tell others about them!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

In reading all the reviews, I cannot disagree. We were one of the families selected to attend the NYC 2011 retreat. During the retreat I ran out of words to say about how grateful we were. The staff, volunteers and all those who made this trip possible were AWESOME. We had a wonderful time and what made it even better...was meeting so many wondetful people and families. Especially families you could relate to 100%.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers