Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
154 Reviews
1234.993515
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

When a parent has a terminal illness, the entire family bears the emotional and physical burden, even the youngest children. That burden can be lightened when people who care step in to provide a time for recreation and togetherness. That's basically what Inheritance of Hope does. The people of IOH surround each family with peace, understanding, and Christian love, during retreats in Florida and New York City. The goodwill and love that each volunteer radiates is truly a joy to be around. Our family was given so many gifts through being selected to attend a retreat. We received an all-expenses paid vacation, which we could never have afforded otherwise. I was given counseling -- joyful, positive, group counseling -- with just as many laughs as tears, to help me plan for my remaining days. I was given books, pamphlets and other items to help me continue to thrive after the retreat. My children enjoyed meeting new friends, and dreaded leaving the volunteers, who were so much fun to be around. I will never, ever forget what IOH did for my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only wish that this organization could serve more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

My family and I were blessed enough to spend a couple wonderful days in Orlando with Inheritance of Hope in May, 2014. When people ask how our vacation was my husband and I respond, "The parks were so secondary! The people we met, the stories that inspired us, the kids activities to help them, and the volunteers! Oh the volunteers! Everything was soooo beyond amazing! And then we went to the parks!" We are truly inspired by everyone we met and how they too use their struggles to help others! We will NEVER forget those couple days and we will forever share what we learned and use the tools we received. Our lives have been forever changed! Thank you for that IOH!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

On Tuesday night most everyone had left. We were one of a few families who stayed another day. We enjoyed ourselves so much, getting to know one another more. We said it would have been great to have that with everyone! Like a pool night after we had gotten to know each other for a couple days.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

My family recently returned from an Inheritance of Hope retreat and it was a life-changing experience for all of us. We laughed, we cried, we made new friends and got a new outlook on life. The counseling sessions were amazing and my husband who doesn't share personal details of his life seemed to really benefit from talking to others in similar situations. The volunteers were the nicest people who continue to keep in contact.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Inheritance of Hope was the vision of both Kristen and Deric Milligan. As Kristen realized her cancer was likely fatal, she became concerned for her kids and their future. Deric was attending business school, having served with the Army. Unable to find organizations that could help his family with their struggle, Deric became convinced that he should build a business plan for a non-profit that would help answer the questions gnawing at Kristen's heart. Their collaboration became the vision for Inheritance of Hope, a way to help families deal with the life threatening illness of a parent and create a legacy of love and hope for the children.

My wife and I were very impressed by Kristen's deep faith and Deric's commitment to a vision for helping children with a terminally ill parent. I was privileged to assist in the development of the business plan and serve on their board. SInce then, we have lost Kristen but her legacy continues in her children, in the lives of hundreds of people she touched, and in the excellence of the programs she conceived and helped Deric develop. Her vision will continue to impact families for years to come.

The best credentials for any non-profit is the impact that it has on peoples lives. At Inheritance of Hope events, I see fearful and estranged families drawn together, memories created that will endure for the lifetime of the children, and families in seemingly desperate situations regain their faith and hope. I continue to be impressed and pleased with the lasting impact this organization has on families struggling with the likely loss of a parent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

My wife and I volunteered at the May 2014 Legacy Retreat in Orlando. After we returned home, we both looked at each other and said that we felt almost "lost" after being on such a life-changing event. The entire time we were engaged with our recipient families, and grew to love each one individually. I saw the move of God's Spirit in the lives of every family member and each volunteer. We both can hardly wait to serve with Inheritance of Hope again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I volunteered at the May 2014 Legacy Retreat in Orlando, Florida. My experience during the retreat far exceeded my expectations. I could see the Love of Christ flowing in and through the families and volunteers throughout the retreat.

It was amazing to see a group of strangers become
one big family in such a short period of time - just four days. Some arrived with excitement and anticipation, while others were somewhat anxious and a bit reluctant about what they were about to experience. By the end of the retreat, they were all full of love, appreciation and hope. It was more than just a visit to the Magic Kingdom at Disney World...it was experiencing the love of Christ and new found family and friends.

I recommend this organization to anyone that wants to give of themselves, and truly be the hands and feet of the Lord.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to get the word out about this organization and the life changing retreats that they provide to families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

My family attended the May 2014 Legacy of Hope Retreat put on by the non-profit "Inheritance of Hope." What we thought was going to be a nice 4-day getaway in Orlando, turned out to be the life changing blessing that our family needed to face our most challenging time. The retreat has strengthen our spirits, given us courage and helped to moved us from a state of mental and emotional paralysis brought on by fear of my wife's diagnoses of ALS (Lou Grehrig’s Disease).

The Legacy of Hope Retreat provides the perfect balance of support, learning and sharing among families facing terminal diagnoses; along with uplifting insights and opportunities to create immediate family joy and hope for their futures.

The trajectory of my family’s future has been forever lifted and changed because of what we experienced and took away from the Legacy of Hope Retreat. We believe, even for generations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is rare that I can't see improvement opportunities, but at this event I simple don't away any to provide. Well done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

My family of six attended the Orlando 2014 retreat and I have to say this was by far the best family vacation we have ever had! I can't thank IOH enough for all the wonderful things they did for us. Everything was outstanding, from the accommodations at Doubletree, the food and the activities. I have never seen a better organized and compassionate group of volunteers. We had such a great time making memories at the Parks and we met some incredible families coping with the same thing....life challenging illnesses. The hope, the faith, the inspiration....no words can express how much this meant to us...a priceless experience!

Battling metastatic breast cancer for the past three years has left me sad and tired. This trip helped me focus on what really matters- people I love. The time spent with the volunteers as well as other families has left an indelible impression. The fact that Derek himself was so personally involved, taking time to talk with us and share his heart was so impressive. These people really care! I will never forget the love and kindness. Thank you so much IOH...we love you all! May God bless your endeavors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

Inheritance of Hope's mission is to inspire hope in young families facing the loss of a parent. Without question, they fulfill their mission! Statistics show that 1 in 20 children, 15 and younger, will suffer the loss of a parent. There is an incredible need and Inheritance of Hope uniquely serves these children and their families.

The organization's largest offering is its Legacy Retreat, an all-expenses-paid experience where families create lifelong memories and receive tools to navigate the challenges of a parent’s terminal illness. Inheritance of Hope also offers Legacy Scholarships, provides literature, and creates a community of support that is, in my mind, unparalleled. Families that attend a Legacy Retreat are forever changed. They believe that "Every Family Deserves a Legacy." I absolutely agree and it's why I support this outstanding organization.

I urge you to watch this video: http://youtu.be/3FwW08ASJGA
March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

My family attended the February 2014 retreat in Orlando Florida. The experience was amazing for the entire family. We have kids of different ages, both preschool and teenagers. Both found the experience rewarding, along with my wife and I. It opened our eyes even more to being purposeful, especially during these troubling and difficult times. The memories we formed on the trip are such a gift. Our close family and friends were touched by the photos and the photo album that will be a family treasure. Unfortunately my wife passed at the end of February, so the trip to Florida occurred just in time for us.
The ideas and frame of mind in dealing with the terminal situation, seeing others dealing with the similar circumstances have provided some comfort as we work through our next chapter.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers