Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
142 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...14 |
Write A Review
February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

How can I put into words my experience with Inheritance of Hope? My Mom, daughter and I went on the February 2014 Disney retreat. Thinking back on my experience I still get teary eyed. The volunteer's, the Founder Deric Milligan and the counselor's were truly amazing and I gained so much from from our IOH experience. The other families were amazing, my 13 year old daughter met some lifetime friends and so did my mom and I.

It has been several weeks since I got home and I cannot stop thinking and talking about how special this retreat really was. There are a few things that I can say are blessings from my cancer diagnosis and this retreat was one of them. Thank you IOH for all the thoughts and prayers and blessings. I will forever cherish my memories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing. I want to go back.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Inheritance of Hope is special. I have volunteered at two retreats now, and I only have the highest praise for the mission Inheritance of Hope continues to serve. From the moment all the volunteers get together you feel welcomed and appreciated tremendously. There is a huge amount of excitement and passion in every volunteer and staff member prior to the retreat because we know lives will be changed in a few short days.

Through constant encouragement, love, and support by everyone involved in an Inheritance of Hope retreat friendships are made, bonds are strengthened, and hope is secured for all. It’s refreshing for family members, but also staff and volunteers too. We walk away from these retreats feeling lucky to have experienced all the things God has accomplished through us.

Inheritance of Hope is special, because everyone wins through their mission. The message Inheritance succeeds at delivering applies to every family in the world. Nobody wishes to have to fight a life threatening disease, but once you’ve experienced an IOH retreat you will be wishing you could do it all over again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

I just left my first Legacy Retreat as a volunteer with Inheritance of Hope, and I have such a strong admiration and appreciation for all that this organization does to bring hope to families from around the country! This past weekend, I witnessed first-hand how incredible things can happen to bring positive change when people with unity of vision and great love in their hearts come together. Every single part of the retreat impressed me as I saw meticulous preparation and constant prayer result in lives changed and people encouraged greatly. I was personally inspired to consider the legacy I will leave one day, and I am so thankful to have had this experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

This organization is the best. They do everything out of the goodness of their hearts and they are so sincere. Me and my family got the opportunity to meet and spend time with the founder and several volunteers and I they will always be in my heart and prayers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I am so grateful for the gift Inheritance of hope gave our family. I have been treating what is now stage 4 breast cancer naturally for the last 3 yrs. Over the last 3 yrs as well as dealing with cancer issues, I have lost my business, my home, my father thorough death, suffered a car wreck making me unable to continue to work as I once did as a massage therapist and yoga teacher and worked through custody issues with my teenage children who are not able to live with me at this time due to my poor health at this time. During custody issues that lasted for 2 yrs my children were alienated from me and our relationship was challenged, this trip to New York helped us to find a love for each other that we had not seen in a long time. it was an amazing opportunity for my children to be with other children who are facing the possibility of losing a parent. I felt totally looked after in so many ways, the volunteers there are some of the most servant hearted people I have ever met.
Always in gratitude ....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

This amazing organization gave us an unforgettable opportunity to create lasting memories for our family. Our memories are not just of our family but with all the staff, volunteers and other families.

From the time I received the call that we had been granted the trip to NYC we have
been treated with the upmost respect and unconditional love from the staff and volunteers.

Allen was diagnosed with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) in February 2012. We were very concern if he would be able to participate in the activities planned. However, Inheritance of Hope took care of everything for us from pushing Allen in his wheelchair to helping with Jacob who is 11.

I can not say enough about the staff and volunteers of Inheritance of Hope who gave unconditional of there time.

We have been blessed to have had the opportunity to be a recipient of this wonderful organization.

The Young's
Allen, Phyllis and Jacob

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

Since a diagnosis of aggressive brain cancer in July of 2013, life for my family has been a whirlwind of surgery, Dr. appointments, chemotherapy, radiation and research. In the midst of everything, I was fortunate to come across a link to Inheritance of Hope and realized that it was just what my family needed. This amazing organization provided an opportunity for my husband, seven year old daughter and I to travel to New York City for the four days prior to Thanksgiving. We were fortunate to get to see the sights of such an amazing city, spend time with other families facing life threatening illness, and make lasting memories as a family. Thanks to Inheritance of Hope and their staff of devoted volunteers, we now have inspirational friends from across the US, lots of terrific photographs and a video to share with my daughter at a future time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

I have a wonderful husband and 3 fantastic boys. Our life is filled with loud conversations at dinner, arguments over what radio station we'll listen to on the way to sports and quiet moments between my husband and I that keep us sane in the wacky, wild life we live.

I also have
recurrent stage IV cervical cancer. What that means is I had it 5 years ago, it turned our family upside down for 8 months and then things settled down because I "beat" it. Unfortunately, I didn't beat it because it came back with a vengeance and I've now been battling it for 18 months. Chemo (yes, I lost my hair), radiation (yep, lost it "there" too), surgeries, biopsies, clinical trials, scanxiety etc. Our life is still wacky and wild, but it's harder now, less fun.

Inheritance of Hope (IOH) and their Legacy Retreats was sent to my husband on Facebook from a "friend" he knew in middle school who had just learned I was sick. A very tenuous initial connection which has now produced such deep, lasting bonds! Their mission, in my understanding at least, is to provide families dealing with a life threatening illness the opportunity to take a vacation, create amazing memories, strengthen the family legacy and most importantly … do all this without rushing to/from doctor appointments.

We applied for, and were granted a spot on, a Legacy Retreat to New York City the Sunday-Wednesday before Thanksgiving. IOH took care of all travel arrangements (planning AND paying for them!) and our Legacy Retreat Coordinator, Jessica Keck, spent months getting to know our family through our many conversations. Upon arriving in NY, all 5 of us felt we were given the red carpet treatment each day but EVERY SINGLE IOH team member we came into contact with. From Deric Milligan, the Executive Director, to a volunteer who was on their first Legacy Retreat, each IOH person went out of their way to ensure that each member of MY family felt loved, supported and that we were having fun!!! We feel indebted to IOH in a lasting, permanent way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single one to the organization. They have put together a machine and are running it incredibly well. Who am I to offer a change??

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

This amazing organization gave my family an unforgettable opportunity to create lasting memories with not just my family but with so many lives whom they serve and love. From the time we first knew we were accepted to be a part of this family everything was taken care of to the smallest detail. They have a remarkable appreciation for the needs of families with life threatening illnesses and have encouraged and given hope and joy to families in these difficult times that I have not experienced anywhere else. We came home excited and hopeful and blessed and anxious to share with family and friends about our time in NYC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Inheritance of Hope is dedicated to its unique and important mission: to inspire hope in young families facing the loss of a parent. It offers services, relationships, community, practical ideas, and lasting hope with attentiveness to the particular realities challenging these families. One year after the death of their visionary founder due to her own terminal illness, this organization is focused and committed to building life-changing family legacies.

What Inheritance of Hope does simply is not available anywhere else.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers