Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
125 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

I have a wonderful husband and 3 fantastic boys. Our life is filled with loud conversations at dinner, arguments over what radio station we'll listen to on the way to sports and quiet moments between my husband and I that keep us sane in the wacky, wild life we live.

I also have
recurrent stage IV cervical cancer. What that means is I had it 5 years ago, it turned our family upside down for 8 months and then things settled down because I "beat" it. Unfortunately, I didn't beat it because it came back with a vengeance and I've now been battling it for 18 months. Chemo (yes, I lost my hair), radiation (yep, lost it "there" too), surgeries, biopsies, clinical trials, scanxiety etc. Our life is still wacky and wild, but it's harder now, less fun.

Inheritance of Hope (IOH) and their Legacy Retreats was sent to my husband on Facebook from a "friend" he knew in middle school who had just learned I was sick. A very tenuous initial connection which has now produced such deep, lasting bonds! Their mission, in my understanding at least, is to provide families dealing with a life threatening illness the opportunity to take a vacation, create amazing memories, strengthen the family legacy and most importantly … do all this without rushing to/from doctor appointments.

We applied for, and were granted a spot on, a Legacy Retreat to New York City the Sunday-Wednesday before Thanksgiving. IOH took care of all travel arrangements (planning AND paying for them!) and our Legacy Retreat Coordinator, Jessica Keck, spent months getting to know our family through our many conversations. Upon arriving in NY, all 5 of us felt we were given the red carpet treatment each day but EVERY SINGLE IOH team member we came into contact with. From Deric Milligan, the Executive Director, to a volunteer who was on their first Legacy Retreat, each IOH person went out of their way to ensure that each member of MY family felt loved, supported and that we were having fun!!! We feel indebted to IOH in a lasting, permanent way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single one to the organization. They have put together a machine and are running it incredibly well. Who am I to offer a change??

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

This amazing organization gave my family an unforgettable opportunity to create lasting memories with not just my family but with so many lives whom they serve and love. From the time we first knew we were accepted to be a part of this family everything was taken care of to the smallest detail. They have a remarkable appreciation for the needs of families with life threatening illnesses and have encouraged and given hope and joy to families in these difficult times that I have not experienced anywhere else. We came home excited and hopeful and blessed and anxious to share with family and friends about our time in NYC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Inheritance of Hope is dedicated to its unique and important mission: to inspire hope in young families facing the loss of a parent. It offers services, relationships, community, practical ideas, and lasting hope with attentiveness to the particular realities challenging these families. One year after the death of their visionary founder due to her own terminal illness, this organization is focused and committed to building life-changing family legacies.

What Inheritance of Hope does simply is not available anywhere else.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Inheritance of Hope is an amazing organization that has a lasting impact on the lives of the families served. From the youngest child to adult, these families are cared for and equipped to face these challenges. Families have the unique opportunity to become part of a community of people that will love, support and share in life. Through this, a family is finds hope. Hope is not something that is always easy to find. That is what makes IOH so incredible. As a volunteer, it is so easy to love and serve these families. The truth is that they are such a blessing to me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to raise more funding so that they may add more retreats each year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

IOH is radically making a difference in families who are batting life threatening illnesses. The IOH leadership team and volunteers DEEPLY care and serve each family with empathy and compassion. They are sharing the Hope of eternity and equipping families to gracefully manage their circumstances. I'm proud to support this fine organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The blessing this organization is to families and volunteers alike is unparalleled. IOH is made possible only through the love that the coordinators and volunteers have for the families which is shown time and time again from the tireless effort put into the smallest details. Apart from the main function a of the organization as a support group and provider of family vacations, IOH provides a glimpse of servant hood in its purest form. A true treat to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

IoH is a fantastic non-profit that has helped many families including my own. The volunteers are all great helpers and they are courteous even when they are not working with the organization. It is truly a blessing to serve with IoH!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...have longer retreats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2013

more

July 20, 2013

What an amazing organization! I was diagnosed with brain cancer last year and found out about this organization through a book I was reading. When I read about the retreats, it sounded too good to be true. I applied and get accepted to the May 2013 retreat. We were nervous about how our kids, which can be more shy, would be around the volunteers and counselors before we went. A call from the counselor before the trip put us more at ease. When we got there, we were so warmly treated and the kids loved their volunteer helpers and counselors! We were treated so well, every need was taken care of by the staff, even our son's allergy needs were carefully taken care of. We had such a wonderful time at the theme parks enjoying our time as a family and meeting the other families going through the same things. The coordinators were amazing, every ran like clockwork, but they don't appear to be stressed at all! We can not more highly recommend this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it so that our family can go to the retreat every year! That's what our children said after we came back from the retreat, "Can we go the the retreat next year?" :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

IOH is a bleesing to all familys who has a loved one with a life threatening ilness.this was the first time we ever flew in a airplane and went on a retreat in Florida.the people and staff are like family and are very caring in every way.If i could do it again i definetly would in a heartbeat.This organization makes dreams come true.These volunteers and staff of IOH are the best thing going today.We recomend IOH for everyone with a life threatening ilness.Thankyou IOH and God Bless U ALL................

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it the way it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a happily married mother of three, ages 11, 13, 15. In 2007 I had stage IIIc breast cancer, and we went through the trauma of moving home from our life as missionaries in Eastern Europe to face treatments, surgeries, and complications along the way. I was considered cancer free for five years, until January 2013 when we found stage IV metastatic breast cancer in a new tumor, bones, and right lung.

We were nominated to participate in a legacy retreat with Inheritance of Hope in Orlando, FL at the end of May, and were absolutely blown away by the blessing of this group! From our first greeting at the airport to the last goodbye, I was impressed with the genuine love and attention to detail that was shown to us by every volunteer. Deric's personal testimony was both emotionally powerful and a comfort to me as the patient facing death sooner than I would have thought or hoped.

I did not realize how much my family needed to share this experience, until the opportunity was given to us. Words cannot describe what it meant to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding so that they could extend the Legacy retreat to be one day longer and allow for more group sessions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers