Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
142 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 9 10 11...14 |
Write A Review
February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I was a counselor for the children on the retreAt. This program is wonderful and is incredibly impactful for everyone... The staff, volunteers and the family.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our experience with Inheritance of Hope was truly amazing. The staff and volunteers treated us like family. Every part of the trip was well planned down to the last detail. The counseling for the adults and kids was very helpful. We built relationships that will last a lifetime. We will be forever grateful for our time with IOH. We had two volunteers that helped us throughout the weekend - Angie and Mike. We couldn't have done Disney without them. The message and the video shared during closing ceremony was incredibly touching. The last day was hard for us to say good bye. Our 8-year-old daughter with tears streaming down her face has already declared she is going back to be a volunteer with IOH someday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family recently returned home from the 2/12 Inheritance of Hope Legacy Retreat and I highly recommend IOH to any family with a parent facing a terminal illness. We went on the retreat with the expectation that a change of scenery would help our 7 and 11 year old daughters build lasting memories of their mother. I am an adult and I spend lots of time committing things about my wife (Michelle) to memory: I remember very clearly her squeezing my hand, as we exchanged our wedding vows and again as she delivered our precious daughters, because they were Red Letter days, but the day to day memories are in a fog.

Because I know the day is coming that I will have to say goodbye, every day for me is a Red Letter Day and I study her like the setting sun on the last day of a tropical vacation. I let every aspect of her every day existence burn into my memory... I get lost in her eyes and the warmth of her hand. But how can a child understand the pressing need to remember? They know that their momma is very sick and the Dr's say that she will die but they are too young to appreciate the finality of death and they don't understand how everyday memories fade away.

IOH gave us five Red Letter Days! The volunteers exceeded our every expectation and created an environment for rich lasting memories and the councilors gave us many helpful insights that will serve our family well during a very difficult time and for the rest of our lives.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

My family was selected to go on the Disney 2012 retreat. Words cannot begin to describe what an amazing trip this was. Inheritance of Hope just amazed us by thinking of everything. From the minute we landed we were just embraced by loving volunteers who treated us like royalty. Our daughters cried leaving the volunteers. We were so inspired by the other families. It was comforting to be surrounded by people going through a similar life-changing event and who share the same worries. It was very emotional and very therapeutic. I wish we could go on another retreat with IOH! And I pray that our daughters become volunteers some day. Thank you IOH - we are forever grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

My family and I found out about IOH from a family member last year and thought that we would look into it and see if anything came of it. We were definitely skeptical going into it and were completely blown away. We could not have asked for a more special time with our family. The times of sharing with other families were difficult emotionally but encouraging to see the faith and strength of others in the same situation that we are in. Our times at the Disney parks were a blast. We had a wonderful volunteer with us the whole time to make our experience easier to manage 3 small children. Our girls loved all of the volunteers and are still talking about them. This trip forced us to ponder on issues of death and illness, which are hard to confront, but very positive in the long run. My husband and I feel so blessed and strengthened to have discussed these issues together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

Greetings!!! My family was selected by Inheritance of Hope to participate in the 2012 Disney Retreat. The organization (IOH) chose 16 families that have a life threatning disease to go. The love, support, and counseling they provided all the families is unmeasurable. I had the opportunity to meet other people facing the same feelings and struggles that I have been going thru the last 13 months by myself. I was so touched by the love that I think about the organization everyday and get excited to tell others about them!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

In reading all the reviews, I cannot disagree. We were one of the families selected to attend the NYC 2011 retreat. During the retreat I ran out of words to say about how grateful we were. The staff, volunteers and all those who made this trip possible were AWESOME. We had a wonderful time and what made it even better...was meeting so many wondetful people and families. Especially families you could relate to 100%.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

My family was invited to New York City in November of 2011 to experience a life changing experience. While we were there we stayed in Times Square, saw the Rockettes, and did the Circle Line Cruise around Manhattan island with all expenses paid. Inheritance of Hope is an amazing organization and are in the business of changing lives broken by illness to lives filled with HOPE. My family was surrounded by so much love in NYC. As a cancer survivor myself I have found much strength in being surrounded by others going through the same trials as myself. IOH has a wonderful model of supporting thoes diagnosed with terminal illneses. I enjoyed our group sessions where we openly shared our emotions regarding our trials. IOH is doing the work of the Kingdom here on earth in Christs name and there is no other organization like them. If you want to change lives this organization deserves your full support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every thing I experienced exceeded my wildest expectations. They are perfectly perfect :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

My friend who went on a prior retreat recommended them to me

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Helping and serving others who are faced with illness such as mine.

November 10, 2011

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2011

Volunteering with Inheritance of Hope is nothing short of a life-changing event. As volunteers we attend to provide these families with memories to last the children a lifetime, but in turn they gift... more

November 10, 2011

As an individual, I lost my father when I was just 30 years old. My sister was then diagnosed with terminal cancer that same year. It was devastating... and that was with the support of a loving husband and family, and a strong childhood to give me the strength to deal with such tragedy. I cannot even imaging the pain of potentially losing a parent as a child. And as a mother, I cannot imagine the fear and pain of being told you will die before you are able to raise your children.
As a volunteer, I can only say that this was the most life-altering experience of my life. These families are going through unimaginable grief... so when you see the children smile and laugh with other kids who understand what they are going through, or when you see the relief and happiness in a parent's face after making a video to leave to their children (so their children will always be able to see and hear how much that parent loves them), or when you see a sick woman dress up for a "date-night" with her husband who hasn't been able to even think about anything but hospitals bills... you can't help but take stock in your own life and put things in prospective. And the joy you feel from helping these families just a little, is something you carry for a long time.
Please donate what you can to this organization, because for these families... it is often the last "family memory" they make. And there are SO many families that need help... and for these families there is no "waiting" list. Give what you can so no child or sick parent misses their chance for involvement with this God-sent organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 7, 2011

Volunteering with Inheritance of Hope is nothing short of a life-changing event. As volunteers we attend to provide these families with memories to last the children a lifetime, but in turn they gift us with even more important lessons about life. Watching all of these terminally ill parents love their children so passionately is a true gift. They do not waste one minute because they know their time is limited. They give their kids the quality of time every parent wishes they gave every day. I am reminded every day through the work of Inheritance of Hope that I can never take for granted the time I have with my children, or the strength I can find through God to help my children through anything that comes our way. These parents face challenges most parents won't even let themselves consider... and by allowing us to serve them on these retreats, they inspire us volunteers in ways that forever change my heart and strengthen my faith. God bless Kristen and Deric Milligan, and everything they do to make this organization successful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways. I recommend anyone who has the time to register to volunteer for a Legacy Retreat. It will change your life forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. I only hope they receive enough funding to be able to never turn a family away, and also keep the retreats small enough that families get to know each other well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

More than I can say. It changed my perspective on parenting and life in general. I also made so many new friends, and learned that with God's help we can get through anything.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Lucky, blessed and like I was making a life-changing impact in the lives of many families.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 18, 2011

more

July 18, 2011

Words cannot describe the gratitude we have for this organization. The volunteers, programming, and staff were wonderful. Everyone involved could not do more for our family. It was a true blessing and honor to be involved and our family's lives have forever been changed. To have the opportunity to make memories with our family without having to worry about the bills and exprience a support network that was created for families just like ours is amazing. This is a top notch organization serving a population that is often overlooked, overstressed, and over their heads in medical bills. The orgnaization provided an irreplacable experience that has truly helped our family's suffering.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The attitude of my husband.....it was life changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more staff training

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers