Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
154 Reviews
1234.993515
Write A Review
June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

My family was given an all expense paid vacation trip to Florida - Disney by Inheritance of Hope (IOH) "Legacy Retreat" in May 2012. We visited Magic Kingdom, Universal Studios, and Sea World. What made this vacation magical for my family was the staff and volunteers. They did everything possible to make our vacation a true legacy. They packed our lunches, pushed the wheelchair my husband sits in and they made my children laugh again. I literally cried with joy for the first time in two years. They even took pictures of my family and later developed them and placed them in an album before we went home. We met other families in similar situations at this retreat. My family felt a tremendous amount of love and support from IOH. Their energy of care is unbelieveable. We are grateful to IOH staff and volunteers for giving us a legacy to remember forevermore. Special thanks to Deric, Kristen, Allen Milligan

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

Our trip was a beautiful experience. The Inheritance of Hope Organization provided for our every need and more. It was the most organized, carefree vacation that we have ever been on. I have never seen so many volunteers with such serving hearts in one place at one time, well maybe at Vacation Bible School, but these people were all there to serve our family and the 15 other families going through the same things we are. The volunteers all have to fund raise to raise money for their trip and provide their own transportation. I was amazed that people were actually willing to pay money to come take care of us! WOW, was all I could say. We were greeted at the airport, by volunteers, shuttled to the hotel by them, greeted by more volunteers at the hotel, handing us our room key and giving us our name tags. We were greeted in our room by a beautiful bag of goodies containing all of your notes, tee shirts, water bottles, books, note cards, snacks and sunscreen. The counseling and group sessions they provided for the adults and the kids were an invaluable experience that we all really needed. The connections that we made with other families and volunteers were life changing. It was all a humbling experience. The Parks were amazing, we made many fun memories there as a family. We were provided a volunteer to help us get around; she was an excellent wheel chair driver, took tons of pictures of our family and provided for our every need. Her name was Lisa, she even had rain ponchos and umbrellas for all of us in her back pack. At the closing ceremony all the families were presented with a beautiful scrap book filled with our photos from the weekend and scripture verses on every page. Our volunteers spent the night before staying up late and making the scrap books for us – WOW! The thing that was so amazing about the Inheritance of Hope Organization is that the Founders, Derik and Kristin Milligan, are going through the same thing as our family. Yet they are still serving others and providing families with this wonderful opportunity to create a Legacy for our family. Our lovely volunteer, Lisa, is a breast cancer survivor and she is serving others. Many of the volunteers and staff have either experienced a life threatening illness, have had or have family with a life threatening illness or have lost a parent to a life threatening illness. Yet they are all still serving others – AMAZING! The Bunner Family

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend recommended them.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Peace, Courage and Community

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

While it was great to go to the parks in Orlando and this excited my kids about going on this retreat, the real rewards were so much more than we anticipated. We all received much-needed counseling to help all of our family which helped give us all a plan and hope. The kids instantly connected to the other retreat participants and the incredible IOH volunteers. We learned a lot from the sessions with other participants and counselors. The most important lesson I learned was to live each day intentionally. I will not allow the dark cloud to follow me or dictate my life because this is not what God intends for my life. This short weekend was life changing for us and we know we made some forever friends. While we were never rushed or felt regimented to a schedule, this retreat was incredibly organized.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We had a carefree weekend without my cancer being a black cloud. We grew as a family making new friends and getting healthy counseling to improve our lives. We have comfort now because now we feel we have more of a plan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING, their mission and their heart are completely in sync with their actions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend of my wife.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To live each day intentionally, to leave my family with memories of me other than me being sick, and voice my problems or fears when I have them.

June 3, 2012

more

June 3, 2012

This was my first time volunteering with IOH and it was AMAZING!! They provided the families with a way to make memories without even knowing it. They allowed the families to have a stress free time together, as well as have some counselling time and fun time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how it has changed my life, and seen the lives of others changed. To see what can happen in just one weekend is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. I met new people and felt the support and love of those that don't know me. Not once did I feel alone or helpless becuase they were there to provide for me and the family I was helping.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me closer to God and helped me to learn to rely on Him, no matter what happens.

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

Inheritance of Hope lives up to its name. It is all about hope! This is a wonderful organization that pools the gifts of its staff and volunteers to offer fun family getaways with purpose to young families that are battling a terminal illness. I have been so grateful to serve alongside caring, loving, generous people that travel far and wide to give the families a trip of a lifetime. Getting to know the families and their stories is a treasure for me. I am always impressed by their strength. Seeing them soak each other up while enjoying an exciting vacation is a beautiful blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012


The retreat unfolded before me in ways that far exceeded my expectations. Warm welcomes were offered to everyone.

I was in the adult sessions. I love the group format. These couples know much more about each others’ concerns than I do. It’s powerful for them to be able to share
their burdens with others who are in similar, immensely difficult, situations. Gene did a great job of facilitating our sessions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I feel so lucky that I was able to volunteer at the February 2012 Inheritance of Hope Legacy Retreat. Inheritance of Hope is an incredible organization that showers its families and volunteers with tremendous love. And, that love seems to truly multiply! Seeing families and children come together and have fun in spite of enormous challenges is an experience that is life-changing. The families we served were so grateful and all seemed to get a lot out of the retreat. But, as much as they all said they were blessed by the experience, the volunteers were also blessed! I saw joy and peace like I have never seen before. I will volunteer at another retreat as soon as I possibly can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I had the opportunity to be a "shadow" counselor on the most recent Legacy Retreat with IOH and observe the entire experience. I was blown away by the excellent manner in which every detail was covered and the love, enthusiasm and hope showered on all the families by all the staff and volunteers. The families on the retreat were given a safe space to bond with other families with similar struggles, discuss their fears and anxieties, and and experience some inner healing. Families were also given practical tools on how to live an intentional life that I am going to implement in my own life as well! I am changed for the better after having been a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a great organization! The mission of serving families with a parent that has a life-threatening illness is absolutely, without-a-doubt exactly what they are all about. In my role as a volunteer, I have seen the lives of many many children become enriched with joy and understanding of their situation. Parents and children get the opportunity to relax and focus on what is important, family. I've been quoted as saying, "This is the greatest thing I have ever done!" This still proves to be true and I look forward supporting this organization far into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a truly amazing organization! Words can't really describe the experience of an IOH Retreat. There is so much joy and love and happiness despite what these families are going through. If I had to describe IOH in two words, it would be "life-changing". I am in awe during every retreat as I witness the children opening up and bonding with others who are experiencing the same things at home. It's so uplifting to witness the change in the families as the children and parents gain a better understanding of how to express their emotions. My experiences as a volunteer have been unbelievable and I look forward to continuing my service to this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers