Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
148 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 9 10 11...15 |
Write A Review
February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I feel so lucky that I was able to volunteer at the February 2012 Inheritance of Hope Legacy Retreat. Inheritance of Hope is an incredible organization that showers its families and volunteers with tremendous love. And, that love seems to truly multiply! Seeing families and children come together and have fun in spite of enormous challenges is an experience that is life-changing. The families we served were so grateful and all seemed to get a lot out of the retreat. But, as much as they all said they were blessed by the experience, the volunteers were also blessed! I saw joy and peace like I have never seen before. I will volunteer at another retreat as soon as I possibly can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I had the opportunity to be a "shadow" counselor on the most recent Legacy Retreat with IOH and observe the entire experience. I was blown away by the excellent manner in which every detail was covered and the love, enthusiasm and hope showered on all the families by all the staff and volunteers. The families on the retreat were given a safe space to bond with other families with similar struggles, discuss their fears and anxieties, and and experience some inner healing. Families were also given practical tools on how to live an intentional life that I am going to implement in my own life as well! I am changed for the better after having been a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a great organization! The mission of serving families with a parent that has a life-threatening illness is absolutely, without-a-doubt exactly what they are all about. In my role as a volunteer, I have seen the lives of many many children become enriched with joy and understanding of their situation. Parents and children get the opportunity to relax and focus on what is important, family. I've been quoted as saying, "This is the greatest thing I have ever done!" This still proves to be true and I look forward supporting this organization far into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope is a truly amazing organization! Words can't really describe the experience of an IOH Retreat. There is so much joy and love and happiness despite what these families are going through. If I had to describe IOH in two words, it would be "life-changing". I am in awe during every retreat as I witness the children opening up and bonding with others who are experiencing the same things at home. It's so uplifting to witness the change in the families as the children and parents gain a better understanding of how to express their emotions. My experiences as a volunteer have been unbelievable and I look forward to continuing my service to this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

This organization is something that I have a huge passion for. I have been a part of many organizations and mission trips; however, this one exceeds my expectations for many reasons. It is extremely organzied and smooth and there is never a time where I as a volunteer do not know what I need to do next. Inheritance of Hope is also a tremendoudly powerful organization. Many of the families have anxieties before they come on the trip about what it will be like, and I have never met so many families who come away from an experience like this feeling refreshed, loved, and hopeful no matter what their medical circumstance. Inheritance of Hope has everything from the amazing accommodations, food, and fun, but more importantly they have meaning behind what they do. The counselors they hire to help these families learn how to cope with their situations are amazing. The ability to provide these families with memories that will last a lifetime from the pictures, the legacy videos, and the ability to be around other families who are struggling with the same devastaing situation is priceless. As long as I am able I will be apart of this organization. I have made so many new friends and families through this organization that I will cherish forever. I am so proud of the Milligan family who have given of their time, effort, and talents to help other families when they themselves have the struggle of a life threatning illness. They know what it's like to go through this situation and they are a blessing and are so self less to want to help other families to learn how to cope with their situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Inheritance of Hope offers something that is very rare... a loving community of staff, volunteers, & participants who enter into the lives of each other on a deep level from the very beginning. The goal is for those parents with a terminal illness to be cared for & provided a community where others are in their shoes. The children & teens are also taken care of & provided support & fun! Everything from behind the scenes to the most visible interactions are done with excellence. I highly recommend Inheritance of Hope to anyone who is looking for a place to give either financially or through service. I also am in the process of referring local families I know to attend upcoming retreats! I cannot say enough about this nonprofit & the impact it is having on families suffering from a terminal illness diagnosis. Five stars is not enough!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I was a counselor for the children on the retreAt. This program is wonderful and is incredibly impactful for everyone... The staff, volunteers and the family.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our experience with Inheritance of Hope was truly amazing. The staff and volunteers treated us like family. Every part of the trip was well planned down to the last detail. The counseling for the adults and kids was very helpful. We built relationships that will last a lifetime. We will be forever grateful for our time with IOH. We had two volunteers that helped us throughout the weekend - Angie and Mike. We couldn't have done Disney without them. The message and the video shared during closing ceremony was incredibly touching. The last day was hard for us to say good bye. Our 8-year-old daughter with tears streaming down her face has already declared she is going back to be a volunteer with IOH someday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family recently returned home from the 2/12 Inheritance of Hope Legacy Retreat and I highly recommend IOH to any family with a parent facing a terminal illness. We went on the retreat with the expectation that a change of scenery would help our 7 and 11 year old daughters build lasting memories of their mother. I am an adult and I spend lots of time committing things about my wife (Michelle) to memory: I remember very clearly her squeezing my hand, as we exchanged our wedding vows and again as she delivered our precious daughters, because they were Red Letter days, but the day to day memories are in a fog.

Because I know the day is coming that I will have to say goodbye, every day for me is a Red Letter Day and I study her like the setting sun on the last day of a tropical vacation. I let every aspect of her every day existence burn into my memory... I get lost in her eyes and the warmth of her hand. But how can a child understand the pressing need to remember? They know that their momma is very sick and the Dr's say that she will die but they are too young to appreciate the finality of death and they don't understand how everyday memories fade away.

IOH gave us five Red Letter Days! The volunteers exceeded our every expectation and created an environment for rich lasting memories and the councilors gave us many helpful insights that will serve our family well during a very difficult time and for the rest of our lives.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

My family was selected to go on the Disney 2012 retreat. Words cannot begin to describe what an amazing trip this was. Inheritance of Hope just amazed us by thinking of everything. From the minute we landed we were just embraced by loving volunteers who treated us like royalty. Our daughters cried leaving the volunteers. We were so inspired by the other families. It was comforting to be surrounded by people going through a similar life-changing event and who share the same worries. It was very emotional and very therapeutic. I wish we could go on another retreat with IOH! And I pray that our daughters become volunteers some day. Thank you IOH - we are forever grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers