Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son wrote over 8 articles for IndyKids - participated in the workshops. It's been truly an extraordinary experience.

I was concerned about my son's educational experience at his school being test and STEM (Science, Tech and Math) heavy and lacks in humanistic values - IndyKids
provides a counterbalance to this situation by making him think about contemporary social and geopolitical issues that affect our lives and also to learn to express what he learned in a clear, journalistic prose.

Attending workshop was a great plus because he feels often alienated at school for his political views but at the workshop, he could meet with many kids who are passionate about social and global justice. It's wonderful to have peers. I highly recommend IndyKids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand operations for older kids (tweens, and teens) ... thicker papers with bigger word limits for older kids. Summer camp, for older kids (serious one with a course in journalistic ethics, writing, research, etc.)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Indy Kids came to Queens Paideia School to conduct a workshop on media literacy. It was well organized and structured, and there were clear goals in mind for the students. It was great to see them (ages 10-14) digging into the activities, and engage in meaningful discussions. Several of the students were excited, post-workshop, at the idea of becoming writers for IndyKids. We couldn't have hoped for more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Indy Kids is a real gems on so many levels. Firstly, IndyKids offers children the opportunity to get their feet wet in The world of journalism. They can learn from the highly professional staff of volunteers how to frame an article, how to do the necessary research on their story, and, when the article is written, how to edit the piece down to the desired word count. Finally, the actual product IndyKids puts out is very informative and a stimulating read.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dear All,

IndyKids provides an extraordinary learning opportunity for kids who are interested in writing, expressing themselves and journalism. For kids to see the process of producing a newspaper, from start to finish, from writing to printing is priceless. Children that work with
IndyKids see their work in print, going out to the world and that is a very empowering experience.

As an educator, I give IndyKids my highest recommendation. Good Luck IndyKids.

Simin Farkhondeh
Education Director
www.democracynow.org
“Video of Class Visit To DN!” https://vialogues.com/vialogues/play/10178

"To speak a true word is to transform the world.”
― Paulo Freire, PEDAGOGY OF THE OPPRESSED

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would find a way to increase their budget so more kids could take advantage of this opportunity. I would make it an entirely free opportunity so all kids that are interested could get involved.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If I had to describe IndyKids in two words it would be, fundamental and fun. I became aware of IndyKids this past Spring and was instantly intrigued. Creating a space for children to articulate current events, central aspects of society, and the world around them is priceless. The students' creativity is emphasized since they are actually writing the news stories. Discerning perspectives within a story or concept, learning facts and opinions , and finally presenting them in a clear and objective manner to the reader (of which I believe are mostly peers) are just a few ways to describe the experience IndyKids offers. Under the guidance of mentors and editors each young journalist has the opportunity to express their unique writing voice to readers throughout the country. They even conduct interviews and attend field trips. As a volunteer mentor I learned about this incredible process and how much the children enjoyed the program. Cartoon strips (authored and illustrated by young journalists) and creative educational lessons as well as games add to the adventure. I certainly learned a few things and had a great time. A rewarding experience to say the least.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps suggest a healthy food recipes section or maybe IndyKids movie or book picks?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am not sure that I can put into word the full extent of the positive impact IndyKids has had on my daughter's self esteem and self assurance. My daughter is passionate about social justice issues and has been thrilled to work with a wonderful team of people who have a similar passion. The Kid Reporter program is phenomenal, and the articles and subject matter are vitally important to the lives of children in the United States today. My daughter has learned so much from her experience with IndyKids and proudly mentions it as part of her identity to all who will listen. We really love IndyKids at our house.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has been with Indykids for almost two years. IndyKids has become like a family to her. But most importantly, she has become an outgoing person, interactive and has learned immensely. The team of mentors, volunteers, assistants are very professional, enthusiastic, dedicated and caring. Alexandra Mercado

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering at Indy Kids since Sept. 14, and it has been a great experience, as the writers are able to get a topic based on what their interests are. It also gives a kid a chance to find out how to write articles and reports in their future endeavors in life. It is a fun experience and the insight of the mentors strengthens the ability to write. I loved this workshop!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would simply let the reporter decide which topic they would want to write on instead of being assigned a topic, as the kid may not want to write on the topic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You know that annoying thing kids sometimes do when they ask "why" after everything you say, but it seems like they're not really paying attention to any of the answers? Well, the kids of IndyKids are paying attention, their persistence in finding answers not so random, and they report their findings in a clear way their peers will understand on topics that profoundly impact the world around them. IndyKids brings us a perspective too often ignored, too often dismissed as irrelevant, and empowers a generation, as readers and reporters, by amplifying their voices. Highly recommended reading for all ages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wider distribution in schools and community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been with IndyKids for a little over a year now and I have seen it grow in a incredible way. As a mentor I feel that I learn so much more than what I teach to the kid reporters. The kids are wonderful to work with and it is always a surprise when I notice just how smart these kids are. Working with the kids and seeing their progress as they write their articles, and then seeing the complete newspaper is just amazing. It's also sweet to see how proud the kids are when they see their article in the paper.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers