Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.981485
Write A Review
November 10, 2014

more

November 10, 2014

I love IndyKids, as a donor I know that the folks who run it care deeply about helping young people look at their world in an engaged, creative, and critical way. As a newspaper, there is simply nothing else like it.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I first discovered IndyKids through another group I work with, and I enjoyed the program so much that I decided to volunteer with IndyKids directly! My experience working with the group has been wonderful. It enables students to take a closer look at issues that are affecting the world around them, and to practice and develop their skills in writing, research, and critical thinking -- and these are skills that will serve them well in school and beyond.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

My nine year old daughter and I were recently watching a news program that was discussing the protests happening in Hong Kong. She exclaimed, "Hong Kong! Hey, I know what's happening there!". I paused the news program and asked her how she knew about this current event, and what she thought was going on. She said that someone was writing an article about it at IndyKids, and that people were protesting for their right to vote--she knew more about it than I did! IndyKids has become such a positive force in our household. My daughter has become empowered by her role as a journalist; she is now confident asking people (kids and adults alike) questions, and not afraid to share her opinion. I feel very lucky to be a part of this amazing organization!
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Our daughter is growing as a journalist and building life-long skills in critical thinking thanks to the expert team of IndyKids. This is a top-notch non-profit providing an invaluable service to the community. When the fruit of the kid journalists' labor finally makes it into print, you've never seen prouder facial expressions!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

My role as a mentor offered more autonomy, access to thoughtful students, and a new kind of responsibility than I ever thought I would have at this point in my career. IndyKids understands the importance of keeping students (typically ages 9-13) informed about the most pressing social justice issues of our time. One of the best ways to do that is to have them participate in creating a more informed media coverage of these topics for their peers. If you're interested in education, social justice, or non-profit work, this is a great opportunity for both professional and personal growth.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

My daughter had a fantastic time writing for Indy Kids. They gave her a lot of responsibility, but within a framework of clear expectations and plenty of guidance. The staff and volunteers are always looking for ways to help the kids stretch and challenge themselves as reporters and as thinkers. I've recommended this program to every kid I know in NYC!
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My 10 years old has been participating in IndyKids’ kids’ reporter programs for a few terms now, and the experience we have, as a whole family, have been very precious and valuable. It is not just a weekend class, it is a life lesson, with a lot of fun!

Though the process of my daughter
writing assigned articles for the kids’ newspaper, researching and learning reporting style writing, it gives us the opportunities to open up conversations on what’s happening around the world in real time, and to question why they happen and how we supposed to feel and what to do about them. I really enjoy my daughter coming up with questions and me answering them. She also learns about the important role of journalism. Mentors very positively encourage her work one on one And getting her writing work published at the end of this process is such a reward for my daughter.

Organizers and volunteers are the most sweet and intelligent people, they are dedicated for the cause, and efficient conductors on Earth. I feel we are very fortunate to send my daughter to associate with them, as well as to be able to make some nice friends outside regular school.

Their field trips are another wonderful activity. These locations they chose are very relevant, and the activities are rare opportunities.

The reporter program is appropriate for kids with any level of writing skills. And, my daughter is shy so she likes to do her research by reading materials, but for kids who are more out-going they get to have interviewing and communicating experiences for purposes.

The newspaper is professionally printed, but distributed for free. I think it’s the perfect tool for family readers to draw more awareness in justice and democracy to themselves, and to familiarize and realize the coolness of being tuned with the real world beyond just our surroundings in this busy everyday life, for our desire and goals to be or become fair and contributing human beings, because they are written by kids like any of your kids. The future of democracy is in our kids’ hand!

This organization should be celebrated!
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I'm a mentor at Indykids and I've had a lot of fun working with the kids so far. I've worked in classrooms for about three years and they're a great group of kids- very interested, sweet and hard-working. I'm studying journalism right now at Columbia University and it's been awesome seeing how quickly the kids pick up the skills of pitching stories, giving each other feedback, and doing research online. I know their generation will be way ahead of me technology-wise pretty soon, so I'm happy to learn what I can from them, too!
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I joined IndyKids as a volunteer and really enjoyed my experience with the enthusiastic sixth grader who I was paired with to mentor. This experience benefits children but what I got was the knowledge that I was helping an individual child be a better communicator which I expect will make the world a better place.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

My daughter has had a wonderful experience with IndyKids. It has enhanced her writing, her knowledge of world events and how she looks at them. IndyKids volunteer mentors are professional journalists that really help the kid reporters through a process of identifying potential stories, pitching their ideas, researching, writing and editing their story. It provides these youth with an exceptional learning experience that is outside of their school environment.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers